SmashUp Wiki
Wish

The Aladdin deck can get the cards you need, whether from your own deck and discard pile, or from other players. Some cards give other kinds of help: extra plays from Jasmine, strength from Palace Guard, and movement from Carpet. But the card that helps the most is Genie, which can fetch three Wishes of phenomenal cosmic power!

- Smash Up: Disney Edition rulebook

Aladdin is one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Disney Edition set.

They focus on finding the Genie and making use of the Wish cards, three powerful one-time-use actions, as well as discarding actions for benefits.

Their complexity rating is: Medium-High.

Other factions from the same set: Beauty and the Beast, Big Hero 6, Frozen, Mulan, The Lion King, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Wreck-It Ralph.

Cards[]

Aladdin cards

Aladdin has the usual 10 characters and 10 actions. The total character base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 27 or an average of 2.7 per character compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 character modifiers,
  • 0 base modifiers,
  • 10 standard actions (3 that affect one or more characters, in bold): A Friend Like Me (2x), Cave of Wonders, Jafar, Magic Carpet Ride, Street Rat, The Lamp, Wish (3x),
  • 3 actions that directly increase a character's power: Wish (3x).

Characters[]

1x Aladdin - power 5 - Search your deck and/or discard pile for The Lamp, reveal it, and draw it. Shuffle your deck if you searched it. Talent: Reveal cards from your deck until you reveal an action. Draw it and shuffle the rest into your deck. FAQ

1x Jasmine - power 4 - Talent: Discard an action to play an extra action. FAQ

1x Abu - power 3 - Place an action from your discard pile on top of your deck. FAQ

1x Genie - power 3 - Talent: Search your deck and/or discard pile for a copy of Wish, reveal it, and place it into your hand. Shuffle your deck if you searched it. FAQ

1x Rajah - power 3 - Talent: Discard an action to give this character +2 power until the end of the turn. Special: Before this base scores, you may use this character’s talent. FAQ

1x Carpet - power 1 - Talent: Move this character and up to two of your other characters here to another base. FAQ

4x Palace Guard - power 2 - Talent: Discard an action to place a +1 power counter on each of your Palace Guards here. FAQ

Actions[]

2x A Friend Like Me - Reveal the top four cards of your deck. Draw all actions and shuffle the rest into your deck. FAQ

1x Cave of Wonders - Place an action from your discard pile into your hand. FAQ

1x Jafar - Each other player discards an action from their hand or reveals their hand to show it has no actions. You may play one of the discarded actions or an action from your hand as an extra action. FAQ

1x Magic Carpet Ride - Search your deck, hand, and/or discard pile for Carpet, shuffle your deck if you searched it, and play Carpet as an extra character. FAQ

1x Street Rat - Play an action from another player’s discard pile as an extra action. FAQ

1x The Lamp - Search your deck and/or discard pile for Genie, reveal it and draw it. Shuffle your deck if you searched it. Place this card on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

3x Wish - If you have Genie in play, choose one effect and place this card into the box:
• Play two extra non-Wish cards.
• Give a character +5 power until the end of the turn.
• Draw four cards. FAQ

Aladdin icon

Bases[]

Clarifications[]

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Disney Edition rulebook:

A Friend Like Me, Aladdin: Even if there is nothing to shuffle into the deck, shuffle it anyway.

Aladdin: If your deck is empty before you reveal any cards, shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck. If your deck runs out before you find an action, stop revealing and continue with the rest of the instructions.

Carpet: All the characters must start on the same base and must be moved to the same base.

Jafar: Each player does what the card says in turn order, starting with the current player unless the card says otherwise.

Jafar, Street Rat: If the action you play is a modifier, you control it until it leaves play, at which point it goes to its owner’s discard pile.

Palace Guard, Jasmine, Rajah: Discarding a card for one of these cards does not count toward any other card’s prerequisites; a separate card must be discarded for each one. But even one discarded card triggers all cards that trigger from a discard (e.g. Be Our Guest, Enchanted Castle).

Palace Guard: If there are multiple copies of a card in play at the same time, their abilities work for each of them, (e.g. all Sugar Rush Racers can move from one base modifier play; each Sergeant Calhouns can give +1 power, even if at the same base).

Rajah: You may use its talent before its base scores even if it was used earlier that same turn.

Wish: If Genie is not in play or not controlled by you when you play Wish, it has no effect and you just discard it. For placing it in the box, see “The box”.

Suggested Disney Matchups and Tips for Play[]

To help beginner players, the Smash Up: Disney Edition set gave a few tips and tricks to play this faction, as well as partner recommendations within the set.

Good beginning partner factions: Beauty and the Beast, The Nightmare Before Christmas

Tips for play:

  • Be wise but bold in using your precious Wish cards. They can help you break and win bases, but don’t be afraid to use one to fill out a weak hand if needed.
  • Several cards require discarding an action to work. Wish cards are great for that since Genie can fetch them back.
  • A Friend Like Me and other cards can help restock your hand.

Mechanics[]

You have three powerful actions, the Wishes, that give you a choice between three interesting options. But in order to use them, you must have Genie in play, and on use, those actions go back to the box, making them one-time-use cards. To help you set up that play, you have The Lamp that allows you to retrieve the Genie, as well as several ways to get to The Lamp, such as Aladdin that give it on play and whose talent help you sift your deck, or Abu and Cave of Wonders that allow you to retrieve discarded actions. The Wishes themselved can easily be fetched once Genie is in play.

As a secondary mechanic is that the "palace" characters (Jasmine, Rajah and the Palace Guards) require discarding actions to use their talents. Wishes are great for that purpose because you can retrieve them later with Genie. You can also use A Friend Like Me and Aladdin to help you fill your hand with actions to discard.

External Strategy Guides[]

FAQ[]

Questions on Aladdin[]

Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?

A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I draw an action, e.g. by using its talent, but it will bring my hand to more than ten cards. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or do I stop drawing once I have exactly ten cards?

A: You draw cards normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: If I reveal cards I don't own, what happens?

A: If the card is the revealed action, it goes to its owner's hand'. That's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location. As for the rest of the revealed cards, they are shuffled into your deck since they came from there and were simply revealed.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.


Questions on Jasmine[]

Q: If I use its talent, do I have to discard a card?

A: No. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1] However, if you don't do it, you won't be able to destroy a minion, obviously.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Abu[]

Q: If I play an action that allows me to play an extra minion and if I play Abu as that extra minion, can I place the action on the top of my deck using Abu's ability?

A: It depends. If the extra minion play can be "banked" for later, then yes. You play the action, bank the extra minion play, and discard the action. When you later use the extra minion play to play Abu, the action would already be in the discard pile, so you can retrieve it. However, if the extra minion play is played immediately (e.g. when the extra minion play is gained outside your Play Cards phase, when the extra minion play is gained through a Special ability,...), then you must immediately play the extra minion if you choose to do so, before the action is discarded. In that case, when you play Abu, the action isn't in the discard pile and therefore can't be retrieved.

Rule: Standard actions are discarded after they are resolved.

Rule: Extra cards gained by a Special ability must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule: You must play an extra card immediately or not at all if another part of the ability follows the extra play and depends on the extra card being played.

Rule: Extra cards that refer to a specific card must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Genie[]

Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?

A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I place a Wish card in my hand, but it will bring my hand to more than ten cards. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or am I prevented from getting the Wish card since I have exactly ten cards?

A: You get the Wish card normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Rajah[]

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Rajah, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Rajah isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Rajah is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: If I use its talent, do I have to discard an action?

A: No. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: Does increasing this character's power before its base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

{{Power And VP Reward Rule}

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: If I give this character an extra talent (e.g. Potion of Redundancy Potion, Flighterizer), which talent can I use before the base scores?

A: Any talent, but you can only use one of them before the scoring of the base, not each one.

Rule: Check Happy Zapper's clarification.


Questions on Carpet[]

Q: Does Carpet and the moved characters all go to the same base?

A: Yes. The card text says to move those characters to "another base", i.e. one other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: It moves on "up to two of my other characters". So it only works on "character" cards and not at all on "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works on both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It tells me to move "up to two of my other characters". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Palace Guard[]

Q: If a Palace Guard is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Minn-Erva, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Minn-Erva is destroyed or has its ability cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that Palace Guard's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by another Palace Guard)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: It tells me to place a +1 power counter on "each of my Palace Guards here". Can I place it on a Palace Guard I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" Palace Guard, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Grimms’ Blessing?

A: You would place a +1 power counter on Grimms’ Blessing. However, that counter wouldn't do anything because Grimms’ Blessing is not a minion and no cards say what the counter does.

Rule: If the card with +1 power counters is an action, the ability of the card will tell you what the +1 power counters do. Otherwise, the +1 power counters do nothing.


Questions on A Friend Like Me[]

Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?

A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I draw actions, but it will bring my hand to more than ten cards. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or do I stop drawing once I have exactly ten cards?

A: You draw cards normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- Otherwise, it's shuffled into its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cave of Wonders[]

Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?

A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I retrieve an action and (somehow) end with more than ten cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or am I prevented from getting the action since I have exactly ten cards?

A: You get the card normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Jafar[]

Q: If I play Jafar, then choose an action card from an opponent to play, what happens?

A: You play the action as if you control it. If it is a base or character modifier, it stays and you still control it. When the action eventually goes to the discard pile, it goes to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I play an opponent's "instant" action, where is it discarded? My discard pile or theirs?

A: It's discarded in its owner's discard pile. If your opponent is the owner, it's discarded in theirs (usually the case). If you're the action's owner (very unlikely), it goes in yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: With Jafar, can I play an action from an opponent's faction and have it affect the characters of my factions? Or do the character and action have to be from the same faction?

A: Any card from one faction can freely affect cards from other factions, not just their own. So if your characters are eligible targets for your opponent's action, you can target them.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: My opponent used Jafar to play a base modifier I discarded (e.g. Kart Bakery). I play Sergeant Calhoun on that base. Since Kart Bakery is one of "my base modifiers" (even though another player played it). Sergeant Calhoun allows me to give +1 power to my other characters, right?

A: Nope. Because they played it, they became Kart Bakery's controller, i.e. it's "their" base modifier now, not yours. So you don't "have" any base modifiers there with just Kart Bakery there.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: With Jafar, I play an opponent's action. The action tells me to do something else instead of discarding it. For example, placing it under my deck (Sandy Claws Costume), shuffling it into my deck (Winter Surprise),... Do I place the card in my deck?

A: If you choose to place the action in your deck (or hand), it actually goes to its owner's deck (or hand) instead of yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: I play Jafar and an opponent discards a special action. Can I play it?

A: Yes, but the consequences will vary over whether the Special's condition is met or not. If it's not the case when it's discarded, then the action is discarded without effect. If it's the case, then you can play it, e.g. before a base scores, you manage to play Jafar (e.g. if you play Ghostly Presents thanks to Lock, Shock & Barrel, play the extra character on Forbidden City and use the extra action to play Jafar) and an opponent discards a "before a base scores" action.

Rule: If a Special must be played when its conditions don’t allow it, it is discarded instead.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: If it's an action, it goes to its owner's discard pile. Otherwise, it stays in your hand, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: If I play a Madness card discarded by an opponent and choose to draw two cards, where is the Madness card discarded?

A: You played it, so you've got control of, which makes you its owner as well. Standard actions are discarded into their owner's deck, so the Madness card goes into your discard pile, not the other player's.

Rule: The current possessor or controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Magic Carpet Ride[]

Q:

A:

Rule:

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Street Rat[]

Q: If I play Street Rat, then play an action card from an opponent's discard pile, what happens?

A: You play the action as if you control it. If it is a base or character modifier, it stays and you still control it. When the action eventually goes to the discard pile, it goes to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I play an opponent's "instant" action, where is it discarded? My discard pile or theirs?

A: It's discarded in its owner's discard pile, i.e. your opponent's.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: With Street Rat, can I play an action from an opponent's faction and have it affect the characters of my factions? Or do the character and action have to be from the same faction?

A: Any card from one faction can freely affect cards from other factions, not just their own. So if your characters are eligible targets for your opponent's action, you can target them.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: My opponent used Street Rat to play a base modifier from my discard pile (e.g. Kart Bakery). I play Sergeant Calhoun on that base. Since Kart Bakery is one of "my base modifiers" (even though another player played it). Sergeant Calhoun allows me to give +1 power to my other characters, right?

A: Nope. Because they played it, they became Kart Bakery's controller, i.e. it's "their" base modifier now, not yours. So you don't "have" any base modifiers there with just Kart Bakery there.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: With Street Rat, I play an opponent's action. The action tells me to do something else instead of discarding it. For example, placing it under my deck (Sandy Claws Costume), shuffling it into my deck (Winter Surprise),... Do I place the card in my deck?

A: If you choose to place the action in your deck (or hand), it actually goes to its owner's deck (or hand) instead of yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: I play Street Rat and choose a special action from an opponent's discard pile. Can I play it?

A: Yes, but the consequences will vary over whether the Special's condition is met or not. If it's not the case when you play Street Rat, then the action is discarded without effect. If it's the case, then you can play it, e.g. before a base scores, you manage to play Street Rat (e.g. if you play Ghostly Presents thanks to Lock, Shock & Barrel, play the extra character on Forbidden City and use the extra action to play Jafar) and can now choose a "before a base scores" action from an opponent's discard pile.

Rule: If a Special must be played when its conditions don’t allow it, it is discarded instead.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: If I play a Madness card with Street Rat and choose to draw two cards, where is the Madness card discarded?

A: You played it, so you've got control of, which makes you its owner as well. Standard actions are discarded into their owner's deck, so the Madness card goes into your discard pile, not the other player's.

Rule: The current possessor or controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Lamp[]

Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?

A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I draw the Genie, but I (somehow) end up with more than ten cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or am I prevented from drawing the Genie since I have exactly ten cards?

A: You draw cards normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Wish[]

Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?

A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I want to draw the four cards, but it will bring my hand to more than ten cards. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or do I stop drawing once I have exactly ten cards?

A: You draw cards normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Can I only target one of my characters or can I augment someone else's character?

A: You can target any character in play, not just yours.

Rule: "A minion" (or here "one minion") means "any minion in play".

With AEG's Smash Up sets[]

Q: About the +5 power, it applies to "a character". So it only works on "character" cards and not at all on "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works on both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: Can you boost the power of a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Grimms’ Blessing?

A: Grimms’ Blessing is treated as having the name "Genie", so Wish can be played as if you had Genie in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Spirit of the Forest in play. How does it interact with Wish? Can I do two of the three options? All three options?

A: Only one option. Spirit of the Forest doesn't interact with this card because it doesn't use the "OR" keyword.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: Note that only the +5 power option directly affects any minion and so is the only option you can copy.
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +5 power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +5 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +5 power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +5 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia[]

In other languages[]

Language Name


Smash Up: Disney Edition
Factions: Aladdin  •  Beauty and the Beast  •  Big Hero 6  •  Frozen  •  Mulan  •  The Lion King  •  The Nightmare Before Christmas  •  Wreck-It Ralph
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary  •  Excellent Movies, Dudes!  •  Half the Battle
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Booster Packs: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table  •  Smash Up Teens
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References