This is the FAQ page for each individual base in World Tour: International Incident.
Questions on Bastion Saint-Gervais[]
Q: I get to use this base's ability if I play an action that directly affects one of my minions there. If the action I play moves one of my minions from there to another base, do I still get to use its ability?
A: Yes, the trigger is "after you play an action that directly affects one of your minions here", so for one, the minion must be present on this base when the action is played. And it also should still be on this base for this base's ability to resolve, unless the trigger itself causes the minion to no longer be on this base, which is the case here, the action you play removed the minion from that base.
Q: I get to use this base's ability if I play an action that directly affects one of my minions there. If the action I play moves one of my minions from another base to there, do I still get to use its ability?
A: No, the trigger is "after you play an action that directly affects one of your minions here", so the minion must be present on this base when the action is played.
Q: I play an Argonaut on Bastion Saint-Gervais, do I gain an extra action?
A: No. While playing Argonaut counts as if you played an action, playing Argonaut doesn't directly affect any minion, so Bastion Saint-Gervais doesn't treat playing Argonaut as playing an action that directly affects one of your minions.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to get an extra action play after you play an action that directly affects one of your minions there.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Great White North, Eh?[]
Q: This base is tricky. If I score it but another player chooses to move their minion elsewhere, bringing the total power below its breakpoint, it stops the scoring. So I have to score it taking into account that even if my opponents move one of their minions the remaining power can remain above the breakpoint. That's too complicated!
A: You're mistaken here. Once a base has been chosen to score, you keep scoring it even if the total power on it drops below its breakpoint because of before-scoring abilities. (Only a couple of things can really prevent a base from scoring, but this isn't one of them.) So if Great White North, Eh? is chosen to score, resolve before-scoring abilities, including Great White North, Eh?'s own ability, and continue with its scoring even if the total power drops below the breakpoint. It's as simple as that.
Q: I'm second on that base with just one minion. Using this base's ability, if I move my minion elsewhere, I still get VPs, right? I had a minion there at the start of scoring.
A: No, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.
Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.
Q: What comes first: Great White North, Eh? or Shinobi?
A: You cannot play a Shinobi before the base's ability triggers, because Great White North, Eh? is in play and has a mandatory ability, which means it must be resolved first.
Q: I have a Special "before a base scores" card to play. Can I play it before Great White North, Eh? is activated?
A: No. Before a base scores, you must first resolve all cards in play with mandatory abilities that are triggered by the before-scoring step before anyone can activate their Special before-scoring cards in hand (and invoke optional abilities of triggered cards in play).
Q: In which order are the minions moved? It may have some importance with minions like Cub Scout or Flock.
A: Each player in clockwise order from the current player decides if they want to move a minion and immediately do it if they choose to do so. This is even clarified in the rule book.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to move one of your minions from there and you won't be able to give it +1 power either. You cannot even choose to ignore one effect and not the other; if you choose to ignore this base's ability, you ignore all of it.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Heya Training Stable[]
Q: I have no minions there, can I still choose to discard a card if that helps me?
A: Of course. Discarding a card doesn't require any minion to be there. It's just that you'll be unable to place a +1 power counter on that base since you have no minions there and so the counter will be lost.
Q: If Heya Training Stable is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, scored, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed? For example, if a minion that got one is moved to another base before Heya Training Stable is removed.
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability cancelled). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Heya Training Stable's ability and which ones were not (e.g. Giant Ants, Mythic Greeks, Kung Fu Fighters)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to discard a card and get a +1 power counter. Note that if you choose to ignore this base's ability, you must ignore all of it. You cannot choose to discard a card and not get the +1 power counter for example (unless you have no minions there of course).
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Ringside[]
Q: It doesn't say "each time" like Cave of Shinies or The Homeworld, so I suppose I only get to draw one card after playing my first action there, right?
A: No, you draw a card after each time you play an action that directly affects another player's minion there. For it to only work once, it has to explicitly state it for example by saying "once per turn", "the first time" or "the first action". Ringside's ability is a triggerable one, and unless otherwise stated it must be resolved each time it is triggered. If it said "each time", it would just be redundant.
Q: After playing an action that directly affects another player's minion there, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?
A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
Q: I get to use this base's ability if I play an action that directly affects another player's minion there. If the action I play moves another player's minion from there to another base, do I still get to use its ability?
A: Yes, the trigger is "After you play an action that directly affects another player’s minion here", so for one, the minion must be present on this base when the action is played. And it also should still be on this base for this base's ability to resolve, unless the trigger itself causes the minion to no longer be on this base, which is the case here, the action you play removed the minion from that base.
Q: I get to use this base's ability if I play an action that directly affects another player's minion there. If the action I play moves another player's minion from another base to there, do I still get to use its ability?
A: No, the trigger is "After you play an action that directly affects another player’s minion here", so the minion must be present on this base when the action is played.
Q: I play an Argonaut on Ringside, do I draw a card?
A: No. While playing Argonaut counts as if you played an action, playing Argonaut doesn't directly affect any minion, so Ringside doesn't treat playing Argonaut as playing an action that directly affects another player's minion.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability? Can I prevent other players from drawing a card when they play an action that directly affects one of my minions?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't get a card draw after playing an action that directly affects an opponent's minion there. So no, if another player plays an action that directly affects one of your minions, you cannot prevent them from following the base's intructions, because the base's ability itself doesn't affect your minions and it doesn't instruct you to do anything.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on Strategic Syrup Reserve[]
Q: It works with bases "where I have a minion". Does it also work if I have minions there that I own but don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so I "have" them, right?
A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.
Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Strategic Syrup Reserve, can I still move a minion to there?
A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: There are two possible situations. If you play a minion there, you (and only you, not all players) will be unable to move a minion from another base to there because you will be ignoring Strategic Syrup Reserve's instruction. If another player plays a minion there, your minions (and only your minions, not all minions) will be immune to being moved through Strategic Syrup Reserve's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Dohyo[]
Q: If I play a minion on another base and then a second minion on The Dohyo, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be played there?
A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "After the first time you play a minion here on your turn", which happened: your second minion of the turn IS the first minion you played on that base on that turn.
Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on The Dohyo, can I still move a minion from there?
A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: There are two possible situations. If you play a minion there, you (and only you, not all players) will be unable to move minion from there to another base because you will be ignoring The Dohyo's instruction. If another player plays a minion there, your minions (and only your minions, not all minions) will be immune to being moved through The Dohyo's ability.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Golden Lily[]
Q: It works "if I have a minion" there. Is it enough if my only minion there is a minion I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?
A: No. "If you have a minion" means "if you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.
Q: When is the card drawn?
A: The card says "at the end of your turn", which means during the End Turn phase of each of your turns.
Q: If I already have 10 cards in hand when I draw the extra card, do I discard down to 10?
A: No. You only discard down to 10 during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turn. With The Golden Lily, the card is drawn after this phase is passed, so you don't discard down to 10.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't draw any card at the end of your turn.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".
Questions on The Squared Circle[]
Q: I don't have to show which action was chosen to the other players, right?
A: Yes, you do. Discard piles can be checked by any players at any time, so by extension, any player should be allowed to know what card was removed from it. So, you should reveal it.
Rule: If you take a card out of the discard pile, show it to everyone.
Q: It's so annoying to choose a random action from my discard pile. I have to separate all my actions and minions, then randomly choose an action without looking at it.
A: You don't have to separate your discard pile into two. You can just shuffle your entire discard pile and reveal cards until you reveal an action. That will be the action that will be placed into your hand.
Rule: N/A
Q: If I play a minion on another base and then a second minion on The Squared Circle, do I get to use its ability or does it have to be the very first minion of the turn that must be played there?
A: You do get to use this base's ability because the trigger is "After the first time you play a minion here each turn", which happened: your second minion of the turn IS the first minion you played on that base on that turn.
Q: I haven't played any minions yet. If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on The Squared Circle, do I still place a random action from my discard pile into my hand?
A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.
Q: I have Infiltrate on this base. What happens if I choose to ignore this base's ability?
A: You (and only you, not all players) won't be able to use the base's ability when you play a minion there.
Rule: Definition of "ignore".