SmashUp Wiki

This is the FAQ page for each individual base in Excellent Movies, Dudes!.

Questions on Alternate Present[]

Q: If I place stasis counters on Sidelined Girlfriend, Future Almanac?, etc. from my hand, do I still solve their on-play ability and place more stasis counters on them? Stasis rules say their abilities don't work "unless they refer to stasis", which their on-play abilities do.

A: No, on-play abilities are only resolved when their cards are played. You're only placing those cards into stasis, which is not playing them despite those cards actually ending up being in play. The rule about abilities in stasis not working unless they refer to stasis only apply to Special abilities.

Rule: An on-play ability happens when you play its card.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action there, may I still use this base's ability?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't get to place a card in stasis after playing a minion there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Ancient Crashed Ship[]

Q: What does "from anywhere except your hand" mean?

A: It means if the minion you're playing doesn't come from your hand. This includes (but is not limited to) minions played from your deck (e.g. with Hoverbot or The Hatching), from your discard pile (e.g. Tenacious Z), from stasis, from another player's hand/deck/discard pile (e.g. with Collecting Stories, Raiding Party, Street Rat), from under a card (e.g. with Demon Dogs), by uncovering it, or from the monster deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action there (from anywhere except the hand), may I still use this base's ability?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't place a +1 power counter on a minion you play there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Brood Hive[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't get to play your extra minion.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Building Rooftop[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to reduce this base's breakpoint on your turn, and you (and only you, not all players) won't gain the extra 1 VP if you qualify.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Jungle Camp[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players, nor other base winners) won't be able to return one of your minions if you're the winner.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Rooftop Portal[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to draw a card after you destroy a card there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Time-Traveling Car[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players, nor other base winners) won't be able to place a card there in stasis if you're the winner.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Wraithrustlers HQ[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players, nor other base winners) won't be able to play an extra card on your next turn if you were the winner.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References[]