SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement
Osebo the Leopard

Sharing stories and cards is valued! - AEG

The great trickster Anansi the Spider and the other amazing characters of West African folklore bring their fantastic stories to Smash Up. Anansi collected stories, but also traded them as he traveled. And he nearly always got the better part of any deal. If you are as clever as Anansi, you can benefit both from playing your cards and from giving them away.

- World Tour: Culture Shock rulebook

The Anansi Tales are one of the 5 factions from the World Tour: Culture Shock set.

They focus on placing cards from your hand into other players' hands for benefits, either immediately or when that player decides to play or discard it. Some of their actions must also be passed around to other players after being played instead of discarding them.

Other factions from the same set: Ancient Incas, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, Polynesian Voyagers, Russian Fairy Tales.

Name[]

This faction is called "Anansi Tales" in the rulebook and on the divider included in this set. However, AEG's product page for this set calls this faction "West Africa" after its region of origin.

Cards[]

AnansiTalesCards

The Anansi Tales have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (3 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Collecting Stories (2x), Ear of Corn, Feather Gifts, Let it be Full and Eat, Pot of Beans (2x), Pot of Wisdom, The Perfect Gift, Trading Stories,
  • 2 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Pot of Beans (2x).

Minions[]

1x Anansi the Spider - power 5 - Talent: Search your deck for a standard action and play it as an extra action. Then place it into another player’s hand instead of where it would normally go. You cannot play any copy of that action again this turn. FAQ

1x Onini the Python - power 4 - Ongoing: After another player plays or discards a card they don’t own from a hand or deck, place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

1x Osebo the Leopard - power 4 - Ongoing: After you place a card into another player’s hand, place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

3x Akye the Turtle - power 3 - You may place a card from your hand into another player’s hand to draw two cards. FAQ

4x Mboro Hornet - power 2 - Special: After another player plays or discards a card they don't own from a hand or deck, you may play this minion as an extra minion. FAQ

Actions[]

2x Collecting Stories - Look at another player’s hand. You may play a card you own from their hand as an extra card. FAQ

1x Ear of Corn - Shuffle up to three actions from your discard pile into your deck and play an extra action. Place this card into another player’s hand. FAQ

1x Feather Gifts - Move one of your minions to another base. Place this card into another player’s hand. FAQ

1x Let it be Full and Eat - Draw two cards. Place this card into another player’s hand. FAQ

2x Pot of Beans - Place two +1 power counters total on minions. Place this card into another player’s hand. FAQ

1x Pot of Wisdom - Draw a card for each other player, then place a card from your hand into each other player’s hand. Play an extra action. FAQ

1x The Perfect Gift - Search your deck for a standard action and play it as an extra action. Then place it into another player’s hand instead of where it would normally go. FAQ

1x Trading Stories - You may place up to three cards from your hand into other players’ hands. For each one placed, draw a card. FAQ

Anansi Tales logo

Bases[]

Clarifications[]

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the World Tour: Culture Shock rulebook:

Anansi the Spider, The Perfect Gift: The action is placed into the player’s hand instead of the discard pile or any other location specified by the card itself.

Collecting Stories, Anansi the Spider, Mboro Hornet, The Perfect Gift: Cards that specify how to choose the extra card require you to play it immediately.

Mboro Hornet, Onini the Python: Playing or discarding madness cards doesn’t count for these since the controller of a madness card is also considered its owner. Playing or discarding monsters or treasure cards does count.

Mechanics[]

They are all about sharing your cards with the other players.

Some cards allow you to place any of your cards from your hand into the hand of other players for a benefit, mainly card draws, +1 power counters or the opportunity to play a standard action of your choice. Others give you a benefit if those other players play or discard any card they don't own, so not just the cards you've given them. In particular, their power-2 minions can be played for free each time another player plays or discards such a card. And if your opponents want to keep your cards in hand, they have Collecting Stories that allow you to play them straight from their hands.

Additionally, to ensure that your cards get played, half of their actions must be passed to another player after being played instead of being discarded.

Synergy[]

  • Mythic Greeks: Anansi Tales can easily play multiple actions in a turn, which allows Heracles and Odysseus to trigger repeatedly.
  • Big Hero 6: Pot of Beans are great for placing counters on multiple minions and getting Big Hero 6's characters online quickly. Honey Lemon embraces the sharing attitude of Anansi Tales, letting you play even more actions.
  • Mulan: Chien Po, Ling, and Yao can trigger off of Pot of Beans, effectively stapling Let it Be Full and Eat's effect onto Pot of Beans. Mulan herself lets you play an extra action if a counter was placed on her that turn.

External Strategy Guides[]

FAQ[]

Questions on Anansi the Spider[]

Q: What is a standard action exactly? I suppose it's the official name for an on-play action. Or does it simply mean non-Special actions?

A: It's an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Actions remain in play by being played on a base, played on a minion, or buried on a base, so if none of those normally occur when an action is played, then it's a standard action. On-play actions (ones that don't have any Ongoing/Talent/Special labels) are indeed standard actions, but standard actions are not exclusively on-play actions. "Pure" Special actions (ones that immediately start with "Special:...") are standard as well, because they aren't played on any card. Hybrids between on-play and Special actions (e.g. Full Sail or Dogpile) that aren't played on any card are mostly standard actions as well, but counter-examples are actions that can bury themselves (e.g. Tomb Trap or Blessing of Anubis) as those aren't standard when played from the hand/deck/discard pile, and become standard when uncovered.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: What does "instead of where it would normally go" mean?

A: Some standard actions aren't discarded like normal when they are played, for example Favor of Dionysus can go on the top of your deck instead of the discard pile, Friendship Power can go back into your hand instead of the discard pile, Time Walk must go on the bottom of your deck, Madness cards can be returned to the Madness deck, etc. For any of those cards, you ignore where you can normally put it and instead must place it into another player's hand.

Rule: Check Anansi the Spider's clarification.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: So how does it interact with Trade? In 3-player games, do I give it to the other opponent? How about in 2-player games?

A: You ignore Trade's instruction to "place [Trade] in that player’s hand" and now follow Anansi the Spider's instruction instead, so you place Trade in any other player's hand ("other player" meaning "any player but you", not a different player than the one you would have given Trade to.) In 3-player games, you can give Trade to any of your two opponents, including the one who would have normally received Trade. In 2-player games, you have no choice but to give Trade to your one and only opponent.

Rule: Check Anansi the Spider's clarification.

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I don't have to shuffle it at all, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. That's now an integral part of the rules. And you must do it before playing the action you searched for.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: Since actions that bury themselves don't say "Play on a minion/base", that means they are standard actions. How would that interact with Anansi the Spider? Would it stay buried or is it impossible to bury it since it will go into another player's hand instead of a base?

A: Actually the definition of a standard action has been updated, starting with this expansion. The general definition is now that a standard action is one that doesn't remain in play after being played, so actions that bury themselves aren't considered as standard actions when they are played from the hand, deck or discard pile since they will remain in play. On the other hand, they are considered as standard actions when uncovered, and therefore played and discarded. So Anansi the Spider just can't search for those actions.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: If I use its talent, it says "[I] cannot play any copy of that action again this turn." So if I place the chosen action into another player's hand, I suppose I'm allowed to use Collecting Stories to replay that exact action, right? It's the original action, not a copy.

A: No, even if it's physically the same card, it counts as another copy of that card.

Rule: When a card leaves play there is no memory of its previous status, so that even if it is replayed in the same turn it is treated as a new card, not the same card.

Q: If I use its talent, it says "[I] cannot play any copy of that action again this turn." So if I place the chosen action into another player's hand, I suppose I'm allowed to use Collecting Stories to replay that exact action, right? It's the original action, not a copy.

A: No, even if it's physically the same card, it counts as another copy of that card. And if you still try to play it, it will just be discarded without effect.

Rule: When a card leaves play there is no memory of its previous status, so that even if it is replayed in the same turn it is treated as a new card, not the same card.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.


Questions on Onini the Python[]

Q: If Onini the Python's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Onini the Python's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Pot of Beans)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: I suppose it only works if another player plays or discards a card I own, right?

A: Not just cards you own, but any cards "they don't own", like cards obtained by Trade, Vikings' cards, Critter Cube, etc. even monsters and treasures.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Rule: Monsters and treasures have no owner or faction.

Q: Does it work if another player plays or discards a Madness card? They don't own the Madness card after all.

A: No. Unlike treasures and monsters, the current possessor or player of a Madness card is its owner as well.

Rule: The current possessor or controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: Another player buries a card they don't own, does it trigger this card? And when they uncover it?.

A: When the card is uncovered, no because while they play the card, it's not played from a hand or a deck. When the card is buried, it depends: If it's buried because of the card being played (e.g. Tomb Trap), then yes; if it's buried because of a separate ability (e.g. Pyramid Engineer), the card is neither played, nor shown to you in the first place. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Osebo the Leopard[]

Q: If Osebo the Leopard's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Osebo the Leopard's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Pot of Beans)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: Does it trigger if I place a Madness card into another player's hand with Cthulhu or Star-Spawn of Cthulhu? Also applies to Trade and Wood for Sheep.

A: Of course! All those cards tell you to place a card (or a Madness card) into another player's hand, which triggers Osebo the Leopard.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Akye the Turtle[]

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card and choosing to do its ability, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.


Questions on Mboro Hornet[]

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Mboro Hornet, the condition is "After another player plays or discards a card they don't own from a hand or deck". So it can indeed be played outside your turn, but only after that condition is met.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: So the rulebook says Copycat can copy any type of abilities, including Special. So if another plays a Mboro Hornet as a Special, I can copy the Mboro Hornet's ability and play Copycat, right? Same question about Wil Wheaton, Snuggly Bear, Argonaut, Fan, Deputy, etc.

A: No, Copycat's ability is an on-play ability, which means you only resolve it if you play Copycat first. In your scenario, you invoke Copycat's ability while it's out of play and then use it to play Copycat, which isn't possible because you can only copy an ability by first playing Copycat. A Copycat's ability cannot be used to play the Copycat itself because playing it is required to invoke its copy ability in the first place.

Rule: An on-play ability happens when you play its card.

Q: I suppose it only works if another player plays or discards a card I own, right?

A: Not just cards you own, but any cards "they don't own", like cards obtained by Trade, Vikings' cards, Critter Cube, etc. even monsters and treasures.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Rule: Monsters and treasures have no owner or faction.

Q: Does it work if another player plays or discards a Madness card? They don't own the Madness card after all.

A: No. Unlike treasures and monsters, the current possessor or player of a Madness card is its owner as well.

Rule: The current possessor or controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: Another player buries a card they don't own, does it trigger this card? And when they uncover it?.

A: When the card is uncovered, no because while they play the card, it's not played from a hand or a deck. When the card is buried, it depends: If it's buried because of the card being played (e.g. Tomb Trap), then yes; if it's buried because of a separate ability (e.g. Pyramid Engineer), the card is neither played, nor shown to you in the first place. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Can I play it from stasis?

A: No, while in stasis, the only abilities that can do anything are the ones that explicitly state that they do something there.

Rule: Abilities of cards in stasis do not work unless they refer to stasis.


Questions on Collecting Stories[]

Q: If I use Anansi the Spider's talent, it says "[I] cannot play any copy of that action again this turn." So if I place the chosen action into another player's hand, I suppose I'm allowed to use Collecting Stories to replay that exact action, right? It's the original action, not a copy.

A: No, even if it's physically the same card, it counts as another copy of that card. And if you still try to play it, it will just be discarded without effect.

Rule: When a card leaves play there is no memory of its previous status, so that even if it is replayed in the same turn it is treated as a new card, not the same card.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: I place a Madness card into another player's hand. Using Collecting Stories, can I play that Madness card from their hand?

A: No, because you no longer own that Madness card. The current possessor or player of a Madness card is its owner.

Rule: The current possessor or controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Ear of Corn[]

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Feather Gifts[]

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: Can you move a minion from stasis to a base?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Let it be Full and Eat[]

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I play this? Do I draw two cards and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw the cards and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Pot of Beans[]

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: What does it mean to place two +1 power counters "total" on minions? Can I place two +1 power counters on any number of minions? Two +1 power counters on up to two minions?

A: It means you take a total of two +1 power counters and place them however you want on any minions in play, whether yours or not. In practice, you will only be able to place either both counters on a single minion, or one of each on two different minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: Can you place a +1 power counter on a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on your minion on its base that was directly affected by Pot of Beans from the pool, even if the two +1 power counters were already placed. Note that if there are several of your minions on the same base that are directly affected, Diva can only copy the boost received by one of them (of your choice), not each one.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on a minion on its base that was directly affected by Pot of Beans from the pool, even if the two +1 power counters were already placed. Note that if there are several minions on the same base that are directly affected, Dancing King can only copy the boost received by one of them (of your choice), not each one.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on a minion on its base that was directly affected by Pot of Beans from the pool, even if the two +1 power counters were already placed. Note that if there are several minions on the same base that are directly affected, We are Family can only copy the boost received by one of them (of your choice), not each one.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on your minion on its base that was directly affected by Pot of Beans from the pool, even if you've already placed two +1 power counters. Note that if there are several minions on the same base that are directly affected, Funky Town can only copy the boost received by one of them (of your choice), not each one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Pot of Wisdom[]

Q: I don't get it, how many cards do I draw?

A: You draw a card for each of your opponents. So in a 2-player game, you would draw one card; in a 3-player game, you would draw two cards; and in a 4-player game, you would draw three cards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand and we are three players. What happens if I decide when I draw the two cards? Do I draw them and immediately discard down to 10 before placing cards into the other players' hands?

A: You draw the two cards and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Perfect Gift[]

Q: What is a standard action exactly? I suppose it's the official name for an on-play action. Or does it simply mean non-Special actions?

A: It's an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Actions remain in play by being played on a base, played on a minion, or buried on a base, so if none of those normally occur when an action is played, then it's a standard action. On-play actions (ones that don't have any Ongoing/Talent/Special labels) are indeed standard actions, but standard actions are not exclusively on-play actions. "Pure" Special actions (ones that immediately start with "Special:...") are standard as well, because they aren't played on any card. Hybrids between on-play and Special actions (e.g. Full Sail or Dogpile) that aren't played on any card are mostly standard actions as well, but counter-examples are actions that can bury themselves (e.g. Tomb Trap or Blessing of Anubis) as those aren't standard when played from the hand/deck/discard pile, and become standard when uncovered.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: What does "instead of where it would normally go" mean?

A: Some standard actions aren't discarded like normal when they are played, for example Favor of Dionysus can go on the top of your deck instead of the discard pile, Friendship Power can go back into your hand instead of the discard pile, Time Walk must go on the bottom of your deck, Madness cards can be returned to the Madness deck, etc. For any of those cards, you ignore where you can normally put it and instead must place it into another player's hand.

Rule: Check The Perfect Gift's clarification.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: So how does it interact with Trade? In 3-player games, do I give it to the other opponent? How about in 2-player games?

A: You ignore Trade's instruction to "place [Trade] in that player’s hand" and now follow The Perfect Gift's instruction instead, so you place Trade in any other player's hand ("other player" meaning "any player but you", not a different player than the one you would have given Trade to.) In 3-player games, you can give Trade to any of your two opponents, including the one who would have normally received Trade. In 2-player games, you have no choice but to give Trade to your one and only opponent.

Rule: Check The Perfect Gift's clarification.

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I don't have to shuffle it at all, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. That's now an integral part of the rules.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: Since actions that bury themselves don't say "Play on a minion/base", that means they are standard actions. How would that interact with The Perfect Gift? Would it stay buried or is it impossible to bury it since it will go into another player's hand instead of a base?

A: Actually the definition of a standard action has been updated, starting with this expansion. The general definition is now that a standard action is one that doesn't remain in play after being played, so actions that bury themselves aren't considered as standard actions when they are played from the hand, deck or discard pile since they will remain in play. On the other hand, they are considered as standard actions when uncovered, and therefore played and discarded. So Anansi the Spider just can't search for those actions.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Trading Stories[]

Q: Do I have to give the cards as equally as possible to each other player?

A: You can give away the cards however you want.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I give two cards to one player and one card to a second player, how many cards do I draw? One per player who received my cards, or one per card given?

A: That's one card per card you gave, so three cards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. What happens if I use this card to place a card into their hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: They don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I give a card to another player. When that player will have to discard that card, in whose discard pile will the card go to? Theirs or mine?

A: It will go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia[]

  • The artist is Gunship Revolution.
  • Within the World Tour series, this faction represents West Africa.
  • Their divider features Anansi the Spider.
  • This faction is based on Anansi stories or anansesem (spider tales), starring Anansi the trickster and god of all stories.
  • A Penguin can be seen in the crowd in Collecting Stories.

In other languages[]

Language Name Translation (if different)
Chinese 阿南斯故事集
French Contes d'Anansi
German Anansis Märchen
Russian Африканские сказания African legends


World Tour: Culture Shock
Factions: Anansi Tales  •  Ancient Incas  •  Grimms’ Fairy Tales  •  Polynesian Voyagers  •  Russian Fairy Tales
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary  •  Excellent Movies, Dudes!  •  Half the Battle
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Booster Packs: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table  •  Smash Up Teens
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References[]

Advertisement