This is the FAQ page for each individual base in the Core Set.
Questions on Cave of Shinies[]
Q: If a minion is not actually destroyed, does it count for the 1 VP bonus of Cave of Shinies (or Field of Honor)?
A: No. If the minion in question is not destroyed, the base ability doesn't even trigger for said minion in the first place.
Q: If several of my minions are destroyed on Cave Shinies because of one or more abilities, how many VPs do I gain?
A: You gain 1 VP per destroyed minion.
Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.
Q: I play a Sprout on Cave of Shinies. When it destroys itself at the start of my next turn, do I gain 1 VP?
A: Yes.
Q: I took control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. When that minion is destroyed, who gets the VP? me or the player I took it from?
A: The minion's owner gets the VP. If the minion is a monster or a treasure minion, no one gets any VP because monsters and treasures don't have owners.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: Do players get VPs for minions that get destroyed when they score the Cave of Shinies?
A: No. After a base scores, the minions there are discarded, not destroyed.
Q: If the base gets destroyed (No-Moon™, Burn it Down, There Goes Tokyo), do all minions around it still give VPs?
A: It depends. If the base alone gets destroyed (e.g. with Burn it Down), no minion is destroyed, so no VPs are granted. If the base and the minions are destroyed (e.g. There Goes Tokyo), each minion does give 1 VP to its owner. If the base and the minions are simply discarded (e.g. No-Moon™), that's not a destruction, so no VPs are granted.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. If I destroy another player's minion there, can I deny them the VP because of Infiltrate?
A: No. Infiltrate allows you to avoid following the Cave of Shinies's instructions, but it doesn't prevent the other player from following it. You also cannot ignore triggering the base's ability because that's not what Infiltrate allows you to do.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Evans City Cemetery[]
Q: I am the winner on Evans City Cemetery and I have a Scout there. Do I place the Scout in my hand and then discard my whole hand, or do I first discard my hand and place the Scout into my new hand?
A: Both Evans City and Scout are triggered by the after-scoring step, so the current player decides the order. However, in that case, it doesn't make any difference. If the current player decides that Evans City Cemetery activates first, then you discard your hand and draw a new hand, and so the Scout will end into your new hand. If the current player decides that your Scout activates first, you must immediately decide if you want to use its ability or not. If you do use it, it replaces its usual after-scoring fate of "placing it into your discard pile" with "placing it into your hand". So it's not immediately placed into your hand; that will only happen during the steps where all the cards on the base are discarded. In the meantime, Evans City Cemetery will activate and immediately make you discard your hand. Once the step where players can play/invoke after-scoring abilities is done, all cards on the base are discarded and that's when Scout is placed in your hand. So, no matter what the order is, Scout will be placed in your hand after you have discarded it.
A: Update. Evans City Cemetery's ability is mandatory while Scout's ability is optional, so Evans City Cemetery must be resolved first before you can invoke Scout's ability. Therefore, Evans City Cemetery activates first, you discard your hand and draw a new hand, and a short moment later you'll have the opportunity to invoke Scout's ability. If you do invoke it, it replaces its usual after-scoring fate of "placing it into your discard pile" with "placing it into your hand". So it's not immediately placed into your hand; that will only happen during the steps where all the cards on the base are discarded. Once the step where players can play/invoke after-scoring abilities is done, all cards on the base are discarded and that's when Scout is placed in your hand.
Q: I am the winner on Evans City Cemetery and I have Special after-scoring cards in my hand. Can I play them before discarding my whole hand?
A: No. Evans City Cemetery and the cards in your hand are indeed all cards that are triggered by the after-scoring step. However, in accordance with the Card Resolution Order, the cards in play with a mandatory ability have a priority over the Special cards in hand, so the mandatory after-scoring cards in play must all be resolved before any after-scoring cards in hand can be played (and before any optional after-scoring cards in play can be invoked). I'm sorry, but you have to discard your hand first.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. If I am the winner on that base, can I choose not to either draw or discard cards? Not discard the cards, but still draw five cards? Not draw the cards, but still discard my hand?
A: You can only choose not to do any of the base's ability. Basically, the base's ability instructs you to do two things. If you choose to ignore the ability, you don't follow any of it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Factory 436-1337[]
Q: What does 436-1337 mean?
A: It's leetspeak for "AEG-LEET".
Rule: N/A
Q: Does Factory 436-1337's ability count every 5 power from the cumulative power of minions you have, or from sets of minions? (For example, if I have a 2-power minion and two 4-power minions, do I get 1 VP or 2 VPs extra from the ability?)
A: Count cumulative power. In the example above, you have 10 power, or 2 extra VPs. Also, don't forget that some non-minion abilities also add to your total power on a base (e.g. Helping Hands, Aggromotive)
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore its ability?
A: If you're not the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from gaining their bonus VPs either. If you are, then you'll only win the 2 printed VPs.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Jungle Oasis[]
Q: Why is there no ability? Is it a printing error?
A: Nope. It's intentional.
Rule: Check Jungle Oasis's clarification.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore its ability?
A: Nothing.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Mushroom Kingdom[]
Q: Do you need to have a minion there to use this base's ability?
A: There's no such restriction, so no.
Q: Can Deep Roots be used to counter Mushroom Kingdom's ability?
A: No. Deep Roots counters other players' abilities, i.e. abilities coming from the other players' cards. A base's ability belongs to no player, so Deep Roots doesn't counter it.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. Can I prevent other players from moving my minions?
A: Yes. Infiltrate allows you to protect your minion from being affected by Mushroom Kingdom's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Ninja Dojo[]
Q: Two bases including Ninja Dojo are ready to score. The current player chooses to score Ninja Dojo first. After Ninja Dojo scores, the winner chooses to destroy a minion on the other base that was ready to score. If that brings the total power there below its breakpoint, does that base still score after Ninja Dojo?
A: No. After you're done scoring a base, you re-check if there's any bases left to score. At that point, if a previous base that was ready to score isn't anymore, then you can't score it.
Q: After this base scores, must the winner choose a minion on Ninja Dojo or can they choose a minion on any base?
A: They can choose a minion on any base.
Rule: "A minion" (or here "one minion") means "any minion in play".
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base Can I prevent the winner from destroying my minion?
A: Yes. Infiltrate allows you to protect your minion from being affected by Ninja Dojo's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore"
Questions on Rhodes Plaza Mall[]
Q: I have to count the number of minions "I have there". Do minions there that I own but don't control also count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so I "have" them, right?
A: No. "A minion you have" means "a minion you control (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.
Q: Does Rhodes Plaza Mall give VPs equal to the number of minions he or she controls on that base, or does it give VPs equal to the total number of minions on that base?
A: It gives VPs equal to the number of minions a player controls on that base.
Q: If four players have minions on the Rhodes Plaza Mall when it scores, does the player in "fourth place" still get VPs from the base's ability?
A: Yes. Actually, when the base is scored you grant the VPs written on the base to the top three players. In the case of Rhodes Plaza Mall, the winner, runner-up and third-player each get 0 VP (that's what the three big numbers are after all). Then, you resolve the when-scoring abilities of cards in play and in hand, including Rhodes Plaza Mall's ability. In the case of Rhodes Plaza Mall, each player (so including the fourth player!) gets 1 VP for each minion they control there.
Q: What happens if Jammed Signal is played on Rhodes Plaza Mall?
A: The base still scores at 24, but no player will get any VP from its ability.
Q: On Rhodes Plaza Mall, who is considered as the winner? The player who contributed the most power or the player who gained the most VPs from the base's ability? Especially for abilities that depend on winning the base. (e.g. Buffet, Happily Ever After)
A: The winner is still the one who contributed the most power toward breaking the base, and yes, it's entirely possible for the winner not to be the player who gained the most VPs from Rhodes Plaza Mall's ability. For example, if they helped break the base with just a few high-power minions, while another player didn't contribute a lot, but had many low-power minions.
Rule: The player with the most power on a base is the winner.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore its ability?
A: You will only score 0 VP. Note that only you will ignore the base's ability; Infiltrate doesn't allow you to make other players ignore it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on School of Wizardry[]
Q: If there's a tie for winner when the School of Wizardry is scored, who gets to pick the next base?
A: All the players in the winner position get the reward and resolve it in clockwise order from the current player. However, once the first player resolves it, the next base would have already been chosen and the next players can't choose another base because one has already been chosen, and according to the clarification, the remaining players can't look at the top three bases from the base deck either.
Q: Time is Fleeting lets you choose a new base from the discard pile. School of Wizardry lets the winner choose the next base. Which one takes precedence?
A: The current player decides which method will be used to choose the next base. That method will be the one that will take precedence and the other is ignored.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore its ability?
A: If you're not the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from choosing the next base either. If you're the winner, you can choose not to follow any of School of Wizardry's instructions and so the base will be replaced as normal.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Tar Pits[]
Q: If I have Escape Hatch or Grave Situation on Tar Pits, where do my minions go when they are destroyed?
A: All three abilities are triggered at the same time, so the current player decides the order. However, the order here doesn't matter. If the current player decides that Tar Pits is activated first, then the minion is immediately placed under your deck. Then, Escape Hatch or Grave Situation won't have any minion to place in your hand, so their abilities are wasted. If the player decides that either Escape Hatch or Grave Situation are activated first, the minion isn't immediately placed in your hand, rather, its usual fate of being "placed it in the discard pile" is replaced with "place it into your hand", meaning that if the minion is about to go the discard pile, it will be placed into your hand instead. Next, you must activate Tar Pits, which immediately places the minion under your deck. Since it didn't go into your discard pile, Escape Hatch and Grave Situation have no effect.
A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box clarifies how Escape Hatch and Grave Situation work. Despite both their wordings, the minion is actually not destroyed when Grave Situation's or Escape Hatch's ability occurs. So Grave Situation and Escape Hatch save their minion from destruction by placing it into your hand and Tar Pits is not triggered because the minion was not actually destroyed.
Rule: Check Grave Situation's clarification.
Q: If I have a Buccaneer on Tar Pits, what happens if he is targeted for destruction?
A: He uses his ability to move to another base. Tar Pits's ability doesn't trigger, because there is never a point in time "after" the minion is destroyed.
Q: The House of Nine Lives and Tar Pits are in play. If a minion on Tar Pits is chosen for destruction, is it moved to The House of Nine Lives or placed on the bottom of its owner's deck?
A: The House of Nine Lives is triggered first because the minion "would be destroyed". So the minion's owner decides if they want to use The House of Nine Lives's ability or not. If they want to, the minion is moved there and Tar Pits isn't triggered because the minion wasn't destroyed after all. If they want to ignore The House of Nine Lives, then the destruction is applied and if it succeeds, Tar Pits is triggered and the minion is automatically placed on the bottom of its owner's deck.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. I destroy a minion there, can I choose not to place it on the bottom of its owner's deck? Conversely, if a minion I own there is destroyed, can I choose for it not to be placed on the bottom of my deck?
A: Short answer: it depends (most likely no) and yes. Long answer: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarified this base's ability, which now must be understood as "its owner places it on the bottom of its deck". So when a minion is destroyed there, the base's ability instructs its owner to do the placing. For your first question, you can't ignore triggering the base's ability, so then, there are three situations:
- If you're the minion's controller and not necessarily its owner, you can prevent it from being affected by the base's ability.
- If you're the minion's owner and not necessarily its controller, you can choose not to follow the base's instruction.
- If you're neither the minion's controller nor its owner, you can't prevent the minion from being placed on the bottom of its owner's deck.
For your second question, you can definitely choose not to place it on the bottom of your deck as, because you are the owner, the base's ability instructs you to place it on the bottom of your deck, instruction that you can ignore.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Temple of Goju[]
Q: Is it only the printed power that matters when determining the highest power minion or do bonuses apply?
A: To determine a minion's power, you must take into account all the modifiers.
Q: My highest power minion there is a First Mate. After this base scores, is it placed under my deck or moved to another base?
A: First of all, both First Mate and Temple of Goju are triggered during the after-scoring step, so the current player chooses in which order they are resolved. However, the outcome will be the same. If they decide that Temple of Goju is activated first, First Mate is immediately placed on the bottom of your deck and First Mate can no longer be activated because it is not in play anymore. If they decide that First Mate is activated first, First Mate's controller (you) has to decide if they want to use its ability or not (as it's a "you may" ability). If you don't want to use it, then Temple of Goju is activated next and First Mate is placed under your deck. If you want to use First Mate's ability, it isn't moved immediately because its ability is a "Do X instead of placing it in the discard pile" ability, which means that if First Mate is to be discarded (i.e. during the step where all cards on the base are discarded), it will be moved to another base instead. So First Mate is "programmed" to move to another base during the "discard all cards" step. Next, the current player must choose to activate Tar Pits and your First Mate is immediately placed under your deck despite having been programmed to move later on.
Q: If more than one of a player's minions are tied for "highest power" when it scores, what happens?
A: That player chooses one of those minions and that's the one that will be placed on the bottom of their deck.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: For each minion there that you control and whether or not you own them: They won't be affected by Temple of Goju's ability. For each minion there that you own and whether or not you control them: You won't place them on the bottom of your deck because you won't have to follow the instructions of Temple of Goju's ability. Note that The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarified Temple of Goju's ability and that despite the wording, it's the owners who place the minions.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Central Brain[]
Q: A Cub Scout is on The Central Brain and has therefore 4 power. I move a power-3 minion there. Is it destroyed by the Cub Scout?
A: No. Cub Scout's ability is only resolved after the move has been completed. The Central Brain is active as soon as a minion is present, so it gives the minion +1 power before Cub Scout is activated, so the minion survives.
Q: I play Zombie Lord. Can an extra power-2 minion be played on a base where it would get +1 power and therefore actually be a power-3 minion? (e.g. The Central Brain)
A: Yes. Playing a minion of power 2 or less means playing a minion while its printed power is 2 or less.
Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: Your minions (and only your minions, not all players' minions) won't get +1 power because they won't be affected by The Central Brain.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Great Library[]
Q: After this base scores, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?
A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this scored on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw a card from The Great Library's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Grey Opal[]
Q: What happens after The Grey Opal scores while Entangled is in effect? Whether Entangled is on the base or another, and whether the player who played Entangled is the winner or not.
A: While activated during the after-scoring step, The Grey Opal's ability is eventually resolved during the step where all the cards on the base are discarded. So if all the cards are discarded, Entangled stops working and all players other than the winner can move a minion.[1]
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: If you are the winner, nothing; you won't be able to move one of your minions away, nor prevent the other players from doing so. If you are not the winner, you (and only you) won't move any of your minions.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Homeworld[]
Q: Does The Homeworld let me play all the power 2 minions from my hand in one turn?
A: Yes. Each one allows you to play an extra one.
Q: Do I have to play the extra minion on The Homeworld?
A: No, you can play it on any base. If you play it on The Homeworld, you trigger its ability again and get an extra minion play. If you play it on another base, you don't get an extra minion from The Homeworld.
Q: Can I use the extra minion plays from The Homeworld to play a War Raptor?
A: Yes. Even though the War Raptor becomes power 3+ once it arrives on the base, she is power 2 in your hand. Refer to Playing Minions for more discussion.
Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.
Q: Before The Homeworld scores, I play a Shinobi as a Special there. Do I get an extra minion to play?
A: Yes. And because it's outside of your Play Cards phase, you have to play it immediately or not at all.
Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.
Q: A minion is played on The Homeworld. If that minion play is interrupted by Control Minion, who gets the extra minion play?
A: The owner of the minion, no matter who played or got control of the minion.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: I play a minion on The Homeworld, and I have fewer than two cards in hand, can I play Spectre from my discard pile?
A: It's been officially confirmed that while the card says "any time", Spectre must still fit the requirements to play the minion, so with The Homeworld, you cannot play Spectre as the extra minion, because the minion you play must be of power 2 or less.[2]
Rule: Check Spectre's clarifiction.
Q: On my turn, if there is an enemy Leprechaun on The Homeworld, can I play 3 War Raptors at once to keep them from dying?
A: No. The Leprechaun's on-play reaction kicks in after each minion play before you're allowed to play any extra minions. In more details, after you play your first War Raptor, it triggers two abilities, the Leprechaun's and The Homeworld's. According to the Card Resolution Order, since these two abilities are activated at the same time, they must both be resolved and it's the current player who decides the order (in that case, it's you). However, it doesn't matter. If you decide that the Leprechaun is resolved first, then your War Raptor dies, but you still gain an extra minion play from The Homeworld. If you decide that The Homeworld is resolved first, then you gain an extra minion play, but it is actually "banked" and not played immediately, that's how you resolve this. Once The Homeworld's ability is resolved, then you must resolve Leprechaun's ability next, before you're able to do anything. So the War Raptor dies.
A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now says that any extra card can be played immediately. As such, the answer is now yes. Let's break it down. After you play your first War Raptor, it triggers two abilities, the Leprechaun's and The Homeworld's. According to the Card Resolution Order, since these two abilities are activated at the same time, they must both be resolved and it's the current player who decides the order (in that case, it's you). If you decide that the Leprechaun is resolved first, then your War Raptor dies, but you still gain an extra minion play from The Homeworld. If you decide that The Homeworld is resolved first, then you gain an extra minion play that you can choose to play immediately. If you do play it immediately, then Leprechaun's resolution for the first War Raptor is put on hold while you're playing your second War Raptor. Playing this second War Raptor also triggers the Leprechaun's ability and The Homeworld's ability, and once again, if you choose to resolve The Homeworld's ability first, you can play your third War Raptor immediately, which will again put Leprechaun's resolution for the second War Raptor on hold. Once you've stopped using The Homeworld's ability, then you must finish resolving any card's ability that are waiting to be resolved, i.e. Leprechaun's ability for each of the three War Raptors, but at that moment, all three War Raptors will be at power 5 and therefore outside Leprechaun's destruction range.
A: UPDATE. The Smash Up: Marvel rulebook now says that mandatory abilities must all be resolved first, and then optional abilities can be played/invoked on a round-the-table basis. As such, the answer is now no. Let's break it down. After you play your first War Raptor, it triggers two abilities, the Leprechaun's and The Homeworld's. According to the Card Resolution Order, since Leprechaun's ability is mandatory and The Homeworld's isn't, Leprechaun's ability must be resolved first, and so your War Raptor dies, but you still gain an extra minion play from The Homeworld.
Q: There is an enemy Leprechaun on The Homeworld and I have a War Raptor there. Before the base scores, I manage to play a War Raptor there (e.g. Hidden Ninja), can I play a third War Raptor there and not have any of them die?
A: Yes, there is a way, but it depends on the current player's good will. Let's break this up. When you play the War Raptor there before the base scores, both your War Raptors become power 4, not enough to survive Leprechaun's ability. However, playing that War Raptor there triggers two abilities, the Leprechaun's and The Homeworld's. According to the Card Resolution Order, since these two abilities are activated at the same time, they must both be resolved and it's the current player who decides the order. Obviously, if the current player decides that the Leprechaun goes first, then the War Raptor you just played is destroyed, but you will still gain an extra minion play of power 2 or less. On the other hand, if the current player decides that The Homeworld goes first, you gain an extra minion play and because it's outside your Play Cards phase, the minion play must be played immediately or not all. So you can immediately play a third War Raptor there before the Leprechaun's ability is even resolved, making all your War Raptors there power 5, enough to survive.
A: UPDATE. The Smash Up: Marvel rulebook now says that mandatory abilities must all be resolved first, and then optional abilities can be played/invoked on a round-the-table basis. As such, the answer is now no. Let's break it down. After you play your first War Raptor, it triggers two abilities, the Leprechaun's and The Homeworld's. According to the Card Resolution Order, since Leprechaun's ability is mandatory and The Homeworld's isn't, Leprechaun's ability must be resolved first, and so your War Raptor dies, but you still gain an extra minion play from The Homeworld.
Q: I obtained another player's minion through Trade. If I play it on The Homeworld, who gets the extra minion?
A: The minion's owner, so not you if you don't own the minion.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on The Homeworld, do I still get the extra minion play?
A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: There are three possible situations:
- If you play a minion there that you own, you don't get an extra minion to play.
- If you play a minion there that you don't own, its owner gets an extra minion to play since you can't prevent another player from following the base's instruction and you can't ignore having triggered the base's ability.
- If another player plays a minion there that you own, you don't get an extra minion to play.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Mothership[]
Q: If I'm the winner of The Mothership, do I have to choose a minion on The Mothership to return to my hand?
A: It says "the winner may", so you don't have to, but if you do, the minion has to come from The Mothership.
Q: It tells me to return "one of my minions". Can I return a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?
A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I already have 10 cards in hand. After this base scored, I am the winner, return one of my minions to my hand and end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?
A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this scored on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: If you aren't the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from returning one of their minions, whether or not you own the minion by the way. If you are the winner, then you won't return one of your minions to your hand.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Tortuga[]
Q: Which minions can I move with Tortuga's ability?
A: Minions on other bases, not on Tortuga. The reason is the base that replaces Tortuga only appears after Tortuga and all cards on it are discarded. So when the base appears, only the minions on the other bases are still present and available to be moved.
Rule: Check phase 3.
Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?
A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: If you aren't the runner-up, nothing and you can't prevent the runner up from moving one of their minions either. If you are the runner up, you won't move any of your minions.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".