SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

This is the FAQ page for each individual base in Oops, You Did It Again.

Questions on Drakkar

Q: If I reveal a minion of power 4 or more, or if I choose not to place the card in my hand, what happens?

A: It is returned to the top of the deck it was revealed from.

Rule: If not specified, cards that are merely revealed or looked at return to where they came from.

Rule: Check Secret Volcano Headquarters's clarification, which specifies what should happen to revealed cards that aren't used.

Q: If I reveal a card owned by a different player than the deck it is revealed from, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion of power 3 or less or an action, and you choose to place it into your hand, it goes to your hand, exactly as written.
- Otherwise, it goes to the top of the deck it was revealed from, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: I will almost always reveal a card I don't own. Can I really place the card into my hand? Isn't there a rule about cards going to their owners? Doesn't that rule make Drakkar useless since the card will just go into its owner's hand?

A: Short answer: You can place it in your hand, not its owner's hand. Long answer: That rule about cards going to their owners should actually be seen more leniently. It makes more sense if that rule only applies in cases where an ability normally allows you relocate "your cards" (and only your cards) between your hand, your deck, your discard pile and the play area. Normally, you own the cards you control or have in hand or deck, but certain abilities allow you to get cards owned by other players (e.g. Mass Enchantment, Muffin, Trade). If you use an ability that allows you to normally relocate "your cards" and apply it to cards you don't own, the rule about cards going to their owners kicks in and changes where the card goes. Drakkar isn't a card that's limited to relocating "your cards" and so the rule about cards going to owners doesn't apply to it.

Rule: If an ability makes any card or another player's card go to either your hand or your deck, then the ability allows stealing and so circumvents the rule about cards going to their owners.

Q: If I play a minion on another base and then a second minion on Drakkar, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be played there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "The first time each turn a player plays a minion here", which happened: your second minion of the turn IS the first minion you played on that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I use this base's ability and (somehow) end with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I reveal Tail Smash or Wade Through the Buildings. Can I steal them or are they considered as actions of power 4 and therefore unstealable?

A: You can steal them. The restriction of "power 3 or less" only applies to minions, note the use of commas. Also, while they are called "Actions with power", those actions don't technically have any power, they just provide power to their controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: There are three possible situations:
- If you played the minion, you cannot reveal any card from other players' decks since the base's ability instructs you to do something, which you can ignore.
- If another player plays a minion there and if they choose to reveal a card from any deck that's not yours, they may place it into their hand if it's an action or a minion of power 3 or less since you can't prevent another player from following the base's instruction.
- If another player plays a minion there and if they choose to reveal a card from your deck, it's not clear whether you can declare that they can't reveal your card and, if they can, whether they can place it into their hand, because you're not the player who's following the instructions and it's not clear if the base's ability is affecting your cards since they are out of play. To be determined. TBD[probably]

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Longhouse

Q: If Huscarl is on Longhouse, can I place just one card on top of my deck to give Huscarl +4 power? +2 from Huscarl's ability and +2 from Longhouse's ability?

A: No. If you place a card on top of your deck using Huscarl's ability, you only get its benefit (+2 power). If you place a card on top of your deck using Longhouse's ability, you only get its benefit (+2 power). For you to get both benefits, you must use both abilities, and so you have to place one card through Huscarl's ability and place one more card through Longhouse's ability. The same reasoning applies to Raider and Berserk.

Rule: When one card makes you do X and you happen to have another card that says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you cannot have that same X count for that other card.

Q: Can I use this base's ability multiple times in one turn?

A: No. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now restricts all "on your turn" abilities to a single use on each of your turns.

Rule: Each "on your turn" ability can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to place a card from your hand on top of your deck and therefore you won't be able to boost the power of one of your minions there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Pyramids

Q: I use its ability to bury a card from my hand. Do I have to reveal what it is?

A: No. When bury a card, you don't show what it is. The only situation where you must reveal it is when you play a card that tells you to bury the card itself, because burying happens when you play and resolve its ability like any normal card and so the card can be seen by anyone until you resolve the part that says to bury the card. This situation won't happen when using Pyramids's ability.

Rule: When you bury a card, you don’t show it to others unless the card itself instructed you to bury it.

Q: Can I use this base's ability multiple times in one turn?

A: No. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now restricts all "on your turn" abilities to a single use on each of your turns.

Rule: Each "on your turn" ability can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: I have [[Infiltrate] on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to bury a card from your hand to there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Sakura Garden

Q: I draw a card because of this base's ability and end with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if this happens on another player's turn, you keep all your cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Does its ability applies when one of my minions there is destroyed? When the base scores?

A: Yes, your minion will go to your discard pile in both cases.

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: If several of my minions go to the discard pile at the same time the first time it happens, do I draw one card or one per minion?

A: Only one card. You only draw a card for one of the discarded minions.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: If one of my minions on another base goes to the discard pile and then a second of my minions on Sakura Garden goes to the discard pile, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must go to the discard pile from there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "the first time one of your minions here goes to the discard pile", which happened: your second discarded minion of the turn IS the first minion that goes to the discard pile from that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a minion I own but don't control there goes to the discard pile, do I draw a card? I "own" it so it's "one of my minions" after all, right? Also, it goes in my discard pile as well.

A: No, you don't draw any card, only that minion's controller does. Also, you may own it, but it's not "one of your minions"; "your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If an ability allows me to put my minion somewhere else (e.g. moved to another base instead of the discard pile, placed in my hand instead of the discard pile, placed in my deck instead of the discard pile), do I still draw a card?

A: No, for you to draw a card, the minion must go into your discard pile. In each of your examples, your minion goes anywhere instead of going to the discard pile, exactly as written. So your minion never went to the discard pile.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: If I have a Jumper on that base and it goes to the discard pile, can I choose to place it in my hand and draw a card?

A: Yes, and the reason is Jumper does go to your discard pile before being placed in your hand; its ability only triggers when it does go into the discard pile after. It's not placed into your hand "instead of the discard pile"!

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw any card after one of your minions there is discarded.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Saloon

Q: I draw a card because of this base's ability and end with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if this happens on another player's turn, you keep all your cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose players only draw a card after the first minion destruction there, right?

A: No, players with minions there draw a card after each time a minion there is destroyed. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Saloon's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If the destroyed minion was mine, do I also draw a card?

A: It depends. If you still have another minion on that base after the destruction, you are allowed to draw a card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't any card even if you have a minion there. Furthermore, if you're the one who destroyed the minion, you can't ignore having triggered the base, so it will resolve and all players with a minion there, except you of course, will be able to draw a card.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Shogun’s Palace

Q: I start a duel with Shogun’s Palace. I don't see it anywhere on the card but I suppose the losing minion is destroyed just like all other duel cards, righ?

A: No, Shogun’s Palace doesn't end in any minion's destruction. When dueling, check the card that started the duel. That card will actually say what happens at the end of the duel. And no, a duel doesn't necessarily mean that the losing minion will be destroyed. If it's the case, the card will actually say it. If it doesn't say it, then it's not the case.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I draw two cards because of this base's ability and end with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if this happens on another player's turn, you keep all your cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only start a duel after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you may start a duel after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Shogun’s Palace's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I have a minion there. I play an action that starts a duel with that minion (e.g. High Noon, Honorable Combat). Does the controller of the winning the duel get both rewards from my action and Shogun’s Palace?

A: No, you only get the reward (or punishment) from the card that initiated the duel. In your scenario, the duel was initiated by your action, not Shogun’s Palace.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Q: I play Gunfighter there and start a duel with Gunfighter's ability, does the controller of the winning minion also draw two cards from Shogun’s Palace?

A: No, you only get the reward (or punishment) from the card that initiated the duel. In your scenario, the duel was initiated by Gunfighter, not Shogun’s Palace. Although, after resolving Gunfighter's duel, you can start a second duel by invoking Shogun’s Palace's ability; it was triggered by you playing a minion there after all.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Q: About the previous question, the rules say "Two duels may not happen at the same time", so you actually can't start a duel with Shogun’s Palace if Gunfighter starts a duel with its ability, can you?

A: Yes, you can; the duels don't happen at the same time. According to the Card Resolution Order, you must resolve Gunfighter's duel before you can start Shogun’s Palace's duel. So Gunfighter's duel is actually over before Shogun’s Palace's duel can start.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I play Critter Coach with its extra minion there. Which minion starts a duel? If it's both minions I suppose the current player decides the order, right? Or is it an actual case of two duels happening at the same time and so only one duel can happen?

A: You can do both duels and the order is actually the extra minion and then Critter Coach because you resolve card reactions (in that case Shogun’s Palace's ability) in reverse order.

Rule: Check Shogun’s Palace's clarification.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: There are three possible situations:
- If you play a minion there, you cannot start any duel since the base's ability instructs you to do something, which you can ignore.
- If another player plays a minion there and if they choose to duel a minion there that's not yours, they can duel without any problem since you can't prevent another player from following the base's instruction.
- If another player plays a minion there and if they choose to duel one of your minions, you cannot prevent the duel from happening, however, you (and only you) won't be able to play any dueling card since that's part of the base's duelling instruction, which you chose to ignore. At the end of the duel, if your minion loses, you can't prevent the other player from drawing the cards. On the other end, if your minion wins somehow, you won't draw any cards because you chose to ignore the base's abilities.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on So-So Corral

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only start a duel after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you may start a duel after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". So-So Corral's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I have a minion there. I play an action that starts a duel with that minion (e.g. High Noon, Honorable Combat). Does the controller of the winning the duel get both rewards from my action and So-So Corral?

A: No, you only get the reward (or punishment) from the card that initiated the duel. In your scenario, the duel was initiated by your action, not So-So Corral.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Q: I play Gunfighter there and start a duel with Gunfighter's ability, does the controller of the winning minion get two attempts at destroying the losing minion? It could be important if the first attempt was thwarted by another card, e.g. Drone.

A: No, you only get the reward (or punishment) from the card that initiated the duel. In your scenario, the duel was initiated by Gunfighter, not So-So Corral. Although, after resolving Gunfighter's duel, you can start a second duel by invoking So-So Corral's ability; it was triggered by you playing a minion there after all.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Q: About the previous question, the rules say "Two duels may not happen at the same time", so you actually can't start a duel with So-So Corral if Gunfighter starts a duel with its ability, can you?

A: Yes, you can; the duels don't happen at the same time. According to the Card Resolution Order, you must resolve Gunfighter's duel before you can start So-So Corral's duel. So Gunfighter's duel is actually over before So-So Corral's duel can start.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I play Critter Coach with its extra minion there. Which minion starts a duel? If it's both minions, I suppose the current player decides the order, right? Or is it an actual case of two duels happening at the same time and so only one duel can happen?

A: You can do both duels and the order is actually the extra minion and then Critter Coach because you resolve card reactions (in that case So-So Corral's ability) in reverse order.

Rule: Check So-So Corral's clarification.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: There are three possible situations:
- If you play a minion there, you cannot start any duel since the base's ability instructs you to do something, which you can ignore.
- If another player plays a minion there and if they choose to duel a minion there that's not yours, they can duel without any problem since you can't prevent another player from following the base's instruction.
- If another player plays a minion there and if they choose to duel one of your minions, you cannot prevent the duel from happening, however, you (and only you) won't be able to play any dueling card since that's part of the base's duelling instruction, which you chose to ignore. At the end of the duel, if your minion loses, it won't be destroyed because ignoring the base's abilities made it unaffected to the base's destruction. On the other end, if your minion wins somehow, you won't be able to destroy the losing minion since you chose to ignore the base's instructions.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Star Portal

Q: I have a standard action buried on that base. If I uncover it, does it count as playing an action on that base?

A: No, it's still a standard action, which by definition isn't played on any card.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I only draw a card after playing my first action there or burying my first card there, right?

A: No, you draw a card after each time you play an action there or bury a card there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first action". Star Portal's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to draw any card after you bury a card there or play an action on that base.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References

Advertisement