SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement
Cowboys-Deputy-731x1024

Cowboys introduce dueling. In a duel, two minions square off, comparing their individual power. However each player may play one card face down. If it is an action, it is resolved normally before the duel is finished, otherwise it returns to the player’s hand. So if you have a +X power action, you can turn the tide of the duel. The minion with the higher power at the end of the duel receives all the effects of that duel (per the card that started it). - AEG

Yeeeehaw!! Come out guns blazing with the rip-roarin’est faction to ever ride into Smash Up. The Cowboys are going to call you out at high noon, and make sure you go home in a pine box. Dueling is their strategy of choice, because who better to slap leather than the quickest guns in the west?

- Oops, You Did It Again rulebook

The Cowboys are one of the 4 factions from the Oops, You Did It Again set.

They are very adept at starting duels with other players' minions and winning them, usually gaining more power to help them win and destroying opposing minions in the process.

Other factions from the same set: Ancient Egyptians, Samurai, Vikings.

Cards[]

IMG E0784-1-

The Cowboys have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Gold Strike,
  • 9 standard actions (8 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Dynamite Surprise, Form a Posse, Gold in Them Thar Hills, High Noon (2x), Quick Draw (2x), Run ‘Em Off, Stagecoach,
  • 4 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Form a Posse, Quick Draw (2x), Run ‘Em Off.

Minions[]

1x Sheriff - power 5 - Special: Before this base scores, this minion may duel another player’s minion here. Destroy the losing minion. FAQ

2x Pinkerton - power 4 - Ongoing: When one of your minions here is in a duel, place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

3x Gunfighter - power 3 - This minion may duel another player’s minion here. Destroy the losing minion. FAQ

4x Deputy - power 2 - Special: On your turn or during a duel involving your minion, you may discard this card from your hand to give a minion +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Actions[]

1x Dynamite Surprise - Special: Before a base scores where you have a minion and are not winning, destroy a minion of power 4 or less there. Special: If another player’s card reveals or looks at a card in your hand or deck, destroy one of their minions of power 4 or less. FAQ

1x Form a Posse - Each of your minions gains +1 power and cannot be destroyed, moved, or returned to the hand until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Gold in Them Thar Hills - Look at the top three cards of your deck. Reveal and draw one of them; you may play it as an extra card. Return the rest in any order. FAQ

1x Gold Strike - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here, draw a card. FAQ

2x High Noon - One of your minions duels another player’s minion at the same base. Destroy the losing minion. If your minion wins, you may play an extra minion there. FAQ

2x Quick Draw - Choose one of your minions. If it is in a duel, it gains +4 power until the end of the turn, otherwise it gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Run ‘Em Off - One of your minions duels another player’s minion at the same base. The winning minion gains +3 power until the end of the turn, and its controller moves the losing minion to another base. FAQ

1x Stagecoach - Move or transfer up to two of your cards on the same base to another base. FAQ

Titan[]

Cowboys titan
(available in the 10th Anniversary set)

1x Pecos Bill - Special: When you become the challenger in a duel, you may discard a card to play this titan there. Do not resolve any titan clashes until after the end of the duel. Ongoing: During duels here, other players may not move minions from here or return them to a player’s hand. Ongoing: After you win a duel, draw a card. FAQ

Cowboys logo

Bases[]

Clarifications[]

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Oops, You Did It Again rulebook:

Deputy: You may wait until after your opponent has revealed their dueling card to decide whether to discard the Deputy.

Dynamite Surprise: This triggers from your hand, or if revealed from your deck. It is not triggered if another player looks at it in your deck.

High Noon: If your opponent wins they do not get an extra minion, and neither do you if your minion is destroyed. “There” is where your winning minion is at the end of the duel.

Pinkerton: This may affect itself in a duel. The power counter is placed before the dueling cards are placed on the table.

Quick Draw: The amount of power gained is determined when this card is played and does not change even if the minion’s dueling status changes.

Mechanics[]

Cowboys are able to start duels with other players' minions that usually end with the destruction of one or both dueling minions. To help them win duels, they have an assortment of cards that can greatly boost their minions' power.

External Strategy Guides[]

FAQ[]

Questions on Sheriff[]

Q: It has a Special power that happens during a base break. Does it have to be in play to use the special or can it also be played straight from hand as a pump?

A: It must already be in play.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if there's a tie at the end of the duel?

A: Both minions are considered as winning and losing the duel, so you must destroy Sheriff and the other minion.

Rule: In case of a tie in a duel, both minions are considered as the winning and the losing minions.

Q: Does destroying a minion before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: Before a base scores, I start a duel there and destroy a minion, reducing the total power below the breakpoint. This ends the scoring, right?

A: You're mistaken here. Once a base has been chosen to score, you keep scoring it even if the total power on it drops below its breakpoint because of before-scoring abilities. (Only a couple of things can really prevent a base from scoring, but this isn't one of them.)

Rule: The chosen base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if my minion has less power at the end of the duel? Who destroys my minion, e.g. if we're on Field of Honor?

A: As you guessed it, Sheriff is destroyed. The person who destroys it is the person who started the duel, namely you, because the cards says "(you) destroy the losing minion."

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions move to other bases during the duel?

A: It depends. After resolving the dueling cards, if both minions are on the same base, then you determine which minion wins and which minion loses and resolve the duel's effects as normal. But if both minions are not on the same base, then the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by Sheriff's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions change controller during the duel without changing bases?

A: You still determine which minion loses the duel and destroy it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if Sheriff is destroyed by the other player during the duel? If Sheriff had a higher power at the time of destruction, does that mean the other minion loses the duel and so is destroyed?

A: Nothing happens because after resolving the dueling cards, both minions are not on the same base as each other (since one of them left play!), and so the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by Sheriff's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability starts a duel (e.g. High Noon), or allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play a minion whose ability starts a duel (e.g. Gunfighter). Do I have to wait until the current duel is finished to start a new duel, or is the current duel put on hold while we resolve the new duel?

A: Actually, you simply ignore the new duel, as well as any of its effects because no duel can be initiated while a duel is being resolved.

Rule: Two duels may not happen at the same time, so if any ability that allows a duel is triggered during another duel, that part of the ability is ignored.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play the minion on a base that starts a duel after a minion is played there (e.g. Shogun’s Palace). I suppose that second duel is ignored, right?

A: No, this is not a case of a duel happening during another duel. The second duel here will happen after the current duel (and any other cards in the middle of resolution) is fully resolved. So there's no concurrency.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can I duel a monster?

A: It depends. Sheriff can only duel "another player's minion", i.e. a minion controlled by another player. If you wish to duel an uncontrolled monster, then you can't because no player is controlling it. If another player does control the monster (e.g. because of Make Contact, Muffin, Charm, etc.), then you can duel it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.


Questions on Pinkerton[]

Q: Is the +1 power counter removed after the duel ends?

A: No, the duel is just a condition for placing the counter, but once placed, it remains for the rest of the game.

Rule: +1 power counters are only placed, removed or transferred when a card tells you to do so.

Q: If Pinkerton itself is in a duel, does it still gain a +1 power counter from its own ability?

A: Yes, its ability says "one of your minions here", so it's any of your minions on Pinkerton's base, including itself. Otherwise, it would have said "one of your other minions here".

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Rule: Check Pinkerton's clarification.

Q: If Pinkerton's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Pinkerton's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Cowboys Giant Ants)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: If Pinkerton is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.), are the +1 power counters placed by its ability on my other minions removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Pinkerton's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Cowboys Giant Ants)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: It allows me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my minions". Can I place a +1 power counter on a minion I own but I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Gunfighter[]

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if there's a tie at the end of the duel?

A: Both minions are considered as winning and losing the duel, so you must destroy Gunfighter and the other minion.

Rule: In case of a tie in a duel, both minions are considered as the winning and the losing minions.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if my minion has less power at the end of the duel? Who destroys my minion, e.g. if we're on Field of Honor?

A: As you guessed it, Gunfighter is destroyed. The person who destroys it is the person who started the duel, namely you, because the cards says "(you) destroy the losing minion."

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions move to other bases during the duel?

A: It depends. After resolving the dueling cards, if both minions are on the same base, then you determine which minion wins and which minion loses and resolve the duel's effects as normal. But if both minions are not on the same base, then the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by Gunfighter's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions change controller during the duel without changing bases?

A: You still determine which minion loses the duel and destroy it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if Gunfighter is destroyed by the other player during the duel? If Gunfighter had a higher power at the time of destruction, does that mean the other minion loses the duel and so is destroyed?

A: Nothing happens because after resolving the dueling cards, both minions are not on the same base as each other (since one of them left play!), and so the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by Gunfighter's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability starts a duel (e.g. High Noon), or allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play a minion whose ability starts a duel (e.g. Gunfighter). Do I have to wait until the current duel is finished to start a new duel, or is the current duel put on hold while we resolve the new duel?

A: Actually, you simply ignore the new duel, as well as any of its effects because no duel can be initiated while a duel is being resolved.

Rule: Two duels may not happen at the same time, so if any ability that allows a duel is triggered during another duel, that part of the ability is ignored.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play the minion on a base that starts a duel after a minion is played there (e.g. Shogun’s Palace). I suppose that second duel is ignored, right?

A: No, this is not a case of a duel happening during another duel. The second duel here will happen after the current duel (and any other cards in the middle of resolution) is fully resolved. So there's no concurrency.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can I duel a monster?

A: It depends. Gunfighter can only duel "another player's minion", i.e. a minion controlled by another player. If you wish to duel an uncontrolled monster, then you can't because no player is controlling it. If another player does control the monster (e.g. because of Make Contact, Muffin, Charm, etc.), then you can duel it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.


Questions on Deputy[]

Q: So this minion can never be played on the table as a minion, but can only be discarded from your hand to boost a minion's power, correct? If this is the case it seems like a pointless card.

A: No. Minions with a Special ability can be played as a normal minion without invoking their Special ability.

Rule: N/A

Q: If you discard the Deputy card to boost a minion, does that count as your minion play for that turn?

A: No.

Rule: TBD

Q: Is Deputy's Special ability only useable when a duel happens on my turn?

A: No, its ability says "On your turn or during a duel involving your minion", so Deputy's Special ability can be used on your turn, even outside of a duel, or during any duel that involves one of your minions in play, even if it's not your turn.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: What does "during a duel involving your minion" mean? Which minion?

A: "Your minion" is short for "a minion that you control", so basically, when a duel is taking place and if one of the minions of the duel is a minion you control, you can use Deputy's Special ability during that duel. Deputy's Special can be used at any moment of the duel, for example, before any dueling card is placed or after all dueling cards are revealed.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: So, if I want to use a Deputy for a duel, I must choose it as my dueling card and place it face-down, right?

A: No, you choose a Deputy as your dueling card, it will be returned to your hand without effect because it is a minion! To use a Deputy, you simply have to discard it directly from your hand at any time while a duel is happening and involves a minion you control, regardless of which card you chose as your dueling card and regardless of whether you chose to place one at all. You can even discard more than one Deputy if you want.

Rule: You may place any card from your hand for a duel, including actions that affect minions outside the duel, or even minions that are just returned to the hand.

Q: When used during a duel involving one of my minions, I can only boost my dueling minion, right?

A: No, there's no limitation at all, so you can boost your dueling minion, your opponent's dueling minion, or any minion not involved in the duel.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Its Special ability can be used during a duel involving "my minion". Can I use it during a duel involving a minion I own but I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minion" is a minion you control, whether or not you own it. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Can you boost the power of a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: If a card's ability makes me discard a Deputy (e.g. Probe, Gremlin, The Spy Who Ditched Me), can I give +2 power to a minion?

A: No. Deputy only lets you draw a card if it's discarded through its own Special ability.

Rule: When one card makes you do X and you happen to have another card that says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you cannot have that same X count for that other card.

Q: So the rulebook says Copycat can copy any type of abilities, including Special. So if another player discards a Deputy as a Special, I can copy the Deputy's ability and discard a Copycat to give +2 power to a minion, right? Same question about Wil Wheaton, Snuggly Bear, Shinobi, Fan, Dancing Penguin, etc.

A: No, Copycat's ability is an on-play ability, which means you only resolve it if you play Copycat first. In your scenario, you invoke Copycat's ability while it's out of play and then use it to discard Copycat, which isn't possible because you can only copy an ability by first playing Copycat. A Copycat's ability cannot be used before playing the Copycat itself because playing it is required to invoke its copy ability in the first place.

Rule: An on-play ability happens when you play its card.


Questions on Dynamite Surprise[]

Q: This card has two Special abilities?!

A: Yes.

Rule: N/A

Q: Since when do cards reveal or look at another card? Players reveal or look, not cards.

A: This should be undestood as "if another player's card is used to reveal or look at a card". Saying "if another player reveals or looks at a card" is not enough because some cards allow their player to reveal other players' cards (e.g. Operative), while other cards make other players reveal their card themselves (e.g. Discards Are Forever). Presumably, the weird wording was used so Dynamite Surprise works in both situations and because the card is already quite wordy.

Rule: N/A

Q: Does destroying a minion before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: Before a base scores, I play this card and destroy a minion there, reducing the total power below the breakpoint. This ends the scoring, right?

A: You're mistaken here. Once a base has been chosen to score, you keep scoring it even if the total power on it drops below its breakpoint because of before-scoring abilities. (Only a couple of things can really prevent a base from scoring, but this isn't one of them.)

Rule: The chosen base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: Before a base scores where I have a minion and where I'm not winning, another player's card reveals or looks at a card in my hand/deck, so I decide to play Dynamite Surprise in response to that player's card. Does both Special abilities trigger? The second one because it's played in reaction to the other player's card and the first one because it's played when its condition is met.

A: Good question. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: The first Special applies to a base "where I have a minion". Is it enough if there is a minion there that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control a minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: Regarding its second Special, does it also trigger if it's the card that's revealed or looked at?

A: It depends. If it's the card revealed from your deck or hand, definitely yes. If it's looked at from your hand, yes as well. But if it's looked at from your deck, then no, because no other player can see what the card is.

Rule: Check Dynamite Surprise's clarification.

Q: Can I play it from stasis?

A: No, while in stasis, the only abilities that can do anything are the ones that explicitly state that they do something there.

Rule: Abilities of cards in stasis do not work unless they refer to stasis.

Q: Can you destroy a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: Regarding its second Special, does it also trigger if Dynamite Surprise is taken from a hand by another player and placed in theirs? E.g. Trade, Pillage. They're looking at it after all.

A: No, the card doesn't make you look at it beforehand, you just take it. You could also argue that they are only properly looking at the card once it's in their hand, and so they're not looking at it in another player's hand.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 4), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 4), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Form a Posse[]

Q: It boosts and protects "each of my minions". Does it also apply to minions I own but I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Does it work on minions in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: Does Form a Posse work with Scout or Return to the Sea?

A: No. These cards "put" or "place" cards in play into their owner's hand. Form a Posse only works with cards that "return" cards in play into their owner's hand.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that the minion won't be protected because making a minion immune to effects doesn't count as affecting it.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that the minion won't be protected because making a minion immune to effects doesn't count as affecting it.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Gold in Them Thar Hills[]

Q: If I choose to reveal and draw a card. Do I have to play it immediately? Or because it's an extra, can I play it later on my turn?

A: You must either play it immediately as an extra card or keep it in your hand. You cannot save it for later in the turn; you'll need to spend a card play to play it.

Rule: Extra cards that refer to a specific card must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: It goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location. Also, you won't be able to play it as an extra card because it won't be in your hand.[1]

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Gold Strike[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, I draw a card, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "(you) draw" means "they draw".

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: I have They’re Coming To Get You on the same base as Gold Strike. I also have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to play a minion from my discard pile with They’re Coming To Get You? Do I draw a card? If so, is it immediately discarded because of the ten-card limit? or do I draw it and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw a card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Gold Strike's base, do I still draw a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on High Noon[]

Q: I can make "one of my minions" duel. Can I make a minion I own but I don't control duel? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minion" is a minion you control, whether or not you own it. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I start a duel with High Noon. What happens if there's a tie at the end of the duel?

A: Both minions are considered as winning and losing the duel, so you must destroy both minions. Next, if your minion survives the destruction, you gain an extra minion. Your opponent does not, because the extra minion is limited to you only.

Rule: In case of a tie in a duel, both minions are considered as the winning and the losing minions.

Rule: Check High Noon's clarification.

Q: I start a duel with High Noon. What happens if my minion has less power at the end of the duel? Who destroys my minion, e.g. if we're on Field of Honor? Also, I suppose my opponent gets an extra minion play, right?

A: As you guessed it, your minion is destroyed. The person who destroys it is the person who started the duel, namely you, because the cards says "(you) destroy the losing minion." Although your opponent's minion wins the duel, your opponent doesn't get an extra minion play. That's because the card limits the effect to "if your minion wins", so only when you, as the duel starter, won the duel, you'd gain the extra minion play.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Rule: Check High Noon's clarification.

Q: I start a duel with High Noon. What happens if one or both minions move to other bases during the duel?

A: It depends. After resolving the dueling cards, if both minions are on the same base, then you determine which minion wins and which minion loses and resolve the duel's effects as normal. But if both minions are not on the same base, then the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by High Noon's ability and you don't gain an extra minion play.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with High Noon. What happens if one or both minions change controller during the duel without changing bases?

A: You still determine which minion loses the duel and destroy it. If the minion you end up controlling at the end of the duel is the winner, then you've fulfilled the condition "if your minion wins" and so you'll get an extra minion play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I start a duel with High Noon. What happens if my minion is destroyed by the other player during the duel? If my minion had a higher power at the time of destruction, does that mean the other minion loses the duel and so is destroyed?

A: Nothing happens because after resolving the dueling cards, both minions are not on the same base as each other (since one of them left play!), and so the duel stops without winner or loser and nothing happens from High Noon's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with High Noon. My minions wins the duel but it was moved to another base. Where can I play the extra minion, on my minion's former base or my minion's current base?

A: On your minion's current base.

Rule: Check High Noon's clarification.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability starts a duel (e.g. High Noon), or allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play a minion whose ability starts a duel (e.g. Gunfighter). Do I have to wait until the current duel is finished to start a new duel, or is the current duel put on hold while we resolve the new duel?

A: Actually, you simply ignore the new duel, as well as any of its effects because no duel can be initiated while a duel is being resolved.

Rule: Two duels may not happen at the same time, so if any ability that allows a duel is triggered during another duel, that part of the ability is ignored.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play the minion on a base that starts a duel after a minion is played there (e.g. Shogun’s Palace). I suppose that second duel is ignored, right?

A: No, this is not a case of a duel happening during another duel. The second duel here will happen after the current duel (and any other cards in the middle of resolution) is fully resolved. So there's no concurrency.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can I duel a monster?

A: It depends. High Noon only allows you to duel "another player's minion", i.e. a minion controlled by another player. If you wish to duel an uncontrolled monster, then you can't because no player is controlling it. If another player does control the monster (e.g. because of Make Contact, Muffin, Charm, etc.), then you can duel it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can only copy it if one of the minions of Diva's controller is destroyed), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion. Also note that you don't get a second extra minion for affecting a second minion, because Diva only copies the part that destroys a minion and the extra minion part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion. Also note that you don't get a second extra minion for affecting a second minion, because Dancing King only copies the part that destroys a minion and the extra minion part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion. Also note that you don't get a second extra minion for affecting a second minion, because We are Family only copies the part that destroys a minion and the extra minion part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Quick Draw[]

Q: I play this while the minion is in a duel so it gets +4 power. Once the duel ends, what happens? It gets +2 power instead?

A: No, it keeps the +4 power until the end of the turn. The minion being in a duel is just a requirement for when you play the card, but once it gets +4 power, it keeps it for the rest of the turn.

Rule: An effect “until Y” lasts until Y even if the card that caused it leaves play or moves away, or even if any precondition stops being true.

Rule: Check Quick Draw's clarification.

Q: I play this while the minion is NOT in a duel so it gets +2 power. Later in the turn, if the minion is in a duel, what happens? It gets +4 power instead?

A: No, it keeps the +2 power until the end of the turn. The minion being in a duel is just a requirement for when you play the card, but once it gets +2 power, it keeps it for the rest of the turn.

Rule: An effect “until Y” lasts until Y even if the card that caused it leaves play or moves away, or even if any precondition stops being true.

Rule: Check Quick Draw's clarification.

Q: Can I choose a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be chosen by cards that do not explicitly state cards in stasis can be chosen.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power, even if the directly-affected minion is in a duel and Diva isn't.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power, even if the directly-affected minion is in a duel and the indirectly-affected one isn't.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power, even if the directly-affected minion is in a duel and the indirectly-affected one isn't.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power, even if the directly-affected minion is in a duel and the indirectly-affected one isn't.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Run ‘Em Off[]

Q: I start a duel with Run ‘Em Off. I don't see it anywhere on the card but I suppose the losing minion is destroyed just like all other duel cards, righ?

A: No, Run ‘Em Off doesn't end in any minion's destruction. When dueling, check the card that started the duel. That card will actually say what happens at the end of the duel. And no, a duel doesn't necessarily mean that the losing minion will be destroyed. If it's the case, the card will actually say it. If it doesn't say it, then it's not the case.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I can make "one of my minions" duel. Can I make a minion I own but I don't control duel? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minion" is a minion you control, whether or not you own it. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I start a duel with Run ‘Em Off. What happens if there's a tie at the end of the duel?

A: Both minions are considered as winning and losing the duel, so each minion gains +3 power and each of their controllers moves the other's minion to another base of their choice. The order for the move is clockwise from the current player.

Rule: In case of a tie in a duel, both minions are considered as the winning and the losing minions.

Rule: If several players get to use an effect because of a single card, each player uses it in clockwise order from the current player.

Q: I start a duel with Run ‘Em Off. What happens if my minion has less power at the end of the duel?

A: The other minion gets +3 power and its controller moves your minion to another base.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Q: I start a duel with Run ‘Em Off. What happens if one or both minions move to other bases during the duel?

A: It depends. After resolving the dueling cards, if both minions are on the same base, then you determine which minion wins and which minion loses and resolve the duel's effects as normal. But if both minions are not on the same base, then the duel stops without winner or loser and nothing happens from Run ‘Em Off's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with Run ‘Em Off. What happens if one or both minions change controller during the duel without changing bases?

A: You still determine which minion wins the duel. That minion gets +3 power and its controller moves the other minion to another base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I start a duel with Run ‘Em Off. What happens if my minion is destroyed by the other player during the duel? If my minion had a higher power at the time of destruction, does that mean the other minion loses the duel and I get to move it to another base?

A: Nothing happens because after resolving the dueling cards, both minions are not on the same base as each other (since one of them left play!), and so the duel stops without winner or loser and nothing happens from Run ‘Em Off's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability starts a duel (e.g. High Noon), or allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play a minion whose ability starts a duel (e.g. Gunfighter). Do I have to wait until the current duel is finished to start a new duel, or is the current duel put on hold while we resolve the new duel?

A: Actually, you simply ignore the new duel, as well as any of its effects because no duel can be initiated while a duel is being resolved.

Rule: Two duels may not happen at the same time, so if any ability that allows a duel is triggered during another duel, that part of the ability is ignored.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play the minion on a base that starts a duel after a minion is played there (e.g. Shogun’s Palace). I suppose that second duel is ignored, right?

A: No, this is not a case of a duel happening during another duel. The second duel here will happen after the current duel (and any other cards in the middle of resolution) is fully resolved. So there's no concurrency.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can I duel a monster?

A: It depends. Run ‘Em Off only allows you to duel "another player's minion", i.e. a minion controlled by another player. If you wish to duel an uncontrolled monster, then you can't because no player is controlling it. If another player does control the monster (e.g. because of Make Contact, Muffin, Charm, etc.), then you can duel it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: First of all, Run ‘Em Off affects minions in two different ways and it's possible for Run ‘Em Off to affect the same minion both ways in case of a tie. Run ‘Em Off affects by first boosting a minion's power to +3 power and then by moving a minion to another base. Note that starting a duel doesn't count as affecting any minion and so can't be copied. When you use any of the effect-copying cards, each one may only copy one of the two effects, either the move or the counters, not both. Of course, if you have several effect-copying cards that are triggered, you may have each one copy a different effect.
If you choose to copy the power boost:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that you won't be able to move an additional minion for affecting an additional minion because that part must be resolved as written and so only the losing minion will be moved.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that noone won't be able to move an additional minion for affecting an additional minion because that part must be resolved as written and so only the losing minion will be moved.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that noone won't be able to move an additional minion for affecting an additional minion because that part must be resolved as written and so only the losing minion will be moved.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that you won't be able to move an additional minion for affecting an additional minion because that part must be resolved as written and so only the losing minion will be moved.
If you choose to copy the move:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Stagecoach[]

Q: What does "Move or transfer up to two of your cards on the same base to another base" mean?

A: It means you can choose up to two of your cards on the same base and have them be relocated to a single other base; it can be any cards that you control, e.g. a minion, a play-on-base action, a titan or a buried cards. If it's a minion or a titan, it's "moved" to the new base. If it's a play-on-base action, it's "transferred" to the new base. See? While the move is the same, when it's a minion or a titan, the word "move" is used; when it's an action, the word "transfer" is used. On that note, it's not clear which terminology to use for buried cards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I can move/transfer "my cards". Can I move/transfer cards I own but I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" cards, right?

A: No. "Your cards" are cards you control, whether or not you own them. A card you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your card" means "a card that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: You can only copy the ability if at least one of the cards that are directly affected by Stagecoach is a minion. But if that's the case:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Pecos Bill[]

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it at any time, even outside of my turn, right?

A: Be careful, "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Pecos Bill, the condition is "When you become the challenger in a duel", which means you have to initiate a duel to play it and it can happen on any player's turn as long as you are the player who starts the duel, for example with Sheriff or Heart of the Battle.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: What does "Do not resolve any titan clashes until after the end of the duel" mean?

A: It means you do not resolve clashes immediately until after the duel has been resolved. And as a friendly reminder, if any Ongoing abilities where also triggered by the duel or any cards involved in the duel (such as Pecos Bill's second Ongoing ability), you won't resolve titan clashes until after those are resolved as well.

Rule: After a titan is played or moved to a base that already has a titan, resolve relevant Ongoing abilities first, then resolve the "clash".

Q: After resolving its second Ongoing ability, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: I suppose its first Ongoing ability only applies to the minions involved in the duel, right?

A: No, it applies to all minions on Pecos Bill's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Pecos Bill there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Pecos Bill is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Pecos Bill had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on a base to be eligible to receive its VP reward.

Trivia[]

  • The artist is Carl Frank.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after Oops, You Did It Again) is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Their divider features Gunfighter.
  • So-So Corral is a reference to the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral.
  • Deputy's appearance is a reference to Jessie from the Toy Story franchise.
  • According to Paul Peterson, the faction was supposed to have cow herding for benefits as a mechanic, but it was scrapped for its current version.
  • A younger version of Doctor When is present in High Noon.
  • The posse is composed of Sheriff, King Rex, Archmage, a Gnome, Pirate King, Nukebot and an Alien.
  • Cowboys were one of the top 8 nominated factions for "The Smash Up: It's Your Fault contest". They lost to Sharks.
  • Dynamite Surprise is the first action to have two Special abilities.

In other languages[]

Language Name
German Cowboys


Oops, You Did It Again
Factions: Ancient Egyptians  •  Cowboys  •  Samurai  •  Vikings
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Burying  •  Duels
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary  •  Excellent Movies, Dudes!  •  Half the Battle
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Booster Packs: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table  •  Smash Up Teens
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References[]

Advertisement