SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement
Supreme Intelligence.png

The Kree are an advanced militaristic race who strike down their foes with ruthless efficiency. Their strengths are in extra action play, additional power, and card draw. Their cards can be deployed for either long-term advantage or for devastating combos.

- Smash Up: Marvel rulebook

The Kree are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Marvel set.

They focus on playing extra actions, drawing cards, especially actions, and gaining power from playing actions.

Their complexity rating is: Low-Medium.

Other factions from the same set: Avengers, Hydra, Masters of Evil, S.H.I.E.L.D., Sinister Six, Spider-Verse, Ultimates.

Cards

Kree.jpg

The Kree have the usual 10 characters and 10 actions. The total character base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per character.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 3 character modifiers: Relentless Attack, Righteous Fury (2x),
  • 0 base modifiers,
  • 7 standard actions (3 that affect one or more characters, in bold): Battle Rage (2x), Call for Backup, It Begins, Prepare to Engage, Proven Methods, Speed Up,
  • 5 actions that directly increase a character's power: Battle Rage (2x), It Begins, Righteous Fury (2x).

Characters

1x Supreme Intelligence - power 5 - Ongoing: After you play an action, one of your other characters gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Minn-Erva - power 4 - Draw two cards. FAQ

3x Ronan the Accuser - power 3 - You may play an extra action. FAQ

4x Kree Sentry - power 2 - Ongoing: This character has +2 power if you have played two or more actions this turn. FAQ

Actions

2x Battle Rage - One of your characters gains +2 power until the end of the turn. Draw a card. FAQ

1x Call for Backup - Draw two cards. FAQ

1x It Begins - One of your characters gains +1 power until the end of the turn. Draw a card. You may play an extra action. FAQ

1x Prepare to Engage - Reveal the top five cards of your deck. Place up to two revealed actions into your hand and shuffle the rest into your deck. FAQ

1x Proven Methods - Place up to two actions from your discard pile on top of your deck in any order. FAQ

1x Relentless Attack - Character modifier. Talent: Play an extra action. FAQ

2x Righteous Fury - Character modifier. Ongoing: This character has +3 power. FAQ

1x Speed Up - Play up to two extra actions. FAQ

Kree icon.png

Bases

Clarifications

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Marvel rulebook:

Prepare to Engage: If your deck is empty before you reveal any cards, shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck. If your deck runs out before you find the appropriate card(s), stop revealing and continue with the rest of the instructions. Note: The last sentence seems like a mistake and you should really make a new deck and continue revealing from it to get five cards.

Supreme Intelligence: These are resolved every time their trigger happens, not just once per turn.

Mechanics

The Kree revolve around playing extra actions, getting power each time play an action, either from the action boosting a character's power or a character's ability triggering from the action being played, as well as drawing multiple cards, especially actions.

External Strategy Guides

FAQ

Questions on Supreme Intelligence

Q: On another player's turn, I manage to play an action (e.g. Widow’s Bite, Rescue Mission, With Great Power..., Scramble, etc.), I suppose I can't use Supreme Intelligence's boosting ability because it's not my turn, right?

A: Wrong, it doesn't matter whose turn it is (nor which phase it is), as soon as you play an action, it triggers its ability and you must resolve it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I manage to play several actions on the same turn, does it trigger only once or once for each action?

A: Once per action you played.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: If Supreme Intelligence is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.), do my other characters who got +1 power from it lose those +1 power?

A: No, they keep it until the end of the turn even if Supreme Intelligence is no longer in play.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if the cards with the "Until the end of the turn" abilities are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This only works with "my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It gives +1 power to "one of my other characters". Can I give it to a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play an action, but am interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would this card still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make you discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for this minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play Control Minion and take control of Supreme Intelligence, does it trigger its ability?

A: No, in order for Supreme Intelligence to trigger, it must "witness" its current controller playing an action. When you play Control Minion, during that split-second after Control Minion is played and before its ability is resolved, Supreme Intelligence isn't under your control and so didn't see its soon-to-be controller play the action.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.


Questions on Minn-Erva

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Ronan the Accuser

Q: If I manage to play a Ronan the Accuser during the Check for Scoring phase, perhaps as a result of a "special" ability (e.g. ...Comes Great Responsibility, do I get the extra action play?

A: Yes, and you have to play the extra action immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Kree Sentry

Q: I played two actions on the same turn, so from now on and until it leaves play, Kree Sentry has +2 power, right? And if I play two more actions on a later turn, it gets +4 power forever, right?

A: No, it only has +2 power during turns where you've played two or more actions. As soon as the game moves on to the next player's turn, it no longer has +2 power since you haven't played two or more actions that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: On another player's turn, I manage to play two actions (e.g. Widow’s Bite, Repulsor Boots, With Great Power..., ...Comes Great Responsibility, etc.), I suppose Kree Sentry ability doesn't work because it's not my turn, right?

A: Wrong, it doesn't matter whose turn it is (nor which phase it is), as soon as you have played two or more actions, it triggers its ability and you must resolve it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play two actions before playing a Kree Sentry or if I play one action, then a Kree Sentry and finally a second action, does it get +2 power?

A: Yes, Kree Sentries check at all times how many actions you played in total and get +2 power if that total is 2 or more, even if those actions were played before Kree Sentry itself.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Battle Rage

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This targets "one of my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card, not one card draw per affected minions. Indeed, that part is independent on the number of boosted minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card, not one card draw per affected minions. Indeed, that part is independent on the number of boosted minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card, not one card draw per affected minions. Indeed, that part is independent on the number of boosted minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card, not one card draw per affected minions. Indeed, that part is independent on the number of boosted minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Call for Backup

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Call for Backup doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on It Begins

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This targets "one of my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card and get only one extra action, not one card draw and one extra action per affected minions. Indeed, those parts are independent on the number of boosted minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card and get only one extra action, not one card draw and one extra action per affected minions. Indeed, those parts are independent on the number of boosted minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card and get only one extra action, not one card draw and one extra action per affected minions. Indeed, those parts are independent on the number of boosted minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you resolve the rest of the ability exactly as written, only draw one card and get only one extra action, not one card draw and one extra action per affected minions. Indeed, those parts are independent on the number of boosted minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Prepare to Engage

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action and you choose to place it into your hand, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- Otherwise, it's shuffled into its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Prepare to Engage doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Proven Methods

Q: With Hawkeye in play, I Hawkeye’s Arrows and reveal two actions, one of which is Proven Methods. Can I play Proven Methods as an extra action to put back Hawkeye’s Arrows on top of my deck?

A: No, because Hawkeye’s Arrows isn't in your discard pile at this point. If you decide to play the actions you revealed as Hawkeye’s Arrows's extra actions, those must be played immediately since they are specific cards, and therefore they must be played before Hawkeye’s Arrows is discarded.

Rule: Extra cards that refer to a specific card must be played immediately or not at all.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Proven Methods doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Relentless Attack

Q: Based on the wording, I can attach this card to another player's character. If I do, who can use the action's talent?

A: The action's controller. By default, an action's controller is the player who played it. Even if they attach it to another player's character, they are still the action's controller and only they can use its talent.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.

Q: Can I play this card on a character that already has a talent? Can a character have several talents?

A: You sure can play this card on any character, with or without a talent. Also, the character doesn't "gain" the action's talent, the talent belongs to the action and can only be used by the action's controller, not the character's controller (if they were different).

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Rule: A play-on-minion action doesn't give an ability to the minion it is attached to.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: It's a "character" modifier. So it can only be attached to a "character" card and not at all to a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, it can be played on a "character" or "minion" card. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: If a card refers to an action "that can be played on a minion" (e.g. Señor Muchoslam vs the Monsters, Tattoo Artist, Baboom), this one doesn't say "play on a minion" so it cannot be targeted, correct?

A: Wrong, "Character modifier" and "Play on a minion" are two synonymous phrases.

Rule: A card that says “Base/Character modifier” is the same as one that says “Play on a base/minion” in the other sets.

Q: If a minion with this action is on Standing Stones, can I use this action's talent twice?

A: No. Unlike how Passengers or Potion of Redundancy Potion work, the talent isn't one of that minion's abilities, so it doesn't count.

Rule: A play-on-minion action doesn't give an ability to the minion it is attached to.

Q: If a minion with this action is on Changing Room, does the minion get +1 power when I use this action's talent?

A: No, Changing Room's ability only applies to the minion's talent, either an original talent or one granted by an ability-giving action. Leader of the Pack doesn't grant the minion an ability, its ability is its own.

Rule: A play-on-minion action doesn't give an ability to the minion it is attached to.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so I can use its talent, right?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. In summary, only they can use Leader of the Pack's talent, not you.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Relentless Attack says "Character modifier", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Righteous Fury

Q:

A:

Rule:

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: It's a "character" modifier. So it can only be attached to a "character" card and not at all to a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, it can be played on a "character" or "minion" card. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: If a card refers to an action "that can be played on a minion" (e.g. Señor Muchoslam vs the Monsters, Tattoo Artist, Baboom), this one doesn't say "play on a minion" so it cannot be targeted, correct?

A: Wrong, "Character modifier" and "Play on a minion" are two synonymous phrases.

Rule: A card that says “Base/Character modifier” is the same as one that says “Play on a base/minion” in the other sets.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Righteous Fury says "Character modifier", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Speed Up

Q:

A:

Rule:

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Speed Up doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia

  • The font used for the Kree cards is Crillee in small caps.
  • Minn-Erva (in her mutated form) is fighting against Spider-Man in Proven Methods.

In other languages

Language Name
French Kree


Smash Up: Marvel
Factions: Avengers  •  Hydra  •  Kree  •  Masters of Evil  •  S.H.I.E.L.D.  •  Sinister Six  •  Spider-Verse  •  Ultimates
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Promotional: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References

Advertisement