FANDOM


Egyptians-Priest-of-Anubis-731x1024

The Ancient Egyptians were famous for burying things, and they bring that to Smash Up! To bury a card, you play it on a base, face down. They are considered “cards” but not a specific type and can’t be targeted as “minions” or “actions”. Any player may reveal one of their buried cards at the start of their turn, or when an effect allows it, triggering any effects upon reveal. - AEG

Many of our most esteemed historians and scientists of course believe that ancient Egyptians were helped along by aliens and creepy mummy magic. This is an accepted fact of modern science. And now it’s your chance to use those powers against your opponents! The Ancient Egyptians use the new “bury” mechanic to leave surprises, both good and bad, on the board. Take care around them, you never know what lies hidden beneath the sands of time.

- Oops, You Did It Again rulebook (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook)

The Ancient Egyptians are one of the 4 factions from the Oops, You Did It Again set.

They focus on burying cards, usually gaining extra power from having buried cards in play, and uncovering them quicker for various effects.

Other factions from the same set: Cowboys, Samurai, Vikings.

Name Edit

During the Oops, You Did It Again contest, this faction was named "Egypt" before getting its final name.

Cards Edit

IMG E0783-1-

The Ancient Egyptians have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 2 play-on-minion actions: Ancient Curse (2x),
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 4 "normal" standard actions (2 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Lost Knowledge, Mummy Strength, Plague of Locusts, Seal the Tomb,
  • 4 actions that aren't standard when they bury themselves, but become standard when uncovered (3 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Blessing of Anubis, Tomb Trap (2x), You Can Take It With You,
  • 2 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Blessing of Anubis, Mummy Strength.

Minions Edit

1x Pharaoh - power 5 - Ongoing: After another buried card is uncovered, draw a card. Special: Before this base scores, you may uncover one of your buried cards here. FAQ

2x Priest of Anubis - power 4 - Ongoing: This minion has +2 power if you have a card buried here. FAQ

3x Pyramid Engineer - power 3 - You may uncover one of your buried cards here. Talent: Bury a card from your hand here. FAQ

4x Mummy - power 2 - Ongoing: After this base scores, you may bury this minion on another base. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Ancient Curse - Play on a minion. You may remove a +1 power counter from it. Ongoing: This minion has -2 power. FAQ

1x Blessing of Anubis - Bury this card. Special: When this card is uncovered, your minions here each gain +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Lost Knowledge - Bury a card from your hand OR uncover one of your buried cards. Special: You may play this card before a base scores. FAQ

1x Mummy Strength - Choose one of your minions. If there is a card buried on its base, it gains +3 power until the end of the turn, otherwise it gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Plague of Locusts - Choose a base. All other players’ minions there get -1 power until the end of the turn. Special: You may play this before a base scores. FAQ

1x Seal the Tomb - Bury up to two cards from your hand on the same base OR uncover up to two of your buried cards on the same base. FAQ

2x Tomb Trap - Bury this card. Special: When this card is uncovered, you may destroy a minion of power 4 or less here. FAQ

1x You Can Take It With You - Bury this card. Special: When this card is uncovered, draw three cards. FAQ

Ancient Egyptians logo

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Oops, You Did It Again rulebook:

Blessing of Anubis, Tomb Trap, You Can Take It With You: If you use this card’s ability to bury itself, you reveal it and place it face down on the base. If you uncover it you play it again but ignore the first part since uncovered cards are not reburied.

Mummy: This ability can only trigger if the Mummy is uncovered before the base finishes scoring. If you use its ability, bury it directly on a different base before the old base is discarded, without going to the discard pile or your hand first.

Mechanics Edit

Ancient Egyptians have abilities that allow them to bury cards and abilities that allow them to uncover them outside the Start Turn phase. Buried cards are unique in that very few cards can target them, so you can effectively keep them buried until just the right time. They also get advantages from having buried cards and from uncovering them. Most notably, some of their cards are only advantageous when first buried and then uncovered. Mummies are also unique among their cards as they act like First Mates, remaining in play after their base scores, except they always start at power 2 when uncovered.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Pharaoh Edit

Q: I have Pharaoh in play. After a buried card is uncovered, I draw a card and have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this happens on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Pharaoh is buried. I uncover it. Do I draw a card for uncovering it?

A: No, Pharaoh specifies "After another buried card is uncovered", so it triggers from other cards being uncovered, not itself.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Pharaoh is buried. Its base scores. Can I use its Special ability to uncover it?

A: No, while buried, the only way to use any of Pharaoh's abilities is by first uncovering it. And no, you can't use Pharaoh's Special ability to uncover it, because to use it, Pharaoh must already be uncovered!

Rule: A buried card’s abilities may not be triggered until after it is uncovered.

Q: It has a Special power that happens during a base break. Does it have to be in play to use the special or can it also be played straight from hand as a big drop?

A: It must already be in play.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: Do I draw a card only when my buried cards are uncovered? Or when another player's buried card is uncovered as well?

A: You draw a card after any player's buried card is uncovered.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.
Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Another player stole one of my cards (e.g. with Trade) and I know they buried it on a base. I have Pharaoh there. Before its base scores, I suppose I can use Pharaoh's ability to uncover that buried card and play it, right? It's definitely a card I own so it's one of "my" cards, right?

A: No. "Your buried cards" are buried cards that you control and a buried card is controlled by the player who buried it. By the way, while buried, a buried card's controller is also considered its owner by default, even if you saw the face of the buried card.

Rule: "Your card" means "a card that you control".
Rule: A buried card is controlled by the player who buried it.
Rule: A buried card's controller is considered its owner until it is uncovered or discarded.

Q: Before my Pharaoh's base scores, I uncover one of my buried cards there. It's a card that triggers before a base scores, can I use its ability? If it's a Special "play before a base scores" action, can I play it immediately or do I have to wait until the step where Special cards in hand can be played?

A: Yes, you can use that card's ability immediately, and if it's a Special action, you can play it immediately without waiting for the next step.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: Before my Pharaoh's base scores, I uncover one of my buried cards there. It's a card that triggers after a base scores, can I use its ability? If it's a Special "play after a base scores" action, can I play it immediately or can I save it for the after-scoring step?

A: No, if it's a minion or a non-standard action, you can't use its ability. You do play it immediately on the base or on a minion on the base, but its ability will only happen during the after scoring step. If it's a standard action, you will have to discard it without effect.

Rule: If a Special must be played when its conditions don’t allow it, it is discarded instead.


Questions on Priest of Anubis Edit

Q: Another player stole one of my cards (e.g. with Trade) and I know they buried it on a base. I have Priest of Anubis there, so since the buried card is definitely a card I own, I "have" a buried card there and so Priest of Anubis gets +2 power, right?

A: No. "If you have a buried card" means "if you control at least one buried card" and a buried card is controlled by the player who buried it, so buried cards you don't control don't count. By the way, while buried, a buried card's controller is also considered its owner by default, even if you saw the face of the buried card.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.
Rule: A buried card is controlled by the player who buried it.
Rule: A buried card's controller is considered its owner until it is uncovered or discarded.


Questions on Pyramid Engineer Edit

Q: Another player stole one of my cards (e.g. with Trade) and I know they buried it on a base. I play Pyramid Engineer there and since the buried card is definitely a card I own, it's one of "my" cards, right? So I can uncover it, right?

A: No. "Your buried cards" are buried cards that you control and a buried card is controlled by the player who buried it. By the way, while buried, a buried card's controller is also considered its owner by default, even if you saw the face of the buried card.

Rule: "Your card" means "a card that you control".
Rule: A buried card is controlled by the player who buried it.
Rule: A buried card's controller is considered its owner until it is uncovered or discarded.

Q: I use its talent to bury a card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: No. When bury a card, you don't show what it is. The only situation where you must reveal it is when you play a card that tells you to bury the card itself, because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. This situation won't happen when using Pyramid Engineer's talent.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.


Questions on Mummy Edit

Q: What happens to actions and counters on it when I bury it on another base?

A: They are discarded.

Rule: When a card is uncovered or re-buried, any counters or cards on it are discarded first.

Q: I have a buried Mummy on a scoring base. After the scoring, I can still bury the Mummy elsewhere, right?

A: No, while buried, you can't use any of the card's abilities and so it will be discarded. In order for you to use Mummy's ability, it must be face up during the after-scoring step.

Rule: A buried card’s abilities may not be triggered until after it is uncovered.

Q: I have a buried Mummy on a scoring base. Before the scoring, I manage to uncover it, e.g. with Pharaoh or Lost Knowledge. After the scoring, can I still bury it elsewhere? The rules say that uncovered cards cannot be immediately reburied.

A: Yes, you can. That rule is for cards that bury themselves when they are played (e.g. Tomb Trap, You Can Take It With You,...) Besides, Mummy is not "immediately" reburied: You uncover it during the before-scoring step and it's buried during the after-scoring step.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Ancient Curse Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Ancient Curse says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Blessing of Anubis Edit

Q: I bury this card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: It depends. If you use that card's own ability to bury it, then yes. That's because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. Otherwise, if you use another card's ability to bury it (e.g. Pyramids, Pyramid Engineer), then no, you don't reveal what it is.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.

Q: I have Blessing of Anubis buried on a base. If I uncover it, I have to play it, which means that I must bury it. Do I still resolve its Special ability since it was uncovered before being reburied?

A: Hold on, when you uncover Blessing of Anubis, you don't resolve the "Bury this card" part. That's because cards that are uncovered cannot by immediately reburied. So you must ignore the bury effect and you do resolve its Special ability.

Rule: When you uncover a buried card, ignore any instructions on it that would rebury it.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I uncover it for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Blessing of Anubis doesn't remain in play after being uncovered, so it IS a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: First of all, when you bury it, nothing happens because it remains in play by being buried and so it isn't considered as a standard action. So the only way to copy its ability is when it's uncovered.
- Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lost Knowledge Edit

Q: Another player stole one of my cards (e.g. with Trade) and I know they buried it on a base. I play Lost Knowledge and since the buried card is definitely a card I own, it's one of "my" cards, right? So I can uncover it, right?

A: No. "Your buried cards" are buried cards that you control and a buried card is controlled by the player who buried it. By the way, while buried, a buried card's controller is also considered its owner by default, even if you saw the face of the buried card.

Rule: "Your card" means "a card that you control".
Rule: A buried card is controlled by the player who buried it.
Rule: A buried card's controller is considered its owner until it is uncovered or discarded.

Q: I play this card to bury a card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: No. When bury a card, you don't show what it is. The only situation where you must reveal it is when you play a card that tells you to bury the card itself, because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. This situation won't happen when playing Lost Knowledge.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Lost Knowledge doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mummy Strength Edit

Q: Do I really get power if there is any player's buried card on the base? Not just mine?

A: Yes, the card doesn't discriminate between your buried cards and others'.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I play this while there is a buried card there so the minion gets +3 power. If the buried card is no longer there later on that turn, what happens? It gets +2 power instead?

A: No, it keeps the +3 power until the end of the turn. The presence of the buried card is just a requirement for when you play the card, but once it gets +3 power, it keeps it for the rest of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if their cards are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.

Q: I play this while there isn't a buried card there so the minion gets +2 power. Later in the turn, if a card is buried there, what happens? It gets +3 power instead?

A: No, it keeps the +2 power until the end of the turn. The presence of the buried card is just a requirement for when you play the card, but once it gets +2 power, it keeps it for the rest of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if their cards are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Plague of Locusts Edit

Q: Plague of Locusts is buried. Its base scores. Can I use its Special ability to play it?

A: No, while buried, you can't use any of the card's abilities. The only way to play it is by first uncovering it.

Rule: A buried card’s abilities may not be triggered until after it is uncovered.

Q: Plague of Locusts is buried. I uncover it and it tells me to choose a base. Do I have to choose the base it was buried on?

A: No, when you uncover a standard action, you simply resolve it as normal so there's no restriction to the base unlike minions and non-standard actions.

Rule: When you uncover a standard action that can affect a card, you don't have to affect a card on its current base.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I play it through its Special ability for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Plague of Locusts doesn't remain in play when played, whether it's played normally or as a Special, so it IS a standard action no matter what.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets -1 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets -1 power.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect opponents' minions, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Seal the Tomb Edit

Q: Another player stole one of my cards (e.g. with Trade) and I know they buried it on a base. I play Seal the Tomb and since the buried card is definitely a card I own, it's one of "my" cards, right? So I can uncover it, right?

A: No. "Your buried cards" are buried cards that you control and a buried card is controlled by the player who buried it. By the way, while buried, a buried card's controller is also considered its owner by default, even if you saw the face of the buried card.

Rule: "Your card" means "a card that you control".
Rule: A buried card is controlled by the player who buried it.
Rule: A buried card's controller is considered its owner until it is uncovered or discarded.

Q: I play this card to bury a card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: No. When bury a card, you don't show what it is. The only situation where you must reveal it is when you play a card that tells you to bury the card itself, because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. This situation won't happen when playing Seal the Tomb.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Seal the Tomb doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Tomb Trap Edit

Q: I bury this card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: It depends. If you use that card's own ability to bury it, then yes. That's because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. Otherwise, if you use another card's ability to bury it (e.g. Pyramids, Pyramid Engineer), then no, you don't reveal what it is.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.

Q: I have Tomb Trap buried on a base. If I uncover it, I have to play it, which means that I must bury it. Do I still resolve its Special ability since it was uncovered before being reburied?

A: Hold on, when you uncover Tomb Trap, you don't resolve the "Bury this card" part. That's because cards that are uncovered cannot by immediately reburied. So you must ignore the bury effect and you do resolve its Special ability.

Rule: When you uncover a buried card, ignore any instructions on it that would rebury it.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I uncover it for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Tomb Trap doesn't remain in play after being uncovered, so it IS a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: First of all, when you bury it, nothing happens because it remains in play by being buried and so it isn't considered as a standard action. So the only way to copy its ability is when it's uncovered.
- If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 4), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 4), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on You Can Take It With You Edit

Q: I have You Can Take It With You buried on a base. If I uncover it, I have to play it, which means that I must bury it. Do I still resolve its Special ability since it was uncovered before being reburied?

A: Hold on, when you uncover You Can Take It With You, you don't resolve the "Bury this card" part. That's because cards that are uncovered cannot by immediately reburied. So you must ignore the bury effect and you do resolve its Special ability.

Rule: When you uncover a buried card, ignore any instructions on it that would rebury it.

Q: After uncovering this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this happens on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I bury this card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: It depends. If you use that card's own ability to bury it, then yes. That's because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. Otherwise, if you use another card's ability to bury it (e.g. Pyramids, Pyramid Engineer), then no, you don't reveal what it is.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because You Can Take It With You doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Their divider features Mummy.
  • Star Portal is a reference to Stargate.
  • In Seal the Tomb, a Mummy has a shirt with the text "Senpet 4 Life", referencing the Senpet Empire, an Egyptian-themed faction from the collectible card game "Legend of the Burning Sands".
  • Crypt Looter discovered some Lost Knowledge, namely the Smash Up FAQ.
  • Ancient Egyptians (as Mummies) were one of the top 32 nominated factions for "The Smash Up: It's Your Fault contest". They lost to Sharks.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
German Altertümlichen Ägypter


Oops, You Did It Again

Factions: Ancient Egyptians  •  Cowboys  •  Samurai  •  Vikings
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Burying  •  Duels

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Promotional: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References Edit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.