SmashUp Wiki

This is the FAQ page for each individual base from:

Questions on Cabin in the Woods[]

Q: It boosts "my minions" there based on "my other minions" there. Do minions there that I own but I don't control count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they're "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An enemy Cub Scout is on Cabin in the Woods, at power 3, and I have a single minion there. I move one of my power-2 minions to there. Is it destroyed by the Cub Scout?

A: No. Cub Scout's ability is only resolved after the move has been completed. Cabin in the Woods is active as soon as a minion is present, so it gives the minion +2 power before Cub Scout is activated, so the minion survives.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifications.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I play Zombie Lord. Can an extra power-2 minion be played on a base where it would get +2 power and therefore actually be a power-4 minion? (e.g. Cabin in the Woods if I have another minion there)

A: Yes. Playing a minion of power 2 or less means playing a minion while its printed power is 2 or less.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: Does a minion on Cabin in the Woods keep its power boost after the end of the turn?

A: It keeps the power boost as long as you have other minions there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions (and only your minions, not all players' minions) won't get +1 power because they won't be affected by Cabin in the Woods.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Camelot[]

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions of power 4 or more on Camelot? If so, does Camelot protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, Camelot protects your minions of power 4 or more.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: Another players has an action on Camelot that gives other players' minions -1 power (e.g. Sleep Spores). I play a power-4 minion here. Does it become a power-3 minion and therefore isn't protected by Camelot? Or is it protected by Camelot and therefore doesn't get -1 power from the action?

A: It gets the protection from Camelot. When two abilities conflict, the one that says you can't do something beats the one that says you can.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I have a power-3 minion on Camelot. An opponent plays Enchantment there and chooses the +1 power to all minions option. What happens? If my minion gains the +1 power, it becomes power-4 and is protected by Camelot, and so goes back to power-3 and becomes affectable again,...

A: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook settled it: Because Enchantment is what allows your minion to be protected by Camelot, Camelot "accepts" it.

Rule: If an antagonistic change makes a minion fall within protective range, that effect is allowed despite the apparent protection.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions of power 4 or more there (and only your minions , not all minions) won't be protected by Camelot's ability anymore. And you (and only you, not all players) won't be able to use its ability to move one of your minions from there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Deepreef Crag[]

Q: What do I do with this base? Which faction does it belong to?

A: This is just a promotional base and isn't associated to any faction. Add it in your base deck at the start of any of your games if you want to use it.

Rule: N/A

Q: When does the total power need to equal the breakpoint? If it equals the breakpoint when the base is chosen to score, but then changes because of before-scoring abilities, does the winner still gain the additional VP?

A: The total power needs to equal the breakpoint when the base is scoring, i.e. when the VPs are handed out, so no.

Rule: "When scoring" means at the time VP rewards are distributed.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't gain the 1 addition VP if you are the winner on that base.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Goblin Caves[]

Q: If I flip tails, do I discard two cards randomly or may I choose which ones to discard?

A: You choose which two cards you discard.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does this trigger Chaos Lord, Diviner and Goblin Recruiters? And may I change the result with Diviner or Make Your Own Luck?

A: Yes, those are triggered by you flipping your coin (not other players' coin flips). And yes, you can indeed change the result of your own coin flip.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to flip a coin and therefore won't get anything from that base. Also, you cannot choose to flip the coin and ignore the outcome--if you choose to ignore the base's ability, you ignore all of it.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Goblin Town[]

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only do its ability after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you do its ability after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: Does this trigger Chaos Lord, Diviner and Goblin Recruiters? And may I change the result with Diviner or Make Your Own Luck?

A: Yes, those are triggered by you flipping your coin (not other players' coin flips). And yes, you can indeed change the result of your own coin flip.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Goblin Town, do I still flip a coin?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: When you (and only you, not all players) play a minion there, you won't flip a coin and therefore won't get anything from the base. Also, you cannot choose to flip the coin and ignore the outcome--if you choose to ignore the base's ability, you ignore all of it.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Ice Floe[]

Q: What does playing "off the top of your deck" mean? Do I just reveal the top card of my deck and play it it's a minion? Sounds lame...

A: No, you reveal cards from your deck until you find a minion, which you'll have to play. Then you shuffle all the revealed actions into your deck.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What do I do with the revealed actions? Do I discard them?

A: You shuffle them into your deck.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: When do I play the revealed minion? Before or after I shuffle the revealed actions into my deck?

A: Before.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What if the minion's ability allows me to draw a card, search my deck, place or shuffle a card into my deck, etc.? Can I draw one of the revealed actions or put back the revealed actions into my deck before doing that?

A: You only do it to what remains of your deck. The revealed actions aren't considered as in play or in your deck or discard pile. So:
- if you need to draw a card, you draw the next unrevealed card,
- if you need to search your deck, you only search among the unrevealed cards of your deck,
- if you need to place a card on the bottom or top of your deck, you only place on the bottom or top of what remains of your deck,
- if you need to shuffle a card into your deck, you only shuffle it into what remains of it.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What do I do if I reveal an action I don't own?

A: You shuffle it into its owner's deck when you have to shuffle all revealed actions into your deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: What if there are no minions in my deck and I reveal all of it and it's just actions? Do I shuffle my discard pile to make a new deck and continue revealing from there? Rules say that if I need to reveal a card and my deck is empty, I have to make a new deck and continue from there until I do find a minion.

A: Actually, no, you don't shuffle your discard pile in that case. If your deck runs out, you stop revealing and end the process of playing a minion off the top of your deck by shuffling all revealed cards to make a deck.

Rule: When revealing cards from a deck until you find a particular kind of card(s), if you run out of cards, you stop revealing.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What if I reveal a Shoggoth and don't have any eligible base to play it on?

A: You discard it and don't play any replacement for it.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: If there is a minion there that I control but don't own, do I get an extra minion play off the top of my deck if I use this base's ability at the start of my turn?

A: No. If you use this base's ability, since you don't own it, your minion will go on the bottom of its owner's deck. Then, you won't get the extra minion play because you needed to successfully do the first part of the base's ability, i.e. "[placing] one of your minions here on the bottom of your deck"; it wasn't placed on the bottom of your deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to place one of your minions there on the bottom of your deck and play an extra minion off the top of your deck. Note that if you choose to ignore this base's ability, you must ignore all of it. You cannot choose to place your minion under the deck and not get the extra minion for example.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Locker Room[]

Q: It works "if I have a minion" there. Is it enough if my only minion there is a minion I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "If you have a minion" means "if you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: After drawing the card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw any card at the start of your turn.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Montridge High[]

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only do its ability after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you do its ability after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I place a +1 power counter on "one of my minions" there. Do minions there that I own but I don't control count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they're "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Mage's Tower, do I still draw a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't get a + 1 power counter after you play your first minion there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Round Table[]

Q: It boosts "my minions" there based on "my other minions" there. Do minions there that I own but I don't control count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they're "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: What does it mean by "with the same printed power"?

A: It means that when you check your minions there against one another, you just check their printed powers, i.e. the number that appears on the top-left corner of the minion cards, while disregarding any abilities that modifies its power (adding or substracting power, or any abilities that set the starting power to another value) and +1 power counters on it. Each of them that has the same printed power as at least one other of them gets +1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I have three minions there with the same printed power, do they each get +2 power (+1 power per my other minions) or only +1 power?

A: +1 power. As long as they are with at least one of your minions with the same printed power, they have +1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An enemy Cub Scout is on Round Table, at power 3, and I have a minion of printed power 2 there. I move one of my printed-power-2 minions to there. Is it destroyed by the Cub Scout?

A: No. Cub Scout's ability is only resolved after the move has been completed. Round Table is active as soon as a minion is present, so it gives the minion +1 power before Cub Scout is activated, so the minion survives.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifications.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I play Zombie Lord. Can an extra power-2 minion be played on a base where it would get +1 power and therefore actually be a power-3 minion? (e.g. Round Table if I have a minion of printed power 2 there)

A: Yes. Playing a minion of power 2 or less means playing a minion while its printed power is 2 or less.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: Does a minion on Round Table keep its power boost after the end of the turn?

A: It keeps the power boost as long as you have other minions there with the same printed power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions (and only your minions, not all players' minions) won't get +1 power because they won't be affected by Round Table.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Sheep Shrine[]

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Nothing. This base's ability is resolved when it comes into play, which means that no action can already be attached to it. Once it's in play, its ability becomes irrelevant.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Stadium[]

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only draw a card after the first time in a turn one of my minions there is destroyed, right?

A: No, you draw a card after each time one of your minions there is destroyed. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: After drawing the card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: There are two possible situations. If one of your minions is destroyed there, you don't draw any card because you just ignore that base's instruction. If another player's minion is destroyed there, you can't prevent them from drawing a card, even when you do the destruction. That's because when you destroy their minion, it triggers the base's ability, which you can't ignore triggering, and the base then instructs the minion's controller (so not you) to draw a card, and you can't make them ignore that instruction.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on TableTop[]

Q: After this scores, I am the winner and end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this scored on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If you aren't the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from drawing/discarding cards either. If you are the winner, you won't either draw or discard cards.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Colony[]

Q: What does playing "off the top of your deck" mean? Do I just reveal the top card of my deck and play it it's a minion? Sounds lame...

A: No, you reveal cards from your deck until you find a minion, which you'll have to play. Then you shuffle all the revealed actions into your deck.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What do I do with the revealed actions? Do I discard them?

A: You shuffle them into your deck.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: When do I play the revealed minion? Before or after I shuffle the revealed actions into my deck?

A: Before.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What if the minion's ability allows me to draw a card, search my deck, place or shuffle a card into my deck, etc.? Can I draw one of the revealed actions or put back the revealed actions into my deck before doing that?

A: You only do it to what remains of your deck. The revealed actions aren't considered as in play or in your deck or discard pile. So:
- if you need to draw a card, you draw the next unrevealed card,
- if you need to search your deck, you only search among the unrevealed cards of your deck,
- if you need to place a card on the bottom or top of your deck, you only place on the bottom or top of what remains of your deck,
- if you need to shuffle a card into your deck, you only shuffle it into what remains of it.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: If I play a minion on another base and then a second minion on The Colony, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be played there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "After the first time you play a minion here on your turn", which happened: your second minion of the turn IS the first minion you played on that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What do I do if I reveal an action I don't own?

A: You shuffle it into its owner's deck when you have to shuffle all revealed actions into your deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: What if there are no minions in my deck and I reveal all of it and it's just actions? Do I shuffle my discard pile to make a new deck and continue revealing from there? Rules say that if I need to reveal a card and my deck is empty, I have to make a new deck and continue from there until I do find a minion.

A: Actually, no, you don't shuffle your discard pile in that case. If your deck runs out, you stop revealing and end the process of playing a minion off the top of your deck by shuffling all revealed cards to make a deck.

Rule: When revealing cards from a deck until you find a particular kind of card(s), if you run out of cards, you stop revealing.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: What if I reveal a Shoggoth and don't have any eligible base to play it on?

A: You discard it and don't play any replacement for it.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Rule: Definition of "Play X off the top of your deck".

Q: I haven't played any minions yet. If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on The Colony, can I still play an extra minion off the top of my deck there?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to use this base's ability after the first minion you play there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Con[]

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only do its ability after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you do its ability after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If I play 3 power-2 minions of the same faction on The Con in one turn, how much power do I have there?

A: 9 = 4 + 3 + 2. The first minion is power 2. The second minion is power 2 and boosts the first minion to power 3. The third minion is power 2 and boosts the first minion to power 4 and the second minion to power 3. Unlike Swashbuckling and Howl, the power boost does not apply to minions played in the future.

Rule: Abilities that say “Do X until Z” (e.g. “Each of your minions gains +1 power until the end of the turn”) only affect the cards currently in play, not those played after that ability triggers.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on The Con, do Mythic Greeks minions there still get +1 power?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: After a minion is played there, whether you're the one who played it or not, will definitely trigger the base's ability. You can't ignore that part. However, you can make the minions that you control and that belong to that minion's faction immune to The Con's ability and so they won't get +1 power. On the other hand, you can't prevent other players' minions of that faction from getting the +1 power boost because you can only make your minions immune to being affected.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Pasture[]

Q: If I move a minion to another base and then a second minion to The Pasture, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be moved to there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "After the first time you move a minion to this base each turn", which happened: your second minion of the turn that was moved IS the first minion you moved to that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: There are two possible situations. If you move a minion to there, you won't move another minion because you would just ignore the base's instruction. If another player moves a minion to there, that player will have to move another minion if possible, however your minions (and only your minions) will be immune to that base's ability.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References[]