SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement
Maria Hill.png

S.H.I.E.L.D. carefully monitors the world and stands ready to jump in to stop their foes. Its agents excel at both calling in extra characters for help and strengthening each other. Careful planning allows them to play cards in the right order to maximize their assets.

- Smash Up: Marvel rulebook

The S.H.I.E.L.D. is one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Marvel set.

They are able to play several characters on the same base and get benefits, most often power boosts, for having several characters on the same base.

Their complexity rating is: Low.

Other factions from the same set: Avengers, Hydra, Kree, Masters of Evil, Sinister Six, Spider-Verse, Ultimates.

Cards

Shield.jpg

The S.H.I.E.L.D. has the usual 10 characters and 10 actions. The total character base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per character.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 character modifiers,
  • 2 base modifiers: Proving Ground (2x),
  • 8 standard actions (4 that affect one or more characters, in bold): Entry Point, Mission Debriefing (2x), Reassignment, Rescue Mission, Superior Firepower, Troop Drop, Work Together,
  • 1 action that directly increases a character's power: Work Together.

Characters

1x Nick Fury - power 5 - You may play an extra character here. FAQ

2x Maria Hill - power 4 - Ongoing: After you play another character here, this character gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

3x Agent Coulson - power 3 - You may play a character of power 2 or less here as an extra character. FAQ

4x S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent - power 2 - Ongoing: If another of your characters is here, this character has +1 power. FAQ

Actions

1x Entry Point - Play an extra character. FAQ

2x Mission Debriefing - Choose a base. Draw a card for each of your characters there. FAQ

2x Proving Ground - Base modifier. Talent: Play a character of power 3 or less here as an extra character. FAQ

1x Reassignment - Choose a base. Move up to two of your characters from other bases to there. FAQ

1x Rescue Mission - Special: After a base scores, shuffle all of your characters there into their owners’ decks and draw a card. FAQ

1x Superior Firepower - Destroy a base modifier or a character of power 3 or less. FAQ

1x Troop Drop - Play a character of power 3 or less as an extra character. FAQ

1x Work Together - Each of your characters currently in play gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

SHIELD icon.png

Bases

Clarifications

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Marvel rulebook:

Agent Coulson, Troop Drop: Though there are constraints on the extra card played, you can choose to play them later in the same Play Cards phase; they do not refer to specific cards (as Hawkeye’s Arrows does, for instance).

Maria Hill: These are resolved every time their trigger happens, not just once per turn.

Proving Ground: Though there are constraints on the extra card played, you can choose to play them later in the same Play Cards phase; they do not refer to specific cards (as Hawkeye’s Arrows does, for instance).

Rescue Mission: Several other Smash Up sets have cards that take or give control of characters, which is why these cards say “its owner’s deck” instead of “your deck”, in case you control characters you don’t own.

Work Together: They only affect characters in play when the ability is resolved, not those played afterward, but their effects continue even if they leave play before the end of the turn. The word “currently” helps make this clearer, but is not present in similar cards in other Smash Up sets.

Mechanics

They specialize in playing a lot of characters in one turn, especially characters of power-3 or less. Some cards even give you boosts of power depending on the number of characters you have or play on the same base.

External Strategy Guides

FAQ

Questions on Nick Fury

Q:

A:

Rule:

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can play an extra "character". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as the extra character without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.


Questions on Maria Hill

Q: I manage to play a character on my Maria Hill's base but on another player's turn, I suppose I can't use Maria Hill's ability because it's not my turn, right?

A: Wrong, it doesn't matter whose turn it is (nor which phase it is), as soon as you play a character on your Maria Hill's base, it triggers its ability and you must resolve it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I manage to play several characters on Maria Hill's base on the same turn, does it trigger only once or once for each character?

A: Once per character you played there.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I play a character on my Maria Hill's base. Which character does "this character" refer to, Maria Hill or the played character?

A: Maria Hill.

Rule: N/A

Q: I play Nick Fury and with its ability immediately play Maria Hill. Does Maria Hill get +1 power from Nick Fury?

A: No, because Nick Fury has been played while Maria Hill isn't there, so it doesn't trigger it.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This triggers after I play a "character". So it only triggers from "character" cards, not "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, this triggers from both "characters" and "minions". "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.


Questions on Agent Coulson

Q:

A:

Rule:

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can play an extra "character". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as the extra character without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.


Questions on S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent

Q: If I have S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent on the same base as two or more of my other characters, does it get +1 power for each of those characters or +1 total?

A: +1 total.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This works if I have "another character". So it only works with "character" cards, not "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It has +1 power if there is "another of my characters" on its base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If there's a power-2 minion with a boosted power-3 S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent on the same base, can I use Cannon to first destroy the power-2 minion, and then S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent because its power dropped to 2?

A: No, the minions you choose must be destroyed at the same time. So, first, you choose up to two eligible minions (S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent being at power 3 isn't eligible). And then, you destroy the chosen minions.

Rule: When a single effect makes one player affect multiple cards, they are all affected at the same time.

Q: Another player has a S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent alone on its base. I move it to another base where I have a Cub Scout and that player has another minion. Does S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent get +1 power immediately or is it destroyed by Cub Scout before it happens?

A: It gets +1 power immediately.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play, and/or it triggers at some later time while in play.


Questions on Entry Point

Q: Can I play Entry Point without having any characters in my hand? How do I prove that I don't have a character to play?

A: You can play Entry Point without playing a character and there's no reason to prove you can't do it. Actually, when you play Entry Point (during your Play Cards phase), it just grants you the possibility to play an extra character. You don't even have to play one if you don't want to.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I played Entry Point but then decided I don't want to play a character anymore. Do I still have to play one?

A: No. Even though it says "Play an extra character", you don't have to do it. Abilities that grant extra cards to play just increases the number of cards of that type that you can play for the turn, but they never force you to play one. This is an exception to the rule that tells you that you must follow a card's ability.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can play an extra "character". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as the extra character without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Entry Point doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mission Debriefing

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in my hand, do I have to discard down to 10 now?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two more cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This draws a card for "each of my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: Do I also draw a card for minions there that I own but don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mission Debriefing doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Proving Ground

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so on my turn, I can now use its talent, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore only they can use its talent.

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can play an extra "character". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as the extra character without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: If a card refers to an action "that can be played on a base" (e.g. Mechanic, Flank Attack), this one doesn't say "play on a base" so it cannot be targeted, correct?

A: Wrong, "Base modifier" and "Play on a base" are two synonymous phrases.

Rule: A card that says “Base/Character modifier” is the same as one that says “Play on a base/minion” in the other sets.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Proving Ground says "Base modifier", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Reassignment

Q: Can I move up to two characters from one base and up to two others from another base, or up to two characters in total?

A: Up to two characters in total.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This only works with "my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It tells me to move "up to two of my characters". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Do the minions need to be on the same base?

A: No.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion, that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that if the moved minions were from the same base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that if the moved minions were from the same base, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rescue Mission

Q: When can I play Rescue Mission?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and after its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "after scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: Can't I play Rescue Mission to shuffle Baron Zemo into my deck instead of on the bottom of it and still gain 1 VP?

A: No. Firstly, Baron Zemo is a mandatory ability so you have to resolve it before you're able to play Rescue Mission from your hand. And secondly, in order to gain 1 VP, you have to fully resolve Baron Zemo's ability which includes both the VP and placing Baron Zemo on the bottom of your deck, so unless you find a way to prevent Baron Zemo from placing itself under your deck (which is possible outside the Marvel set), the moment you're able to play a Special from your hand, Baron Zemo is no longer in play to be targeted.

Rule: When resolving card reactions, resolve mandatory cards that were triggered while in play first, then resolve triggered optional cards in play and in hand.

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This only works with "my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It tells me to shuffle "all of my characters" there into my deck. Do I also shuffle minions there that I own but don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Rescue Mission lets you shuffle minions on a base back into your deck after a base scores. If this includes minions with effects that prevent discard, such as the Pirate First Mate (move to another base when scored) or Alien Scout (return to your hand), which takes precedence? Can the player choose?

A: Rescue Mission takes precedence because unlike those other cards, the shuffling comes immediately and not "instead of the discard pile".

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: On a scoring base, I control another player's minion and they control one of mine. If I play Rescue Mission, what happens to the minion they own but I control? What happens to the minion I own but they control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: Rescue Mission only affects your minions, i.e. the minions you control, so it won't do anything to the minion that you own but that another player controls, so that minion will go into your discard pile as usual. However, it affects the minion that they own but that you control, since it's one of "your minions". So, Rescue Mission will have that minion shuffled into its rightful owner's deck.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: First off, note that no matter how many times you get to copy the effect of that card, you still only draw one card because that part doesn't affect any minions and doesn't depend on the number of minions shuffled.
- Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is shuffled into its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is shuffled into its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule: Cards that refer to a card’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.


Questions on Superior Firepower

Q: What's a base modifier "of power 3 or less"?

A: Nothing. The "of power 3 or less" part only applies to the character you wish to destroy.

Rule: N/A

Q: The character I want to destroy has a printed power of 3 but has +1 or more power from another card (e.g. Cover the Exits, Righteous Fury). Can I do it?

A: No, the character's power is actually more than 3, so you cannot even target it with Superior Firepower's ability.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifications.

Q: A character is protected from being destroyed. (e.g. Indestructible Form, Spider-Man 2099) But this card allows me to destroy them, so surely I can do it, right?

A: No, the cards that say you can't do something beat the cards that say you can do it.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This can only target "a character". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: This can only target a "base modifier" so I cannot use it and target an action that says "Play on a base", correct?

A: Wrong, "Base modifier" and "Play on a base" are two synonymous phrases.

Rule: A card that says “Base/Character modifier” is the same as one that says “Play on a base/minion” in the other sets.

Q: Can Superior Firepower work with Spirit of the Forest?

A: No, Spirit of the Forest only works with abilities that say "OR" in upper case. Besides, "OR" abilities allow a clear distinction between its two parts; each can be taken separately and still make sense. Here, "or" separates "Destroy a base modifier" and "a character of power 3 or less". Doing "a character of power 3 or less" doesn't mean anything by itself. You could argue that the player has to try and make sense of how to "use both parts" of its ability, but the player trying to make sense of an ability goes against a fundamental rule of Smash Up that they just have to do what the cards say, and the Spirit of the Forest says "OR", while Superior Firepower says "or".

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.


Questions on Troop Drop

Q: Can I play Troop Drop without having any characters in my hand? How do I prove that I don't have a character to play?

A: You can play Troop Drop without playing a character and there's no reason to prove you can't do it. Actually, when you play Troop Drop (during your Play Cards phase), it just grants you the possibility to play an extra character. You don't even have to play one if you don't want to.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I played Troop Drop but then decided I don't want to play a character anymore. Do I still have to play one?

A: No. Even though it says "Play an extra character", you don't have to do it. Abilities that grant extra cards to play just increases the number of cards of that type that you can play for the turn, but they never force you to play one. This is an exception to the rule that tells you that you must follow a card's ability.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can play an extra "character". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as the extra character without difference. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Troop Drop doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Work Together

Q: If I play Work Together and then play another character afterward, does the new character get +1 power from Work Together?

A: No, it only increases the power of characters "currently in play" at the time the card is played, and not the power of characters played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: This only works with "my characters". So it only works with "character" cards, not with "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It gives +1 power to "my characters". Does it also give +1 power to a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your characters" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I play Work Together and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my minions before Work Together expires (e.g. The Base Is Not Enough, Can Has Cheeseburger?), does the minion keep its boost?

A: No, Work Together should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, so the restriction that only your minions are affected only matters when Work Together is played. Afterwards, if the minion's controller changes the +1 power still remains applied to it until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" effects persist until the end of the turn even if the cards with the "Until the end of the turn" abilities are removed from play, even if those abilities are lost or cancelled, and even if their cards change controllers.

Q: An opponent's Magic Ward is on a base where I have minions, can I play Work Together and boost them?

A: Sure. Magic Ward only prevents "play on a base" actions from being played there, but Work Together isn't played on a base, so Magic Ward does nothing to it.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia

  • The font used for the S.H.I.E.L.D. cards is Jack'sCandlestickBold in small caps.
  • S.H.I.E.L.D. Base has the same ability as Secret Grove, but with a different breakpoint and VP spread.

In other languages

Language Name
French S.H.I.E.L.D.


Smash Up: Marvel
Factions: Avengers  •  Hydra  •  Kree  •  Masters of Evil  •  S.H.I.E.L.D.  •  Sinister Six  •  Spider-Verse  •  Ultimates
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Promotional: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References

Advertisement