SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

This is the FAQ page for each individual base in Awesome Level 9000.

Questions on Field of Honor

Q: I play a Sprout on Field of Honor. When it destroys itself at the start of my next turn, do I gain 1 VP?

A: Yes. Technically, the card doesn't destroy itself, it tells you to destroy it, so you get credit for its destruction.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If a minion is not actually destroyed, does it count for the 1 VP bonus of Cave of Shinies (or Field of Honor)?

A: No. If the minion in question is not destroyed, the base ability doesn't even trigger for said minion in the first place.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If multiple abilities work together to destroy a minion on Field of Honor, who gets the VP?

A: Check the card which is the direct cause of the destruction, which is the card among all those that were activated and whose ability says "destroy". That card is what destroyed the minion and it always says who gets the credit for the destruction (usually the card's controller). So if a Bear Cavalry player sets up a manned High Ground on Field of Honor, and another player's minion moves to that base for some reason, the High Ground is activated and it says that High Ground's controller destroys the minion. So, the controller of High Ground earns the VP. While it's usually the card's controller who does the destruction (Remember, "you" on a minion or action means the controller of the card), some rare cards (e.g. Bear Hug, Griefer) make another player destroy the minion.[1]

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.

Q: If a single card is responsible for destroying many minions at once (e.g. Powderkeg, Broadside), how many VPs does the player win?

A: If one player gets credit for multiple destructions because of a single card, they only get 1 VP, not 1 VP per destroyed minion. In the rare cases where several players destroy different minions on Field of Honor, e.g. if a player plays Bear Hug and if their opponents choose to destroy their minions on Field of Honor, then each of those players get 1 VP.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: I have High Ground on Field of Honor. I play one card and move several minions to there (e.g. You’re Pretty Much Borscht, Felicia Day) and destroy them. Can I choose to move them one at a time and therefore gain 1 VP per minion?

A: No. Those cards move several minions simultaneously. So, all the selected minions move at once and all of them are destroyed at the same time, so it counts as a single destruction and only rewards you 1 VP.

Rule: If several players get to use an effect because of a single card, each player uses it in clockwise order from the current player.

Q: On the same turn, if I play a card to destroy a minion on Field of Honor, and then play a second card to destroy another minion on Field of Honor, how many VPs do I get?

A: 2 VPs. You get 1 VP per destruction ability. A single destruction ability can destroy one or more minion, but it still counts as one destruction. Here, you performed two destructions, hence 2 VPs.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: But it doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so shouldn't you only get the VP once per turn?

A: No, you get the VP after each time you destroy one or more minions there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn" or "the first time". Field of Honor's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: Another player plays Bear Hug/Unfathomable Goals/Griefer (and makes me destroy one of my minions)/Fate of the Favorites. I choose to destroy my minion on Field of Honor. Who gets the VP?

A: You did the destruction, so you get credit for destroying the minion and get the VP, not the player who played the card.[1]

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. If one of my minions there is destroyed by another player, can I prevent that player from gaining any VP?

A: No, you can't make another player ignore the base's instructions, only you ignore it, and while your minion is involved in all this, Field of Honor's ability does nothing that affects your minion and doesn't instruct you to do something, so there's nothing you can ignore.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Haunted House

Q: Can I play a minion on the Haunted House if I have no cards left in hand?

A: Sure. The ability is a penalty if you do play a minion, not a requirement to playing the minion.

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I only have to discard a card after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you must discard a card after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Haunted House's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If I play a Zapbot on Haunted House, and then another Zapbot as the extra minion, do I have to discard two cards? Or do I only discard a card the first time I play a minion there?

A: Two. You discard a card for each minion you play on Haunted House.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: It's my turn to play and I only have four Zapbots in hand. Can I play all of them at once on Haunted House and discard no card because my hand is empty?

A: No, when you play a Zapbot, you gain an extra minion play of power 2 or less that's "banked" for later. That's because on your Play Cards phase, extra card plays are banked rather than played immediately. So after banking your extra minion play, you must resolve Haunted House's ability and discard a card. After that, you can spend your banked extra minion play to play a second Zapbot, but like before, the extra minion play will be banked rather than played immediately, and so you'll have to resolve Haunted House's ability once again and discard your last card.

A: UPDATE. Yes, The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now clarifies that extra card plays can all be played immediately, so when you play your Zapbot, you can immediately spend the extra minion play you gained to immediately play a second Zapbot, and then spend the new extra minion play to immediately play a third Zapbot and so on. Haunted House will trigger for each minion played, but won't be resolved until you finish resolving all the played cards.

Rule: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I move a minion to Haunted House, do I have to discard a card?

A: No, you didn't play it; you just moved it there, so Haunted House doesn't trigger.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: A minion is played on Haunted House. If that minion play is interrupted by Control Minion, who has to discard a card?

A: The player who played the minion. When the minion is played, Haunted House "witnessed" that player playing the minion, so it triggers at that time and when it resolves, "that player" designates the player who played the minion.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Haunted House, do I still have to discard a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Then after you play a minion there, you won't have to discard a card.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Inventor’s Salon

Q: Can I use Inventor's Salon's ability to recover an action that I had played on Inventor's Salon when it scored?

A: No, base abilities that start with "The winner..." are to be treated as "after this base scores" abilities, so they are triggered during the after-scoring phase. At that point, your actions played on Inventor's Salon aren't discarded yet. This is confirmed by Inventor’s Salon's clarification.

Rule: Base abilities that start with "The winner..." are to be treated as "after this base scores" abilities.

Rule: Check Inventor’s Salon's clarification

Q: I already have 10 cards in hand. After this base scored, I am the winner, place one of my discarded actions in my hand and end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this scored on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I'm the winner on that base. If I take an action from my discard pile that is playable "after a base scores", can I play it for Inventor’s Salon's scoring?

A: Short answer: Yes. Long answer: You are currently resolving after-scoring abilities, more specifically optional after-scoring abilities (Inventor’s Salon says "the winner may" and Special cards that are playable from the hand are optional.) So the players are taking turns choosing whether to use/play such optional abilities. If you choose to Inventor’s Salon to resolve, when the turn comes back to you, you can play the card you retrieved.

Rule: When resolving card reactions, resolve mandatory cards that were triggered while in play first, then resolve triggered optional cards in play and in hand.

Q: I'm the winner on that base. If I play a Special "after a base scores" standard action, can I retrieve it with Inventor’s Salon? If so, can I replay it for Inventor’s Salon's scoring?

A: Short answer: Yes and yes, but only if you haven't already used Inventor’s Salon ability. Long answer: You are currently resolving after-scoring abilities, more specifically optional after-scoring abilities (Inventor’s Salon says "the winner may" and Special cards that are playable from the hand are optional.) So the players are taking turns choosing whether to use/play such optional abilities. If you choose to play a Special after-scoring standard action before invoking Inventor’s Salon's ability, it will be discarded since it's a standard action, then when the turn comes back to you, you can use Inventor’s Salon's ability to get back that action. And then when the turn comes back to you again, you can indeed play the action you retrieved, but this time you won't be able to use Inventor’s Salon's ability again since it can only be resolved once for its trigger.

Rule: When resolving card reactions, resolve mandatory cards that were triggered while in play first, then resolve triggered optional cards in play and in hand.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Rule: When a card leaves play there is no memory of its previous status, so that even if it is replayed in the same turn it is treated as a new card, not the same card.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If you aren't the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from retrieving an action either. If you are the winner, you won't retrieve one of your actions from your discard pile.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Secret Grove

Q: Do I have to have a minion on Secret Grove to use its ability?

A: There's no such restriction, so no.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Can I use this base's ability to play a minion of power 2 or less multiple times in one turn?

A: No. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now restricts all "on your turn" abilities to a single use on each of your turns.

Rule: Each "on your turn" ability can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. Can I stop other players from getting an extra minion from this base's ability?

A: No, if you choose to ignore this base's ability, only you won't be able to get the extra minion play.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Dread Gazebo

Q: What kind of actions does The Dread Gazebo say no to, exactly?

A: The Dread Gazebo only prevents actions with the words "play on a base" from being played on it. It does not prevent actions that are played on minions on this base, nor does it prevent actions that tell you to choose a base, like Terraforming or Rampage.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: Can I play Jammed Signal or Infiltrate on The Dread Gazebo? It allows me to ignore the base's ability after all.

A: No. The Ongoing ability of those cards would take effect after being played there, and the Dread Gazebo prohibits you from playing them there at all, though if you still try to play them there, they will be discarded without effect. However, both wactions can be transferred there using Rules Lawyer.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: Does The Dread Gazebo prevent me from playing an action that allows me to play a minion on The Dread Gazebo? (e.g. Summon)

A: No, it only prevents "play on a base" actions from being played there.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: Does The Dread Gazebo prevent me from ever playing an Argonaut? It counts as an action after all.

A: No, when you play an Argonaut, you're playing a minion. Even if you play it instead of an action, you're playing a minion; it's just that it costs you an action play to do that. Once Argonaut is in play, you do have to resolve its ability and so all cards act as if you played an action as well. The Dread Gazebo prohibits players from playing an action on it, which forces them to discard the action if they try to, but Argonaut is already in play at that point, so The Dread Gazebo's ability is irrelevant.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I manage to transfer Infiltrate to this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you) will be able to play actions on The Dread Gazebo.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Greenhouse

Q: If I am the winner of The Greenhouse, do I choose what minion I'm going to play before or after the new base is revealed?

A: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies that you search for a minion after the new base comes into play.

Rule: Check The Greenhouse's clarification.

Q: The Greenhouse allows the winner to play a minion on the base that replaces it. If that base is Ice Castle, can they still play it?

A: You can try, but the minion will be discarded instead.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle your deck, so I don't have to shuffle my deck after I searched through it, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. Since Big in Japan, that's now an integral part of the rules.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: Do you shuffle it before or after playing your minion? For example, if you shuffle after playing the minion, I can see what the first card of my deck is, purposely play an Enchantress to draw it, and only then shuffle my deck.

A: You have to shuffle it right after searching through your deck, and therefore before playing your minion.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If you aren't the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from playing a minion. If you are the winner, you won't be able to search for nor play a minion.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Tsar’s Palace

Q: Can I play a War Raptor on Tsar's Palace? (The question also applies to Mimic and Howler)

A: No. Even though the War Raptor becomes power 3+ once it arrives on the base, it is of power 2 in your hand. Refer to Playing Minions for more discussion. It's the same for Mimic, its power is 0, so it can't be played on Tsar's Palace. Though it you still try to play them there, they will be discarded without effect.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: Can I move a minion of power 2 or less there?

A: Sure. Tsar's Palace's restriction is only for playing minions, not moving them.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: Sleep Spores is on Tsar's Palace. Does that mean that minions of power 3 or less can't be played there anymore?

A: No. Tsar's Palace only forbids minions of power 2 or less from being played there, so power-3 minions are fine. Sleep Spores only affects minions once they are in play, not in hand. So, when a minion of power 3 is played there, Tsar's Palace authorizes it, then Sleep Spores reduces its power to 2, but Tsar' Palace doesn't retroactively kick the minion out.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: What if a monster of power 2 or less is played on Tsar's Palace?

A: The monster is discarded without resolving its effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you) will be able to ignore the base's restriction and play minions of power 2 or less there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Workshop

Q: If I play an action on a minion on Workshop, do I get an extra action?

A: No. Workshop only triggers from playing action on it, not on minion on it.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: If I play an action that targets this base (e.g. Terraforming, Rampage), do I get an extra action?

A: No. Workshop only triggers from playing action on it.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I only get an extra action after playing my first action there, right?

A: No, you get an extra action after each time you play an action there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first action". Workshop's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: Before a base scores, if I manage to play a "play on a base" action on Workshop (e.g. with a Mole), do I get an extra action?

A: Yes. And you have to play it immediately or not at all.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: I play an Argonaut on Workshop. Do I get an extra action?

A: Yes. When you play an Argonaut, whether it's normally or instead of an action play, it counts as if you played an action as well, but the Argonaut is also played on the base, so you also treat it as if you played on action on its base. In the case of Workshop, it means Workshop considers it as an action played on it and so it grants you an extra action play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't get an extra action to play whenever you play an action on that base.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References

Advertisement