SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

Martial arts, colorful uniforms, and when the time is right they morph combine into a giant robot! - AEG

Go go play on bases! Go go destroy minions! Go go Mega Troopers, you crazy Smash Up Mega Troopers! The Mega Troopers are the ultimate fighting team, snatching victory from the jaws of defeat. And should things get out of control, they can always call a giant frickin’ robot and auto-win. Which they should probably just do earlier in the fight, but whatever.

- Big in Japan rulebook

The Mega Troopers are one of the 4 factions from the Big in Japan set.

Mega Troopers work as a team to save the world right at the end of the mission!

Other factions from the same set: Itty Critters, Kaiju, Magical Girls.

Name

Before the set was released, they were called "Blitz Troopers" in some teasers for Big in Japan.[1]

Cards

Mega Troopers.JPG

The Mega Troopers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. They are also one of the rare factions to have a titan. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, the Mega Troopers have numerous abilities that boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (4 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Blitzing Sword Attack, Form Megabot! (2x), It’s Blitzin’ Time! (2x), Lightning Crystal, Lightning Rescue!, Mega Attack, Plan For More!, Power Pose,
  • 2 actions that directly increase a minion's power: It’s Blitzin’ Time! (2x).

Minions

1x Red Trooper - power 5 - Talent: Play or move Megabot to here. FAQ

1x Blue Trooper - power 4 - Special: Before this base scores, this minion gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Yellow Trooper - power 4 - Special: Before this base scores, you may move another one of your minions to here. FAQ

1x Black Trooper - power 3 - Ongoing: After a special ability is used, this minion gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Green Trooper - power 3 - Special: Before a base scores, you may play this minion there as an extra minion. FAQ

1x Pink Trooper - power 3 - Special: After this base scores, return one of your minions here of power 3 or less to your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

4x Beta 6 - power 2 - Special: Before this base scores, this minion gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Actions

1x Blitzing Sword Attack - Special: Before a base scores where you have a titan, if you are not winning there, destroy a minion there of power 4 or less. FAQ

2x Form Megabot! - Play or move Megabot to a base where you have at least two minions. FAQ

2x It’s Blitzin’ Time! - One of your minions gains +3 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Lightning Crystal - Destroy an action on a base or on a minion. FAQ

1x Lightning Rescue! - Special: Before a base scores, play an action as a special action. FAQ

1x Mega Attack - Destroy a minion with power less than the total power of your minions here. FAQ

1x Plan For More! - Reveal the top three cards of your deck. Draw any minions revealed; you may play one of them as an extra minion. Return the rest in any order. FAQ

1x Power Pose - Special: After a base scores where you were the winner, draw two cards. FAQ

Titan

1x Megabot - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this card on a base where you have at least three minions. Ongoing: You have +1 power here for each of your minions here. Special: Before another base scores, you may move this titan to there. FAQ

Mega Troopers.png

Bases

Clarifications

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Big in Japan rulebook:

Black Trooper: This triggers each time any player uses a special ability, and can trigger multiple times in a turn.

Megabot: You may play these instead of a regular minion play whether or not you have any minions in hand. No restrictions on minion play apply to titan play.

Mechanics

The Mega Troopers have several special abilities that activate before a base scores, allowing you to change the scoring to your advantage. Mega Trooper abilities are not at all exciting at first, but pull off mighty moves once tensions reach their climax.

As part of the Big in Japan set, Mega Troopers have a titan, Megabot.

Strategy

On the surface, Mega Troopers are a simple faction, revolving around simple ideas, although the quirky ways things turn out in the end may surprise you.

Never Use Your Power for Personal Gain

Things sure work out a lot better when you work as a team! Half of the Troopers interact with other minions, and Megabot both requires that you have minions in play and boosts those it is with.

Black Trooper makes no distinction on where he gets +1 power from. Titans, enemies, friends, everything, although use of the term "special" isn't always consistent. Mega Troopers probably have more special abilities than any other faction, though.

Never Escalate a Battle Unless the Bad Guy Forces You

Mega Troopers feature many abilities that trigger upon breaking or scoring bases. Similar ones are found in other factions: Shinobi, Scout, Pirate King, and Cthulhu’s Chosen, seen in Green Trooper, Pink Trooper, Megabot, and Blue Trooper (and Beta 6), respectively. Mega Troopers are comfortably the epitome of winning a base at the last moment. Most of these abilities require their cards to be in play to use them, lessening the element of surprise.

Mega Troopers build up a feeling of suspense and uncertainty over who will actually win a base once it breaks. Like Ninjas, Mega Troopers prefer that bases break with everyone at roughly the same contribution. A watchful opponent keeps track of the threat you pose on a base, and may avoid you, delaying the breaking of that base. Other factions are more likely to break bases than Mega Troopers, although they have a few ways to play a burst of power to break one themselves.

Keep Your Identity Secret

Some cards are much more unpredictable, such as Green Trooper and Lightning Rescue!. Execute a last-minute bait and steal by combining Megabot with Blitzing Sword Attack. Use these cards at critical moments to flip a situation from your defeat to your victory.

Synergy

Mega Troopers can't play extra minions, even though they benefit from having multiple on one base. Factions that can greatly aid Mega Troopers. Ones with special abilities are also good.

External Strategy Guides

FAQ

Questions on Red Trooper

Q: My opponent has Megabot in play. I play Copycat to copy their Red Trooper's ability. Do I take control of their Megabot?

A: No. If you choose the "play Megabot" option, nothing happens because Megabot is already in play. So you will neither play, nor take control of it. That is, of course, if there's only one Megabot in the game, if there are two players using Mega Troopers and the second Megabot isn't in play, you can play that one and you will therefore control it. If you choose the "move Megabot" option, their Megabot will be moved to Copycat's base, but you won't take control of it.

Rule: If a card allows you to move another player's titan, they still remain that titan's controller; you do not take control of it.

Q: My opponent has Megabot out of play, next to their deck. I play Copycat to copy their Red Trooper's ability. Am I then able to play their Megabot ? Do I have control of it then?

A: Yes and yes. That is if you don't already have control of a titan, in which case, you can't play a second one. Supposing you don't control any titan, you can indeed choose the "play Megabot" option and actually play it on Copycat's base (that's where "here" will refer to). Since you've played it, you'll then have control of Megabot until that titan leaves play.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Rule: If you already control a titan in play, you can't play another one.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Mega Troopers. I manage to get their Red Trooper card (e.g. Trade, Critter Cube (that's absolutely feasible if you lower Red Trooper's power!)) What happens if I choose the "play Megabot" option?

A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Megabot out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Red Trooper does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Megabot that's currently out of play, you can play it on Red Trooper's base and you have control of it, even if you're not that Megabot's owner.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Rule: If you already control a titan in play, you can't play another one.

Q: Is the restriction "to here" only for moving Megabot or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, whether you use Red Trooper's ability to move or play Megabot, it must be played on or moved to Red Trooper's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I choose to play Megabot, do I have to match its Special playing condition, i.e. having at least three minions on its base?

A: No, because you play it with Red Trooper, which doesn't have such restrictions. That restriction only matters if you play Megabot using its own Special ability.

Rule: Titans may be played on a base when a card — including the titan itself, says you can play them.


Questions on Blue Trooper

Q: Does boosting a minion's power before its base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Blue Trooper, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Blue Trooper isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Blue Trooper is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: Does its ability mean as its base is about to score it gains +2 or does it have +2 every turn before the base scores?

A: It only gets +2 power when the base it's on is chosen to score, not every turn until its base scores.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: I am trying to figure out Blue Trooper's ability. So if a base did not have enough power, his ability would not trigger right? Even if it's missing 2 power?

A: That's right. Its ability only triggers if the total power on a base matches or exceeds its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase and if that base is chosen to score. If it does not, the base doesn't score and Blue Trooper's ability doesn't trigger.

Rule: A base is ready to score if the total power on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase.

Q: Before a base scores, during the step where before-scoring cards in hand are played, I play a Blue Trooper with Hidden Ninja. Is it too late now to trigger Blue Trooper's ability?

A: No, revolve Blue Trooper's ability immediately before moving on to the next player.

Rule: If while resolving optional abilities, a card with a mandatory Ongoing or Special ability enters play, it is resolved immediately.

Q: Before the base scores, my Blue Trooper there is activated. Another player then moves my Blue Trooper to another base (e.g. Some Day My Prince Will Come). Does it keep its +2 power? What if its new base is then scored, does it now have +4 power?

A: Yes and yes. When Blue Trooper is activated, its ability makes it gain +2 power. So, until the end of the turn, even if Blue Trooper is moved to another base, it keeps its +2 power. If Blue Trooper's new base is scored on the same turn, its ability is triggered again and it gains an additional +2 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if the cards with the "Until the end of the turn" abilities are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.

Q: Before the base scores, my Blue Trooper there is activated. Another player then cancels my Blue Trooper's ability (e.g. Potion of Paralysis). Does it lose the +2 power?

A: No. When Blue Trooper is activated, its ability makes it gain +2 power until the end of the turn. So, until the end of the turn, even if Blue Trooper has its ability cancelled, it keeps the +2 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if the cards with the "Until the end of the turn" abilities are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.


Questions on Yellow Trooper

Q: Does moving a minion to a base before it scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Yellow Trooper, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Yellow Trooper isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Yellow Trooper is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Black Trooper

Q: I suppose it's only limited to specials I use, right? Other players using specials won't trigger it, correct?

A: Yes, this minion will also gain +1 power for each special ability used by other players.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Before a base scores, I play Lightning Rescue! and an action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Twice. Once for Lightning Rescue, because you used its Special ability, and a second time for the other action, because it is played "as a special action".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I have a Mole there and use its ability to play an action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Once, for the action because it is played "as a special action". Mole's own ability is an Ongoing, not a Special ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I play Hidden Ninja and a minion, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Once, for Hidden Ninja, because you used its Special ability. The minion itself is not played as a Special.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I play It’s a Trap! and the revealed action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Once, for It’s a Trap!, because you used its Special ability. The revealed action itself is not played as a Special unless it is a playable Special as well.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does it trigger when you use a Special ability that can't happen just to give it +1 power? For example, playing Live and Let Chum while there are no minions of power 3 or less on the base.

A: Yes. Even if the ability doesn't happen, it still counts as having been used. You've played it after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Green Trooper

Q: Does playing a minion before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: I don't get its ability. Can I only play this minion before a base scores?

A: No. Minions with a Special ability can be played as a normal minion without invoking their Special ability.

Rule: N/A

Q: I have Green Trooper on a base. Another base scores, can I use Green Trooper's Special ability to move it to that base?

A: No. You can only play a card from your hand (unless otherwise stated). Green Trooper's Special ability only works if it's in your hand.

Rule: "Play a minion" refers to minions in your hand.

Q: Before The Homeworld scores, I play Green Trooper as a Special there. Do I get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. And because it's outside of your Play Cards phase, you have to play it immediately or not at all.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: So the rulebook says Copycat can copy any type of abilities, including Special. So before a base scores, if another plays Green Trooper as a Special, I can copy the Green Trooper's ability and play Copycat, right? Same question about Wil Wheaton, Snuggly Bear, Argonaut, Fan, Shinobi, etc.

A: No, Copycat's ability is an on-play ability, which means you only resolve it if you play Copycat first. In your scenario, you invoke Copycat's ability while it's out of play and then use it to play Copycat, which isn't possible because you can only copy an ability by first playing Copycat. A Copycat's ability cannot be used to play the Copycat itself because playing it is required to invoke its copy ability in the first place.

Rule: An on-play ability happens when you play its card.


Questions on Pink Trooper

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Pink Trooper, the condition is "after this base scores", this means that you can only activate it after its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Pink Trooper isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Pink Trooper is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: Can I use Pink Trooper's ability on itself?

A: Yes, there's no such restrictions so it's a legal move.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Can I return a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: A base scores where I have Pink Trooper and I have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to return a minion to my hand? Is it discarded instead? Or do I get it and have to immediately discard a card?

A: It goes to your hand and you don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if the base scored during another player's turn, you keep all your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.


Questions on Beta 6

Q: Does boosting a minion's power before its base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Beta 6, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Beta 6 isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Beta 6 is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule: Abilities that say "Before/When/After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: Does its ability mean as its base is about to score it gains +1 or does it have +1 every turn before the base scores?

A: It only gets +1 power when the base it's on is chosen to score, not every turn until its base scores.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: I am trying to figure out Beta 6's ability. So if a base did not have enough power, his ability would not trigger right? Even if it's missing 2 power?

A: That's right. Its ability only triggers if the total power on a base matches or exceeds its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase and if that base is chosen to score. If it does not, the base doesn't score and Beta 6's ability doesn't trigger.

Rule: A base is ready to score if the total power on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase.

Q: Before a base scores, during the step where before-scoring cards in hand are played, I play a Beta 6 with Hidden Ninja. Is it too late now to trigger Beta 6's ability?

A: No, revolve Beta 6's ability immediately before moving on to the next player.

Rule: If while resolving optional abilities, a card with a mandatory Ongoing or Special ability enters play, it is resolved immediately.

Q: Before the base scores, my Beta 6 there is activated. Another player then moves my Beta 6 to another base (e.g. Some Day My Prince Will Come). Does it keep its +1 power? What if its new base is then scored, does it now have +2 power?

A: Yes and yes. When Beta 6 is activated, its ability makes it gain +1 power. So, until the end of the turn, even if Beta 6 is moved to another base, it keeps its +1 power. If Beta 6's new base is scored on the same turn, its ability is triggered again and it gains an additional +1 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if the cards with the "Until the end of the turn" abilities are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.

Q: Before the base scores, my Beta 6 there is activated. Another player then cancels my Beta 6's ability (e.g. Potion of Paralysis). Does it lose the +1 power?

A: No. When Beta 6 is activated, its ability makes it gain +1 power until the end of the turn. So, until the end of the turn, even if Beta 6 has its ability cancelled, it keeps the +1 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if the cards with the "Until the end of the turn" abilities are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.


Questions on Blitzing Sword Attack

Q: Does destroying a minion before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: Before a base scores, I play this card and destroy a minion on that base, reducing the total power below the breakpoint. This ends the scoring, right?

A: You're mistaken here. Once a base has been chosen to score, you keep scoring it even if the total power on it drops below its breakpoint because of before-scoring abilities. (Only a couple of things can really prevent a base from scoring, but this isn't one of them.)

Rule: The chosen base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: It applies to a base "where I have a titan". Is it enough if there is a titan there that I own but don't control? For example, if someone managed to play my own titan through copying or stealing one of my cards. I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "Where you have a titan" means "where you control a titan (whether or not you own it)". Titans you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: I can only play this "if I am not winning". If I only have a titan there that doesn't grant power, I'm not even competing for the base's VPs (I have neither minion, nor at least 1 total power), so can I even play this card?

A: Of course. Are you winning on the base? No, then you are definitely "not winning". You do not need a minion, nor at least 1 power to play this card. Otherwise it would have specified it.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 4, its controller is winning, or its controller doesn't have a titan there), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4, its controller is winning, or its controller doesn't have a titan there), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 4, its controller is winning, or its controller doesn't have a titan there), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4, its controller is winning, or its controller doesn't have a titan there), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Form Megabot!

Q: If I choose to play Megabot, do I also have to match its Special playing condition, i.e. having at least three minions on its base?

A: No, because you play it with Form Megabot!, which has its own restrictions. The restriction about the three minions only matters if you play Megabot using its own Special ability.

Rule: Titans may be played on a base when a card — including the titan itself, says you can play them.

Q: Is the restriction "to a base where you have at least two minions" only for moving Megabot or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, whether you use Form Megabot! to move or play Megabot, it must be played on or moved to a base where you control at least two minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I need to "have at least two minions". Do minions that I own but don't control also count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so I "have" them, right?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Mega Troopers. I manage to get their Form Megabot! card (e.g. Trade, Mass Enchantment, Min-Maxing, Word of Recall) What happens if I choose the "play Megabot" option?

A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Megabot out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Form Megabot! does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Megabot that's currently out of play, you can play it on a base where you have at least two minions and you have control of it, even if you're not that Megabot's owner.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Rule: If you already control a titan in play, you can't play another one.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Form Megabot! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on It’s Blitzin’ Time!

Q: It gives +3 power to "one of my minions". Can I give it to a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lightning Crystal

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Lightning Crystal doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Lightning Rescue!

Q: Can playing an action before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: Before a base scores, I play this card and an action that leads to the reduction of the total power there to below the breakpoint. This ends the scoring, right?

A: You're mistaken here. Once a base has been chosen to score, you keep scoring it even if the total power on it drops below its breakpoint because of before-scoring abilities. (Only a couple of things can really prevent a base from scoring, but this isn't one of them.)

Rule: The chosen base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: Before a base scores, I play Lightning Rescue! and an action, how many times does Black Trooper get +1 power?

A: Twice. Once for Lightning Rescue, because you used its Special ability, and a second time for the other action, because it is played "as a special action".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Lightning Rescue! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mega Attack

Q: Do I count my titan's power (e.g. Gorgodzolla, Rainboroc) or my power actions' power (e.g. Tail Smash, Aggromotive) on that base?

A: No, only your minions' power.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.

Q: Do I count the power of minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you destroy one of your minions there, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Plan For More!

Q: Does "any" here mean "any number of" or do I have to draw all minions revealed?

A: It means "all".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location. On top of that, you won't be able to play it because it's not in your hand.[2]
- If it's an action, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: After playing this card, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Plan For More! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Power Pose

Q: After playing this card, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if this is played on another player's turn, you keep all your cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Power Pose doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Megabot

Main article: Titans

Q: Does moving it to a base and boosting my total power there before that base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Megabot, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase; if used to play a non-minion card, no restriction on minion plays apply to that card play.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Megabot if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase; if used to play a non-minion card, no restriction on minion plays apply to that card play.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Megabot there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Megabot is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Megabot had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on a base to be eligible to receive its VP reward.

Q: I need to "have at least three minions". Do minions that I own but don't control also count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so I "have" them, right?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: What are the +1 powers added to? Do they increase the power of my minions?

A: No, they are added to your total power on the base. It doesn't increase any of your minions' power. You just calculate your total power on the base normally, then add +1 power from Megabot as many times as you have minions on its base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Mega Troopers. Their Megabot isn't in play. I have three minions on the same base and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Megabot through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, only the player who has it next to their deck can play it.

Rule: Playable Special cards can only be played by their current possessor.

Trivia

  • The artist is Hinkle / Silva Art.
  • Their divider (a "proper" titan-less one is in The Bigger Geekier Box) features Mega Attack.
  • The font used for the Mega Troopers cards is Osaka-SansSerif in small caps.
  • This faction is based on Super Sentai/Power Rangers.
    • Beta 6 is a persiflage of the robot Alpha 5 from the Power Rangers. Alpha's "oyoyoy" - an expression of seeing forthcoming problems - is written on the chest of Beta 6.
    • Plan for more! shows a teaching man with a holographic head in front of some teens. He can be also found in the background of the Beta 6 card and is a reference to Zordon from the Power Rangers, the alien teacher and leader of the fighting teens. In the series he has no body but a holographic head.
    • Moon Dumpster refers to the first episode of Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Day of the Dumpster.
  • Place the six Troopers side-by-side in this order left to right to form a nearly continuous image from their backgrounds:
    • Black, Yellow, Red, Green, Pink, Blue

In other languages

Language Name Translation (if different)
Chinese 超能戰隊 Power Team
French Super Combattants Super Fighters
German Mega Troopers
Hebrew גיבורי החיל Trooper Heroes
Italian Mega Troopers


Big in Japan
Factions: Itty Critters  •  Kaiju  •  Magical Girls  •  Mega Troopers
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Promotional: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References

Advertisement