
This faction had no official flavor text when it first came out, because the 10th Anniversary set had no rulebook.
The Mermaids are one of the 4 factions from the 10th Anniversary set.
They focus on moving other players' minions to bases where you have minions and on reducing minions' contribution to their controllers' total powers.
Other factions from the same set: Sheep, Skeletons, World Champs.
Cards[]

The Mermaids have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.
Among their actions, there are:
- 0 play-on-minion actions,
- 3 play-on-base actions: Becalmed Shores, Desert Island, Shipwreck Cove,
- 7 standard actions (6 that affects one or more minions, in bold): Captive Audience (2x), Charmed (2x), Siren Song, Toll Bay, Ultimate Song,
- 3 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Captive Audience (2x), Shipwreck Cove.
Minions[]
1x Mermaid Queen - power 5 - Move another player’s minion to here or choose a minion here. If it has 3 or less power, take control of it until the end of the turn. FAQ
2x Temptress - power 4 - Ongoing: If one or more minions of other players have moved to here during this turn, this minion has +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ
3x Charmer - power 3 - Talent: You may move this minion to another base. Then you may move another player’s minion of power 3 or less to this minion’s base. FAQ
4x Siren - power 2 - Ongoing: Other players’ minions here add 1 less power to their controller’s total. FAQ
Actions[]
1x Becalmed Shores - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players’ minions here have -1 power. Talent: Transfer this action to another base. FAQ
2x Captive Audience - Choose a base. One of your minions there gains +1 power until the end of the turn for each minion there you don’t own. Play an extra action. FAQ
2x Charmed - Choose a minion of power 3 or less. You may move it to another base where you have a minion. It doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn. Play an extra action. FAQ
1x Desert Island - Play on a base. Ongoing: Minions here do not add their power to their controllers’ totals. Destroy this card at the start of your turn. FAQ
1x Shipwreck Cove - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here each have +1 power. Special: After this base scores, you may transfer this card to another base. FAQ
1x Siren Song - Choose a base. Move one of each other player’s minions there to one other base where you have a minion. FAQ
1x Toll Bay - Choose a base. Draw a card for each other player’s minion there. FAQ
1x Ultimate Song - Choose a base where you have a minion. Each other player must play a minion there of power 3 or less as an extra minion or reveal a hand with no such minions. Cancel those minions’ abilities until the end of the turn. You may play an extra minion there and/or an extra action. FAQ
[FACTION ICON]
Bases[]
Clarifications[]
There are no official clarifications for this faction as no rulebook was made for the 10th Anniversary set.
Mechanics[]
Synergy[]
- Pirates: The original movement faction can help Mermaids gather minions right where they want them. Shipwreck Cove is great for increasing the power of First Mates, as its transfer special mirrors their movement specials. The Pirates' destruction effects aren't quite as useful to the Mermaids, though Becalmed Shores can pull power 3 minions into Cannon or Broadside Range if desired.
- Dragons: Dragons get effects like Hatchling and Imperial Dragon that trigger after another player's minion moves to their base, making Mermaids great for luring said minions right into the Dragons' ambush.
- Sharks: Mermaid movement can lure minions right into a Shark feeding frenzy. Becalmed Shores belie the danger of Great Whites and Megalodon lurking for prey.
- Tornados: The most movement-happy faction by far. Like Pirates, Tornados can help mermaids get minions right where they want them, and Mermaids' power adjusting effects in turn can help Tornados.
- Ignobles: Mermaids love a Captive Audience, and what easier way to build one up than with minions that you give to other players?
- Sheep: Sheep like to follow minions that move, and Mermaids are good at moving other players' minions.
FAQ[]
Questions on Mermaid Queen[]
Q: If I move a minion of power 3 or less, do I take control of it? Or do I only take control of a minion of power 3 or less that's already at Mermaid Queen's base?
A: You take control of the moved minion if it has a power of 3 or less.
Q: Am I only able to move another player's minion of power 3 or less?
A: No, you can move another player's minion of any power. If said minion has 3 or less power, you will also take control of it.
Q: I play Mermaid Queen and take control of a minion and then Mermaid Queen is destroyed. Do I have to immediately give back control of the minion because of Mermaid Queen's destruction? If not, do I still have to give back control of it at the end of the turn?
A: No, even if Mermaid Queen is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn. And yes, at the end of the turn, the effect expires so you have to give back the control of the minion.
Q: I take control of another player's minion on which they played a Shielding or Expanded Power. I suppose I also take control of the action and so Shielding or Expanded wouldn't protect this minion against my cards, right?
A: Wrong. Even if you take control of another player's minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it, so Shielding and Expanded Power still "see" you as another player and still protects the minion from your actions (for Shielding) and from your destruction attempts (for Expanded Power).
Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.
Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin. If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?
A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and another player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.
Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.
Rule: "Other players" on a minion, action or titan means everyone except the controller of the card.
Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?
A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).
Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.
Q: If I take control of an opponent's only minion on a base and score that base, does this minion count as my minion and that opponent is treated as having no minion on that base?
A: Correct. It's now your minion, not theirs. So they won't be eligible to get any VPs if they don't have any minion on the scoring base (or at 1 total power there without minions).
Q: Can you move a minion from stasis to a base?
A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.
Q: I take control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. If it's destroyed while still under my control, who gets the VP?
A: The minion's owner gets the VP, no matter who controls it.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?
A: Yes, but only a monster that's already on Mermaid Queen's base as it just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.
Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?
A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.
Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.
Questions on Temptress[]
Q: On another player's turn, another player's minion is moved to Temptress's base, I suppose its ability doesn't work because it's not my turn, right?
A: Wrong, it doesn't matter whose turn it is (nor which phase it is), as soon as Temptress is on a base where another player's minion was moved to, it triggers its ability and you must resolve it.
Q: If another player's minion is moved and then I play or move Temptress to the same base, does it get +2 power?
A: Yes, Temptress checks at all times if it's on a base where one or more of another player's minion was moved that turn and gets +2 power if that's the case, even if those minions were moved before Temptress is present.
Q: If I move an enemy minion to Temptress's base and then take control of it (e.g. with Mermaid Queen), does Temptress still get +2 power?
A: Yes, it was moved to its base while being under the control of another player, so the condition "If one or more minions of other players have moved to here during this turn" checks out.
Q: If an enemy minion is moved to Temptress's base and it is then destroyed (e.g. with Cub Scout), does Temptress still get +2 power?
A: Yes, it was moved to its base, so the condition "If one or more minions of other players have moved to here during this turn" checks out.
Q: If Temptress gets +2 power and is then moved to a base where no enemy minion was moved to this turn, does it keep its +2 power?
A: TBD
Rule: TBD
Q: If Temptress gets +2 power and is then moved to a base where one or more enemy minions were also moved to this turn, does it get another its +2 power while keeping the previous +2 power?
A: TBD
Rule: TBD
Questions on Charmer[]
Q: Do I have to move Charmer to be able to move another player's minion?
A: No, it is worded as "You may do X. Then you may do Y", which means that you can first do X, and then whether or not you did X, you can do Y. So you don't have to have done X to do Y.
Q: I suppose the other player's minion has to come from Charmer's previous base if Charmer has been moved, right?
A: No, the other player's minion can be moved from any other base regardless of Charmer's original base. In fact, you can also move another player's minion if you didn't move Charmer.
Q: Can you move a minion from stasis to a base?
A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.
Questions on Siren[]
Q: What does "add 1 less power to their controller’s total" mean? Is it the same as reducing its power by 1?
A: It's not the same as reducing its power by 1. The minion is still considered as having its modified power (without Siren's effect) for cards that target minions of a certain power. You just count 1 less power from the minion when you calculate the total power of its controller. However, the minion still helps break the base it's on! For example, if another player has a minion of power 5, it's still considered as a minion of power 5, so it can't be targeted by Seeing Stars, but it can be targeted by Justice Friends. When you check if its base scores, you do add its power when determining the total power there. And when the base scores, this minion only counts for 4 power ("1 less") when you calculate its controller's total power there.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: If I only have a 0-power minion on Siren's base, does my total power go negative?
A: No, that minion doesn't add any power, or rather it adds 0 power. It cannot add less than that.
Q: If I have a 0-power minion and a power-2 minion on Siren's base, is my total power 0? Because they add to 2 total power, but Siren gives me -2 power (-1 for each of my minion)
A: No, each minion adds one less power, so your power-0 minion adds 0 power to your total (it cannot go below 0) and your power-2 minion adds 1 power to your total. So your total power on that base is 1.
Q: Does its ability count as affecting the minions? For example, is a Dork Orc or an Incorporeal minion immune or not?
A: Yes, while unofficially, it has been confirmed that making a minion add less or no power at all to its controller's total power counts as affecting it. So Dork Orc and an Incorporeal minion are immune to it.
Rule: TBD
Questions on Becalmed Shores[]
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if they have a minion there, since they're "another player" from my point of view, their minion also gets -1 power, right? And I can also use this talent when it's my turn, right?
A: No and no. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents" and the talent can only be used by them.
Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.
Rule: "Other players" on a minion, action or titan means everyone except the controller of the card.
Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.
Q: When a base scores, if a player has minions there but a total of 0 power (e.g. because of Becalmed Shores), can they still get VP?
A: If 0 is among the top three total power there, then as long as a player has a minion there, they can get VP.
Q: Becalmed Shores is on Tsar’s Palace. Does that mean that minions of power 3 or less can't be played there anymore?
A: No. Tsar’s Palace only forbids minions of power 2 or less from being played there, so power-3 minions are fine. Becalmed Shores only affects minions once they are in play, not in hand. So, when a minion of power 3 is played there, Tsar’s Palace authorizes it, then Becalmed Shores reduces its power to 2, but Tsar’s Palace doesn't retroactively kick the minion out.
Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.
Q: An ability is already affecting my minion (e.g. Becalmed Shores). What happens if I play Tooth and Claw... and Guns on it?
A: Tooth and Claw... and Guns is destroyed and Becalmed Shores stops affecting the minion for the rest of the turn.
Q: I have a power-3 minion and In Plain Sight on the same base (In Plain Sight doesn't protect my minion yet). Another player plays Becalmed Shores on that base and chooses to give -1 power to all minions, so my power-3 minion becomes power 2 and is now in the range of protection of In Plain Sight and so Becalmed Shores doesn't affect it anymore. But then it loses the -1 power and becomes power-3, out of range of In Plain Sight, so Becalmed Shores can affect it again. And so on, and so on... How do we settle this loop?
A: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook settled it: Because Becalmed Shores is what allows your minion to be protected by In Plain Sight, In Plain Sight "accepts" it.
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
Rule: Definition of "standard".
Questions on Captive Audience[]
Q: I play Captive Audience and boost one of my minions. What happens if the number of minions I don't own on that base changes?
A: The power boost remains the same, it's not adjusted to match the new number of minions.
Rule: On-play abilities are resolved only once and have no further effect.
Q: It gives power to "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?
A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: Why does it say "each minion there you don’t own"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "other players' minions"?
A: Those don't mean the same thing at all. You "own" a minion if it was part of your deck at the start of the game. A minion you "don't own" is one that wasn't part of your deck at the start of the game. In fact, you can control minions you don't own if they are ones you stole from another player (e.g. with Vikings), if they are ones you took control of (e.g. with Kitty Cats), if they are Treasures you drew or if they are Monsters you took control of. Those would count for Captive Audience. On the other hand, other players' minions are usually minions you don't own as well, but there can be exceptions, for example if they are minions they got from you (e.g. with Kitty Cats, Vikings, etc.). Those would be minions they control but that you own, meaning they don't count for Captive Audience.
Rule: Definition of "owner".
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Diva only copies the power boost and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Dancing King only copies the power boost and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because We are Family only copies the power boost and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Funky Town only copies the power boost and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
Questions on Charmed[]
Q: What does "It doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total" mean? Is it the same as reducing its power to 0?
A: It's not the same as reducing its power to 0. The minion is still considered as having its modified power for cards that target minions of a certain power. You just don't count the minion when you calculate the total power of its controller. However, the minion still helps break the base it's on! For example, if you play it on a minion of power 5, it's still considered as a minion of power 5, so it can't be targeted by Seeing Stars, but it can be targeted by Justice Friends. When you check if its base scores, you do add its power when determining the total power there. And when the base scores, this minion isn't counted when you calculate its controller's total power there. In the case of an uncontrolled monster, nothing happens.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: Can I choose one of my minions?
A: Yes, you can choose any minion of power 3 or less on a base, including one of yours. Keep in mind that its power will still stop being added to your total power, as that part is mandatory and not dependent on which player controls the minion. On the other hand, the movement is optional so you can indeed move one of your minions of power 3 or less.
Q: Can I choose a minion in stasis?
A: No, cards in stasis cannot be chosen by cards that do not explicitly state cards in stasis can be chosen.
Q: Does its "power-negation" ability count as affecting the minions? For example, is a Dork Orc or an Incorporeal minion immune or not?
A: Yes, while unofficially, it has been confirmed that making a minion add less or no power at all to its controller's total power counts as affecting it. So Dork Orc and an Incorporeal minion are immune to it.
Rule: TBD
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: First of all, Charmed affects a minion twice, first by moving it and then by having its power not counted toward its controller's total power. When you use any of the effect-copying cards, each one may only copy one of the two effects, either the move or the "power negation", not both. Of course, if you have several effect-copying cards that are triggered, you may have each one copy a different effect. Finally, you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
If you choose to copy the move:
- If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that if Diva copies the move, it won't copy the "power negation", so that part is resolved as written, in that case "It doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn" should be understood as "the minion that was directly affected doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn."
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that if Dancing King copies the move, it won't copy the "power negation", so that part is resolved as written, in that case "It doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn" should be understood as "the minion that was directly affected doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn."
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that if We are Family copies the move, it won't copy the "power negation", so that part is resolved as written, in that case "Place two +1 power counters on that minion" should be understood as "It doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn" should be understood as "the minion that was directly affected doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn."
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that if Funky Town copies the move, it won't copy the "power negation", both because that part is resolved as written, in that case "It doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn" should be understood as "the minion that was directly affected doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn" and because both the minion that was directly affected and the one that was indirectly affected are no longer on Funky Town.
If you choose to copy the "power negation", the directly affected minion must still be on a base with an effect-copying card for the effect to be copied, so if the move happens, it must end on that base:
- If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and doesn’t add its power to its own controller’s total until the end of the turn, even if its controller is different from the controller of the minion that was directly affected.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and doesn’t add its power to its own controller’s total until the end of the turn, even if its controller is different from the controller of the minion that was directly affected.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions there, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and doesn’t add its power to its controller’s total until the end of the turn.
Questions on Desert Island[]
Q: What does "Minions here do not add their power to their controllers’ totals" mean? Is it the same as reducing their powers to 0?
A: It's not the same as reducing their powers to 0. The minions are still considered as having their modified powers for cards that target minions of a certain power. You just don't count the minions when you calculate the total power of their respective controllers. However, the minions still help break the base they're on! For example, if a minion of power 5 is on that base, it's still considered as a minion of power 5, so it can't be targeted by Seeing Stars, but it can be targeted by Justice Friends. When you check if the base scores, you do add the modified powers of each player's minion there when determining the total power there. And when the base scores, none of the minions are counted when you calculate their respective controller's total power there. In the case of uncontrolled monsters, nothing happens and they keep adding their power to the base's breakpoint.
Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.
Q: Does its "power-negation" ability count as affecting the minions? For example, is a Dork Orc or an Incorporeal minion immune or not?
A: Yes, while unofficially, it has been confirmed that making a minion add less or no power at all to its controller's total power counts as affecting it. So Dork Orc and an Incorporeal minion are immune to it.
Rule: TBD
Q: Why is it Ongoing if it eventually destroys itself?
A: It's an Ongoing, so its effect lasts for as long as the card is in play. But the effect only lasts until your next turn, so it needs to destroy itself to make itself stop.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. My turn is next, so at the start of my turn, this action is destroyed, right? It's a base action after all and base abilities concern all players, right?
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn". Also, a base's ability is only the text at the bottom of the base card, but an action's ability is just that action's ability, even if played on a base.
Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.
Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
Rule: Definition of "standard".
Questions on Shipwreck Cove[]
Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?
A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Shipwreck Cove, the condition is "after this base scores", this means that you can only activate it after its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Shipwreck Cove isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Shipwreck Cove is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it also gets +1 power, right? And after this base scores, I also get to transfer this card to another base, right?
A: No and no. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them, the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "you may transfer" means "they may transfer".
Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.
Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.
Q: It gives +1 power to "my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?
A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
Rule: Definition of "standard".
Questions on Siren Song[]
Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?
A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that if more than one minion were moved, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per moved minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect an opponent's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town.
Questions on Toll Bay[]
Q: After playing Toll Bay, I have more than 10 cards in my hand, do I have to discard down to 10 now?
A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two more cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.
Questions on Ultimate Song[]
Q: Extra plays are always optional according to the rules. So I don't have to play a minion of power 3 or less even if I have one in hand, right?
A: Actually, you must play one if you have any in hand since the card says you "must" play it. Since it contradicts the rules, you must follow what the card says instead of the rules.
Rule: Often, card text and rules text will conflict. When there's a fight, card text wins.
Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?
A: It goes back to your hand, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.
Rule: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.
Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?
A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...) Quite frankly, it's not that useful with Diva.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...)
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...)
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect opponents' minions, which won't trigger Funky Town.
Trivia[]
- The artist is Mad Boogie Creations, who also designed the art of the Backtimers and the Rulers of the Cosmos.
- Mermaids (as Merfolk) were one of the top 16 nominated factions for "The Smash Up: It's Your Fault contest". They lost to Hackers.
- They were also one of the top 32 nominated factions for "The Smash Up: Oops, You Did It Again contest". They lost to Elementals.
- Charmer is a reference to Ariel and Sebastian from The Little Mermaid.
In other languages[]
Language | Name |
---|
|