SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

This is the FAQ page for each individual base in Cease and Desist.

Questions on Changing Room

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose only the first minion there that uses its talent gets +1 power, right?

A: No, the +1 power is given to each minion there that uses its talent. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Changing Room's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If a minion with Leader of the Pack/Moontouched/Monkey on Your Back is on Changing Room, does the minion get +1 power when I use this action's talent?

A: No, Changing Room's ability only applies to the minion's talent, either an original talent or one granted by an ability-giving action. Those actions don't grant the minion an ability, their abilities are their own.

Rule: A play-on-minion action doesn't give an ability to the minion it is attached to.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions (and only your minions, not all minions) won't get +1 power after using their talents.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Hive of Scum and Villainy

Q: It only works if the action directly increases the power of "one of my minions". Does it work if it only increases the power of a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play an action that directly increases the power of one of my minions on another base and then a second action that directly increases the power of one of my minions on Hive of Scum and Villainy, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first action of the turn that must be directly affect my minion there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "After the first time each turn that you play an action that directly increases the power of one of your minions here", which happened: your second action of the turn IS the first action you played that directly increases you minion's power on that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have 10 cards in hand. I play an action that directly increases the power of a minion there so I draw a card. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I play an Argonaut while I have a Spartan/Odysseus/Heracles/etc. on Hive of Scum and Villainy. Argonaut therefore causes them to increase in power, do I then draw a card because of Hive of Scum and Villainy?

A: No. While playing Argonaut counts as if you played an action, it doesn't directly increase a minion's power. The reason why Spartan, Odysseus, Heracles, etc. have their power increased is because of their own abilities, not because of an action's ability.

Rule: Definition of "directly".

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw a card after playing an action that directly increases the power of one of your minions there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Neutral Space

Q: Can the minions there still be affected by minions played on other bases? (e.g. Flower Child, Mr. Grumpers, Snow White)

A: Sure. The ability only states that they are not affected "by other players' minions here." So that doesn't include minions on other bases.

Rule: “Here” refers to the base that the card currently occupies, or to the base itself if a base says “here”.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions there (and only your minions, not all minions) won't be protected by Neutral Space's ability.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on No-Moon™

Q: How are we supposed to determine a random base without messing around with the cards in play? We don't want to have to pick up all the other bases, memorize where each one was, then have a player randomly pick one.

A: You can just assign a number to those bases, and roll a die or use a randomization app. Use your preferred method.

Rule: N/A

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: When this base scores and if you are the current player, you can choose to ignore No-Moon™'s ability and not do any of it because it gives you an instruction. When this base scores and if you are not the current player, nothing and you can't prevent the current player from using No-Moon™'s ability. Technically, your minions on the randomly-chosen base will be immune to No-Moon™'s ability, but because the base they are on will leave play, they will be discarded anyway.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard its attachments.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Spikey Chair Room

Q: If I want to use this base's ability, do I have to destroy the minion I played?

A: No, you can destroy any minion in play that you own.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: If I want to use this base's ability, do I have to destroy a minion that I control?

A: No, you destroy a minion in play that you own, whether or not you control it.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: If I play a minion there, but it is then moved or removed from play on the same turn, can I still use this base's ability?

A: Yes, the check is on whether or not you have played a minion there, it doesn't matter if the minion doesn't stay on the base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I use this base's ability to draw a card. If I end up with more than 10 cards, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. Since Spikey Chair Room makes you draw a card during the End Turn phase and since it's not your Play Cards phase, you keep your drawn card.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) will be unable to use this base's ability. If another player uses the ability and tries to destroy a minion they own but that you control, your minion will be immune to Spikey Chair Room's ability and survive the destruction. Other than that, you won't be able to prevent other players from using Spikey Chair Room's ability.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Unicrave

Q: When this base scores, I have a titan there. Since the base leaves play, do I remove my titans?

A: Under normal circumstances, yes, but here the base tells you to "Keep all cards on it". Titans being cards, your titan remains in play and goes on the base that replaces Unicrave.

Rule: Often, card text and rules text will conflict. When there's a fight, card text wins.

Q: When this base scores, it is replaced by a base with a breakpoint higher than the total power there, do we still score it?

A: Under normal circumstances, no, but here Unicrave tells you to "keep scoring". So do just that and continue the scoring of the new base regardless of its breakpoint.

Rule: Often, card text and rules text will conflict. When there's a fight, card text wins.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: When this base scores and if you are the current player, then you won't replace Unicrave and it will be scored as it is. That's because when it scores, Unicrave instructs the current player to replace it and since you are the current player, you can choose to ignore that instruction.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on USS Undertaking

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to use its ability at the start of your turns.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Wintersquashed

Q: If I play and give control of a minion there with an on-play ability (e.g. Invader), who uses the ability?

A: You. When you play the minion, you must resolve its ability first, then you must resolve card reactions. Wintersquashed's ability is a reaction to you playing a minion on it, so its ability comes after you're done resolving your minion's ability.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only give control of the first minion I play there, right?

A: No, you may give control of your minion after each time you play one there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Wintersquashed's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Wintersquashed, can I still give control of it?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If you play a minion there, you (and only you, not all players) will be unable to give control of it to another player. If another player plays a minion there, they will be able to use the base's ability and they will even be able to give control of the minion to you! That's because when they do so, you weren't instructed to do anything by the base's ability and none of your minions were affected by the base -- the minion you were given only became your minion after being affected, so it wasn't yours when it was affected by the base.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References

Advertisement