SmashUp Wiki

This is the FAQ page for each individual base in That ’70s Expansion.

Questions on Ancient Dojo[]

Q: It allows me to place +1 power counters on "each of my minions". Does it also place one on minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only place +1 power counters after playing my first minion there, right?

A: No, you do its ability after each time you play a minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: If Ancient Dojo is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed? For example, if a minion that got one is moved to another base before Ancient Dojo is removed.

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Ancient Dojo's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Giant Ants, Mythic Greeks, Kung Fu Fighters)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: If I play a Howler on Ancient Dojo, Howler becomes power 4, so I can place +1 power counters on my minions of power 3 or less there, right?

A: Yes, when you play Howler, you first resolve its ability. Then you resolve Ancient Dojo's ability. At that point Howler's power is 4, so you can indeed place +1 power counters on your minions of power 3 or less.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifications.

Q: If I play a Weed Eater on Ancient Dojo, do I place +1 power counters on my minions of power 4 or less? or power 2 or less?

A: Power 2 or less. When you play Weed Eater, you first resolve its ability. Then you resolve Ancient Dojo's ability. At that point Weed Eater's power is 3, so you place +1 power counters on your minions of power 2 or less.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifications.

Q: If I play a Betrothed on Ancient Dojo and give control of it to another player, who gets to place +1 power counters on their minions of power 2 or less there?

A: You played the minion, so you place the +1 power counters on your minions. The base says nothing about you needing to keep control of the played minion, nor anything about the final controller placing the counters on their minions. "You" played it, so "your minions" get the counters.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Ancient Dojo, do I still place +1 power counters on my minions with less power there?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't place any +1 power counters on your minions after playing a minion there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Boogie Wonderland[]

Q: What is a standard action exactly? I suppose it's the official name for an on-play action. Or does it simply mean non-Special actions?

A: It's an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Actions remain in play by being played on a base, played on a minion, or buried on a base, so if none of those normally occur when an action is played, then it's a standard action. On-play actions (ones that don't have any Ongoing/Talent/Special labels) are indeed standard actions, but standard actions are not exclusively on-play actions. "Pure" Special actions (ones that immediately start with "Special:...") are standard as well, because they aren't played on any card. Hybrids between on-play and Special actions (e.g. Full Sail or Dogpile) that aren't played on any card are mostly standard actions as well, but counter-examples are actions that can bury themselves (e.g. Tomb Trap or Blessing of Anubis) as those aren't standard when played from the hand/deck/discard pile, and become standard when uncovered.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: It draw a card if my standard action affects "one or more of my minions". Do I draw a card if it just affects minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I can only draw a card after the first time I affect my minion there, right?

A: No, you do its ability after each time you play a standard action that affects your minions there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I get to use this base's ability if I play a standard action that directly affects one of my minions there. If the action I play moves one of my minions from there to another base, do I still get to use its ability?

A: Yes, the trigger is "After a player plays a standard action that affects one or more of their minions here", so for one, the minion must be present on this base when the action is played. And it also should still be on this base for this base's ability to resolve, unless the trigger itself causes the minion to no longer be on this base, which is the case here, the action you play removed the minion from that base.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, it also needs to be in play when the event finishes resolving, unless the trigger itself made the card go out of play.

Q: I get to use this base's ability if I play a standard action that directly affects one of my minions there. If the action I play moves one of my minions from another base to there, do I still get to use its ability?

A: No, the trigger is "After a player plays a standard action that affects one or more of their minions here", so the minion must be present on this base when the action is played.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.

Q: After drawing the card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw any card after affecting one of your minions there with one of your actions.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Funky Town[]

Q: What is a standard action exactly? I suppose it's the official name for an on-play action. Or does it simply mean non-Special actions?

A: It's an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. Actions remain in play by being played on a base, played on a minion, or buried on a base, so if none of those normally occur when an action is played, then it's a standard action. On-play actions (ones that don't have any Ongoing/Talent/Special labels) are indeed standard actions, but standard actions are not exclusively on-play actions. "Pure" Special actions (ones that immediately start with "Special:...") are standard as well, because they aren't played on any card. Hybrids between on-play and Special actions (e.g. Full Sail or Dogpile) that aren't played on any card are mostly standard actions as well, but counter-examples are actions that can bury themselves (e.g. Tomb Trap or Blessing of Anubis) as those aren't standard when played from the hand/deck/discard pile, and become standard when uncovered.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: So hmmm... how does Funky Town work exactly?

A: Basically, once per turn per player, when a player plays a standard action and if that standard action affects one or more of their minions on Funky Town, that player can designate an additional target among their other minions on Funky Town. For example, if you play Augmentation (which is a standard action) and give +4 power to one of your minions on Funky Town (directly changing a minion's power counts as affecting it), you can choose another one of your minions on that same base that will also get +4 power! In more details, here's how to resolve Funky Town:
1- You play an action: is that a standard action, i.e. one that doesn't remain in play after being played? Yes? Then proceed to 2. Otherwise, Funky Town is useless.
2- Resolve your action. Immediately after you do something to one or more of your minions on Funky Town: does that count as affecting that minion? (Remember that affecting has a very precise definition! See Affect.) Yes? Then go to 3.
3- You may now use Funky Town's ability if you want to. If you choose to use it:
3a- Designate one of your minions on that same base. That minion can't be one of the minions that were originally targeted by your action, other than that, it can be any of your minions on that base and the minion doesn't even have to fit the action's prerequisites. (for example, if the action only affects minions of power 2 or less, you can definitely designate a minion of power 3 or more!)
3b- The chosen minion gets the exact same effect as the originally targeted minions. (If those minions received different effects, for example, a different amount of power boost or if they were moved to different bases, choose one of them to copy.) And by "exact same" effect, it means moving to the exact same base, receiving the exact same amount of power, being given control to the exact same player, etc.
Notable exception: If the effect is causing the minion to leave play, it will still go back to its owner if that's how the action normally works with minions the player doesn't own.
4- Continue resolving the rest of your action's abilities. If you once again do something to one or more of your minions on Funky Town, if that "something" counts as affecting and if you haven't used Funky Town's ability for this action yet (Funky Town can only copy one effect per action and each player can only use Funky Town's ability once per turn), you may now use it as described above, so go to 3. Otherwise, just sit back and enjoy.

Rule: Check Funky Town's clarification.

Q: Are there any functional differences between Dancing King, Diva, We are Family and Funky Town?

A: Yes, none of them work the same way:
- Dancing King can copy an effect caused by a standard action played by any player that affects any minions on its base and copy it on any other minion on its base and it can copy one effect per action,
- Diva can copy an effect caused by a standard action played by any player that affects any of your minions on its base and copy it on itself and it can copy one effect per action per turn,
- We are Family can copy an effect caused by a standard action played by any player that affects any minions on its base and copy it on the minion it is on and it can copy one effect per action per turn,
- Funky Town can copy an effect caused by a standard action played by you that affects any of your minions on Funky Town and copy it on any of your other minion on Funky Town and it can copy one effect per action per turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: So Funky Town creates a "virtual" identical copy of the standard action, is my interpretation correct?

A: No. It only duplicates the specific effect that affected your minion (or minions), not the entire action itself. For example, if you play I’m So Excited and you use Funky Town to move a second minion as an additional affected minion, no matter how many times the move effect is duplicated, I'm So Excited will only allow you to draw one card, and one card only. Both because drawing a card doesn't affect any minions, so it can't be duplicated, and because that part of the action isn't dependent on the number of affected minions (unlike Disco Inferno for example). Also, if the action player was to get a benefit out of playing the action (e.g. with Odysseus) or a penalty (e.g. with Secret Agent), they would only get it once, since they really only played one action, even with a duplicated effect.

Rule: Check Funky Town's clarification.

Q: What does "the same way" mean?

A: It means that the minion you target with Funky Town will get the same affection as the minion the standard action directly affected. So:
- If the standard action moves a minion, the minion you choose with Funky Town will move toward the same base. With Teleport Error, even though the minion directly affected by the action is moved to a random base, the minion you choose with Funky Town will move to the same base, not a random one again.
- If the standard action directly changes a minion's power, the minion you choose with Funky Town will have its power changed by the same amount. With We Will Rock You, a minion with two +1 power counters will get +2 power, and so you can use Funky Town to choose a minion on the same base with no +1 power counters and it will get +2 power even though it has no such counters.
- If the standard action allows you to give control of a minion to another player, the minion you choose with Funky Town will be given to the exact same player.
- If the standard action transfers +1 power counters to a minion, the minion you choose with Funky Town will receive the same amount of +1 power counters from the same source card. If there aren't enough, then transfer as many as you can, but don't supplement +1 power counters from the pool as that would be placing +1 power counter, not transferring, which isn't what the standard action does.
- If the standard action transfers +1 power counters away from a minion, the minion you choose with Funky Town will have the same amount of +1 power counters transferred to the same destination card. If there aren't enough, then transfer as many as you can, but don't supplement +1 power counters from the pool as that would be placing +1 power counter, not transferring, which isn't what the standard action does.
- If the standard action removes +1 power counters from a minion, the minion you choose with Funky Town will have the same amount of +1 power counters removed. If there aren't enough, then remove as many as you can. Although with Purge the Demon, you must remove all +1 power counters from a minion, if the minion you choose with Funky Town has more counters than the number of removed counters, you probably remove all counters from the additional minion as well since Purge the Demon doesn't allow you to remove any amount, it must be all of it.[probably]

Rule: Check Funky Town's clarification.

Q: It can copy an effect that affects "one of my minions". Can I copy an effect that affects a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: My standard actions is affecting one of the minions I control. Funky Town can copy it onto "one of my other minions". Can I copy it on a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays I Will Survive to return one of their minions to their hand and tried to use Funky Town to return another minion. I argued that the action isn't standard because it's a Special, so Funky Town can't work. Who's correct?

A: Your opponent. It doesn't matter if the card says Special or not, the important thing is: does the action remain in play after being played? If not, then it's a standard action. Nothing else.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: I play a standard action to return one of my minions on Funky Town to my hand. Can Funky Town be used to return any of my other minions (including those owned by another player) to my hand as well? It says "the same way" after all.

A: No. Remember there's the rule that when a card leaves play, it goes to its owner, which is a rule that usually trumps card text. This also applies here. Basically you should consider how the action would treat it if you used it on a minion you controlled but didn't own. If it would have gone to its owner rather than you, then the duplicated effect should also make the minion go to its rightful owner rather than make it blindly follow the originally targeted card. Currently, since all existing return effects make the minions go to their owner, you should also apply that rule to the duplicated effect and so the minion you choose with Funky Town would go back to its owner's hand even though you controlled it.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: I play a standard action, for example Augmentation, and give +4 power to one of my minions on Funky Town. I also have a Diva on that base. I use Funky Town to copy its effect and give +4 power to the Diva. I haven't used Diva's ability yet during this turn, can I use it and give it another +4 power?

A: Yes, while it got a duplicate of the effect from Funky Town, Diva is not a minion that was directly affected by Augmentation, so there's no problem using its ability to give it +4 power once again.

Rule: Check Diva and Funky Town's clarifications.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to use this base's ability.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Hideout[]

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Your minions there (and only your minions, not all minions) won't be protected from other players' cards.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Greasy Spoon[]

Q: If an action on a minion on The Greasy Spoon is discarded, is the action shuffled into its owner's deck?

A: No. The Greasy Spoon only works with actions attached to it, not those attached to minions on it. That's even clarified in the rules.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: When an action on The Greasy Spoon is discarded, who shuffles it into its owner's deck?

A: The Current Player, since the ability doesn't specify anyone else.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies how Temple of Goju works. While the bases each have a different ability, they are quite close in their intention, so it's entirely possible that The Greasy Spoon works the same way as Temple of Goju and that it's the action's owner who shuffles it into its their deck. This would also make this base's ability much simpler.

Rule: Check Temple of Goju's clarification.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose only the first action discarded from there gets shuffled into its owner's deck, right?

A: No, you do its ability whenever an action there is discarded. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: Actions there that you own (and not necessarily control) and Actions there that you control (and not necessarily own) aren't shuffled into their owners' deck because you can both ignore the base's instruction to you and make the actions you control unaffected by the base's ability. Other than those actions, all the others would be to be shuffled into their owners' decks.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on The Mean Streets[]

Q: If The Mean Streets is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed? For example, if a minion that got one is moved to another base before The Mean Streets is removed.

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by The Mean Streets's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Giant Ants, Mythic Greeks, Kung Fu Fighters)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose players can only place +1 power counters after the first time a card there is affected, right?

A: No, you do its ability after each time a player plays an action that affects a card there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first minion". This ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: Other players get to use this base's ability if I play an action that directly affects a card there. If the action I play moves or transfers a card from there to another base, do the other players still get to use its ability?

A: Yes, the trigger is "After a player plays an action that affects a card here", so for one, the card must be present on this base when the action is played. And it also should still be on this base for this base's ability to resolve, unless the trigger itself causes the card to no longer be on this base, which is the case here, the action you play removed the card from that base.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, it also needs to be in play when the event finishes resolving, unless the trigger itself made the card go out of play.

Q: Other players get to use this base's ability if I play an action that directly affects a card there. If the action I play moves or transfers a card from another base to there, do the other players still get to use its ability?

A: No, the trigger is "After a player plays an action that affects a card here", so the card must be present on this base when the action is played.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.

Q: I play an Argonaut while I have a Spartan/Odysseus/Heracles/etc. on The Mean Streets. Argonaut therefore causes them to increase in power, which counts as affecting, does it activate The Mean Streets?

A: No. While playing Argonaut counts as if you played an action, it doesn't affect any minions. The reason why Spartan, Odysseus, Heracles, etc. are affected is because of their own abilities, not because of an action's ability.

Rule: Definition of "directly".

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: There are two possible situations. On the one hand, if you play an action that affects a card there, each other player can place a +1 power counter on a minion there. That's because you can't ignore triggering the base's ability and you can't make other players' ignore the base's instruction. On the other hand, if another player plays an action that affects a card there, each other player but you gets to use the base's ability. That's because the base's instructs all other players that they may place a +1 power counter. Since you're ignoring the base's ability, you're ignoring that instruction, but you can't make the other players ignore it.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Tournament Site[]

Q: It says "each player with no power". If I have one minion there but of power 0, I have a power of 0 there, so I do have power, albeit 0, but still, right?

A: No, you have a power of 0, so you have no power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: If you aren't the winner, nothing and you can't prevent the winner from gaining 1 VP from you not having power there. If you are the winner, you won't gain additional VPs from other players without power there.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

Questions on Truck Stop[]

Q: I suppose it's limited to my actions, right?

A: No, if it was limited to your actions, it would say so. Instead, it says "an action", which means any action played on a base, even one controlled by another player.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I use Truck Stop's ability to transfer an action played on a minion to another base. If there are no minions on that base, what happens to the action?

A: You played it wrong. Truck Stop only allows you to transfer an action played on a base, not those played on minions. "An action played on a base" means an action played on that base, not on a minion on that base! That's even clarified in the rules.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?

A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to transfer an action from another base to there or vice versa. Also, your actions on bases (and only your actions, not all actions) will be immune to the transfer ability of Truck Stop.

Rule: Definition of "ignore".

References[]