SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

This is the FAQ page for each individual base in Smash Up: Munchkin.

Questions on Bastion

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only draw a treasure after destroying my first monster there, right?

A: No, you may draw a treasure card after each time you destroy a monster there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Bastion's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: What happens if I play Ruckus to destroy all monsters on Bastion?

A: You don't get any treasures, not even the ones from Bastion's ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have 10 cards in hand. I have Big Hero there and use its talent to destroy a monster. I end with more than 10 cards, so do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw a treasure card after you destroy a monster there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Birthday Party

Q: I need to "have a minion" there. Is it enough if there is just a minion there that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "If you have a minion" means "if you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: If I can't play a minion there (e.g. Block the Path, Bear Picnic), can I then ignore Birthday Party's restriction and play it on another base?

A: No. You must respect all the restrictions, even if you can't play any minions as a result of it.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) are able to play minions on other bases despite not having a minion on Birthday Party.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Dimension Doors

Q: When this base appears, the current player plays as many monsters as the monster number of the base. Do the monsters trigger the base's ability?

A: When played as part of the base coming into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters (even though a Web Troll's ability is activated), so it doesn't activate the base's ability.

Rule: When a Munchkin base comes into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters.

Q: If I play a minion on another base and then a second minion on Dimension Doors, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be played there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "after the first time you play a minion here", which happened: your second minion of the turn IS the first minion you played on that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I haven't played any minions yet. If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Dimension Doors, can I still discard a card to play an extra minion there?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to use this base's ability after the first minion you play there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Garrison

Q: If the total power there is 22 or more when it scores, do the top three players gain just 1 VP instead of their reward?

A: No. They each gain 1 additional VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. Can I prevent the top three players from getting one additional VP when this base scores?

A: No, when you ignore the base's ability, only you won't gain the additional 1 VP if you're among the top three total power there. That's because the base instructs several players to do something (gain 1 VP), but if you ignore doing it, it doesn't make other players ignore it as well.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Helper’s Hollow

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability? Can I prevent other players' minion there from getting +1 power on my turn?

A: No, when you choose to ignore Helper's Hollow's ability, it only makes your minions unaffectable by it, which means that your minions there can't get +1 power during other players' turns. Infiltrate does nothing to other players' minions there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Hotel of Holiness

Q: After Hotel of Holiness scores, who decides the order of cards on top of players' decks?

A: The Current Player, since the ability doesn't specify anyone else.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies how Temple of Goju works. While the bases each have a different ability, they are quite close in their intention, so it's entirely possible that Hotel of Holiness works the same way as Temple of Goju and that it's each owner that places the minions in the order they want. This would also make this base's ability much simpler.

Rule: Check Temple of Goju's clarification.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Minions there that you own (and not necessarily control) and minions there that you control (and not necessarily own) aren't placed on the top of your deck because you can both ignore the base's instruction to you and make the minions you control unaffected by the base's ability. Other than those minions, all the others are to be placed on the top of their owners' decks.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Mage’s Tower

Q: When this base appears, the current player plays as many monsters as the monster number of the base. Do the monsters trigger the base's ability?

A: When played as part of the base coming into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters (even though a Web Troll's ability is activated), so it doesn't activate the base's ability.

Rule: When a Munchkin base comes into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only draw a card after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you may draw a card after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Mage’s Tower's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I already have 10 cards in hand. I play a Tenacious Z there from my discard pile as a Special and therefore draw a card, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Mage's Tower, do I still draw a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw a card after you play a minion there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Subterranean Lair

Q: Can I use Subterranean Lair's ability multiple times in one turn?

A: Yes, as long as the extra minion you played on Subterranean Lair before isn't there anymore, and it's still Phase 2.

A: UPDATE. Not anymore. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now restricts all "on your turn" abilities to a single use on each of your turns.

Rule: Each "on your turn" ability can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: I can play an extra minion if I have no minions there. If there's a minion that I own but don't control, am I prevented from playing the extra minion? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "If you have no minions" means "if you don't control any minions (whether or not you own them)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: If I have no minions on that base. Can I first play my extra minion there and then my regular minion anywhere? Iincluding there?

A: Yes, absolutely. You can play extra cards before playing any of your regular ones.

Rule: During your Play Cards phase, you can play extra minions and actions at any time or not at all.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't get an extra minion play from Subterranean Lair.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Coffers

Q: I already have 10 cards in hand when this base scores. I have a minion there and therefore draw a treasure card, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this scored on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: When this base scores, if you have a minion there, you (and only you, not all players) won't draw a treasure card.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Gauntlet

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose only the first monster destroyed there each turn is replaced, right?

A: No, each destroyed monster there is replaced. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". The Gauntlet's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If The Gauntlet's ability causes a Web Troll to be played there, does the Web Troll's ability activate and play another monster?

A: No. The Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook specifically addresses this on page 12, section "The Gauntlet".

Rule: Check The Gauntlet's clarification.

Q: If The Gauntlet's ability causes a new monster to appear, does it activate cards that react to minions being played?

A: It depends. If the card only reacts to a minion being played (e.g. The Burst), it activates because a minion was indeed played. If the card only reacts to a player playing a minion (e.g. Leprechaun, Imperial Dragon), it doesn't activate because no player gets credit for playing a monster through The Gauntlet's ability.

Rule: Check The Gauntlet's clarification.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Absolutely nothing. After a monster there is destroyed, it is still replaced by another. That's because, despite its wording, The Gauntlet doesn't instruct any player to play another monster, the base plays it itself, so since you are not instructed to play a monster, you can't choose to ignore it.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Mines

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions there (and only your minions, not all minions) won't get +1 power for each of the treasures played on them.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Pits

Q: If there are uncontrolled monsters there, are they also immune to actions? If so, whose actions?

A: Yes, they are minions, so they are not affected by other players' action. And for uncontrolled monsters, all the players are treated as "other players" for them.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.

Q: I have a minion on a different base with an enemy action attached to it. If my minion is moved to The Pits, what happens?

A: Since the action is currently affecting the minion ("having an action attached" is considered as affecting), The Pits prevents that action from affecting your minion any longer. So it can't remain attached to it and is therefore destroyed.

Rule: If a minion or a base becomes immune to certain cards or actions, any such cards that are already attached to it are immediately destroyed, since having a card attached is an effect.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on The Pits? If so, does The Pits protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's action", then yes, The Pits protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions there (and only your minions, not all minions) are no longer protected from other players' actions.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Thieves’ Guild

Q: From which deck do I draw the card? From my deck or the treasure deck?

A: Your deck.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only draw a card after playing my first treasure there, right?

A: No, you may draw a card after each time you play a treasure there or on a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Thieves’ Guild's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: Does it trigger from playing a treasure minion there too or just treasure actions?

A: If you play a treasure minion on Thieves' Guild, it counts as having played a treasure on it, so its ability does trigger.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: After playing a treasure there or on a minion there, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw a card after you play a treasure there or on a minion there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Treasure Bath

Q: When this base appears, the current player plays as many monsters as the monster number of the base. Do the monsters trigger the base's ability?

A: When played as part of the base coming into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters (even though a Web Troll's ability is activated), so it doesn't activate the base's ability.

Rule: When a Munchkin base comes into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters.

Q: If I play a minion on another base and then a second minion on Treasure Bath, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be played there?

A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "After the first time each turn that you play a minion here", which happened: your second minion of the turn IS the first minion you played on that base on that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I already have 10 cards in hand. I play a Tenacious Z there from my discard pile as a Special and therefore draw a treasure card, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I haven't played any minions yet. If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Treasure Bath, do I still draw a treasure?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw a treasure card after you play a minion there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Treehouse

Q: When this base appears, the current player plays as many monsters as the monster number of the base. Do the monsters trigger the base's ability?

A: When played as part of the base coming into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters (even though a Web Troll's ability is activated), so it doesn't activate the base's ability.

Rule: When a Munchkin base comes into play, the current player doesn't get credit for playing the monsters.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I only make an opponent draw a card after the first minion I play there, right?

A: No, each time you play a minion there, you must choose an opponent who can then draw a card. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Treehouse's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I have 10 cards in hand. Another player plays a minion on this base and chooses me to draw a card, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this happened on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Treehouse, do I still have to choose another player to draw a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If you play a minion there, the base instructs you to choose another player. You will ignore that instruction and so no player will draw a card. Moreover, if another player plays a minion there and chooses you as the other player, the base instructs you to draw a card. You will ignore that instruction and therefore won't draw a card. Other than that, you can't prevent your opponents from choosing one another.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Whack-A-Ghoul

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose if several undead monsters are played there on the same turn, only the first one is "whacked", correct?

A: No, each time an undead monster is played there, it gets "whacked". For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". Whack-A-Ghoul's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: When Whack-A-Ghoul's ability triggers for some of the initial 3 monsters, are they replaced by other monsters?

A: No. The monster number only tells you how many monsters you should attempt to play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If an undead monster is played there and you are the current player, the base instructs you to place it on the bottom of the monster deck. You will just ignore that instruction and leave the monster on that base.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References

Advertisement