This is the FAQ page for each individual base in Smash Up: Disney Edition.
Questions on Agrabah Bazaar[]
Q: If Agrabah Bazaar is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Minn-Erva, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Minn-Erva is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Agrabah Bazaar's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Big Hero 6, Mulan)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This can place a +1 power counter on my "characters". So I can only place it on "character" cards, not "minion" cards, correct?
A: Wrong, you can place it on "character" and/or "minion" cards without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: It tells me to place +1 power counters on "my characters". Can I place them on characters that I own but don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" characters, right?
A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to discard a card with this base's ability and you won't be able to place +1 power counters on your characters as a result. You cannot even choose to ignore one effect and not the other; if you choose to ignore this base's ability, you ignore all of it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Arendelle[]
Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?
A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.
Q: I play a character there and (somehow) end with more than ten cards. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or do I stop drawing once I have exactly ten cards?
A: You draw cards normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This triggers after I play a "character" there. So it only triggers after I play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, it triggers after you play a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to look at the top two cards of your deck and you won't be able to draw one and discard the other as a result. You cannot even choose to ignore one effect and not the rest; if you choose to ignore this base's ability, you ignore all of it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Enchanted Castle[]
Q: If Enchanted Castle is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Minn-Erva, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Minn-Erva is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Enchanted Castle's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Big Hero 6, Mulan)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This can place a +1 power counter on one of my "characters". So I can only place it on a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, you can place it on a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: It tells me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my characters". Can I place it on a character that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it is "my" character, right?
A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to place a +1 power counter on your character because of this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Forbidden City[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This triggers after I play a "character" there. So it only triggers after I play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, it triggers after you play a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to get an extra action play because of this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Gaston’s Tavern[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: I can play an extra "character". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as an extra character without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to discard a card as a result of this card's ability and you won't be able to play an extra character there as a result.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Halloween Town[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This allows players to retrieve modifiers on "characters" there. So it only applies to modifiers on "character" cards, not on "minion" cards, correct?
A: Wrong, it applies to any modifiers on "character" or "minion" cards without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: This allows me to retrieve "modifiers" on characters so it cannot be used to retrieve actions that say "Play on a minion/one of your minions", correct?
A: Wrong, "Character modifier" and "Play on a minion/one of your minions" are two synonymous phrases.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to shuffle your modifiers on characters there into their owner's decks. You can't prevent the other players from doing it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Ice Palace[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This protects "characters" there. So it only protects "character" cards, not "minion" cards, correct?
A: Wrong, it protects "character" and/or "minion" cards without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: Your minions there (and only your minions , not all minions) won't be protected by Ice Palace's ability anymore.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Jungle Paradise[]
Q: If Jungle Paradise is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Minn-Erva, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Minn-Erva is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Jungle Paradise's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Big Hero 6, Mulan)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This can place a +1 power counter on a "character" I play there and only if I have a "character" of power 4 or more in my discard pile. So these only apply to "character" cards, not "minion" cards, correct?
A: Wrong, these apply to "character" and/or "minion" cards without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to place a +1 power counter on your played character with this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Krei Tech[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This allows me to move one of my "characters". So it can only move a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, it can move a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: It allows me to move "one of my characters". Can I move a character that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it is "my" character, right?
A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to move your characters with this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Pride Rock[]
Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?
A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.
Q: After this base scores, I'm allowed to retrieve a character and add it to my hand, but I already have ten cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or am I prevented from doing so since I have exactly ten cards?
A: You add the character to your hand normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase either). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This allows me to retrieve one of my "characters". So I can only retrieve a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, you can retrieve a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: If you aren't the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from retrieving one of their minions, whether or not you own the minion by the way. If you are the winner, then you won't retrieve one of your minions.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on SFIT Robotics Lab[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This boosts "characters". So it can only boost "character" cards, not "minion" cards, correct?
A: Wrong, this boosts "character" and "minion" cards without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: Your minions there (and only your minions , not all minions) won't get an additional +1 power from SFIT Robotics Lab's ability anymore.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Spiral Hill[]
Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?
A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.
Q: After this base scores, I'm allowed to retrieve a character modifier and add it to my hand, but I already have ten cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or am I prevented from doing so since I have exactly ten cards?
A: You add the character modifier to your hand normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase either). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: I need to have a "character" there to use its ability. So I need to have a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, this works if you have a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: This allows me to retrieve a "character modifiers" so it cannot be used to retrieve an action that says "Play on a minion/one of your minions", correct?
A: Wrong, "Character modifier" and "Play on a minion/one of your minions" are two synonymous phrases.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to retrieve a character modifier with this base's ability. You can't prevent the other players from doing it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Sultan’s Palace[]
Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?
A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.
Q: I play a character there and (somehow) end with more than ten cards. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or do I stop drawing once I have exactly ten cards?
A: You draw cards normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This triggers after I play a "character" there. So it only triggers after I play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, it triggers after you play a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to draw a card with this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Dump[]
Q: Is there a limit to the number of cards in my hand?
A: Yes, the rules of the Smash Up: Disney Edition set are actually missing it, but there is a limit of ten cards though only during your Draw 2 Cards phase, which is when you draw two cards before the end of your turn. At any other time, you can have more than ten cards in hand and it is fine. You'll just wait until your next Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to ten.
Q: After this base scores, I'm allowed to retrieve a base modifier and add it to my hand, but I already have ten cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or am I prevented from doing so since I have exactly ten cards?
A: You add the base modifier to your hand normally, disregarding the limit. You don't discard any card until your Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase either). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This interacts with "base modifiers" so it cannot be used in conjunction with actions that say "Play on a base", correct?
A: Wrong, "Base modifier" and "Play on a base" are two synonymous phrases.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: Your base modifiers (and only yours, not all base modifiers) won't get moved to there if they were about to be discarded. And when this base scores, you (and only you, not all players) won't be able to retrieve a base modifier with this base's ability. You can't prevent the other players from doing it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Power Strip[]
Q:
A:
Rule:
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This allows me to move one of my "characters". So it can only move a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, it can move a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: It allows me to move "one of my characters". Can I move a character that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it is "my" character, right?
A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to move your characters with this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Training Camp[]
Q: If Training Camp is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Minn-Erva, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Minn-Erva is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Training Camp's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Big Hero 6, Mulan)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.
With AEG's Smash Up sets[]
Q: This can place a +1 power counter on one of my "characters". So I can only place it on a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?
A: Wrong, you can place it on a "character" or "minion" card without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.
Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.
Q: It tells me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my characters". Can I place it on a character that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it is "my" character, right?
A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to place a +1 power counter on one of your characters with this base's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".