SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement
Samurai-Way-of-the-Warrior-731x1024

The samurai were known for their prowess in battle and also for their willingness to seek the good death. Samurai in Smash Up not only fight for the win, they benefit their controller if they meet their end early. And Samurai also have the ability to create duels similar to the Cowboys, but with different results and effects. - AEG

Honor is a force stronger than tin! The Samurai of Smash Up face their enemies with a spirit of calm, ready to face their end in battle if their lord requires it. Using dueling, the samurai will take down their enemies, or die gloriously, bringing great esteem to their family. No broken cavalry or ring‑bouncing required! Utz... Kampai!

- Oops, You Did It Again rulebook

The Samurai are one of the 4 factions from the Oops, You Did It Again set.

They give you benefits from being destroyed or being discarded from play, such as power boosts, card draws, and even VPs.

Other factions from the same set: Ancient Egyptians, Cowboys, Vikings.

Cards[]

IMG E0787-1-

The Samurai have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 1 play-on-minion action: Final Haiku,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Honor the Fallen,
  • 8 standard actions (7 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Code of Bushido, Heart of the Battle, Honor the Ancestors, Honorable Combat, Way of the Warrior (2x), Yokai Attack! (2x),
  • 4 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Code of Bushido, Honor the Ancestors, Way of the Warrior (2x).

Minions[]

1x Shogun - power 5 - Ongoing: After another of your minions goes to the discard pile from play, place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

2x Bushi - power 4 - Ongoing: After this minion goes to the discard pile from play while it has 5 or more power, gain 1 VP. FAQ

3x Ronin - power 3 - If this is your only minion on this base, place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

4x Samurai-Chan - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card. FAQ

Actions[]

1x Code of Bushido - Place a +1 power counter on up to three of your minions. FAQ

1x Final Haiku - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: After this minion goes to the discard pile from play, your minions each gain +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Heart of the Battle - Special: Play before a base scores. One of your minions there duels another player’s minion there. Destroy the losing minion. FAQ

1x Honor the Ancestors - Place a +1 power counter on one of your minions. For each other player in the game, you may shuffle a minion from your discard pile back into your deck. FAQ

1x Honor the Fallen - Play on a base. Ongoing: After one of your minions here goes to the discard pile, draw a card. FAQ

1x Honorable Combat - Choose a base where another player has more power than you. One of your minions there duels one of that player’s minions there. The controller of the winning minion gains 1 VP. FAQ

2x Way of the Warrior - Until the end of the turn, one of your minions gains +3 power, and if it goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card. FAQ

2x Yokai Attack! - Destroy one of your minions to play an extra minion and an extra action. FAQ

Samurai logo

Bases[]

Clarifications[]

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Oops, You Did It Again rulebook:

Honor the Ancestors: In a 2-player game you shuffle one minion into your deck, in a 3-player game two, and in a 4-player game three minions.

Samurai-Chan, Bushi, Shogun, Final Haiku, Way of the Warrior, Honor the Fallen: A minion going to the discard pile from play includes both being discarded after scoring, and being destroyed.

Mechanics[]

Samurai's mechanic revolves around getting benefits after one of their minions goes to the discard pile from play. This can happen for example when the minion is destroyed, or when it's discarded from a base either because it scored or because it's removed. The benefits are quite varied, including card draws, power boosts, VPs or extra card plays.

External Strategy Guides[]

FAQ[]

Questions on Shogun[]

Q: What does it mean for a minion to go to the discard pile from play?

A: It means first being on a base, and then going to the discard pile for whatever reason. Possible reasons include:
- being destroyed (if the minion does end in the discard pile as a result, as such, being destroyed on Tar Pits will result in the minion going to bottom of a deck, not to the discard pile and so won't trigger Shogun),
- being discarded after its base scores,
- and being discarded after the base leaves play outside of scoring (this would happen for indestructible minions after a base is destroyed by There Goes Tokyo).

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: If Shogun's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Shogun's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Code of Bushido or Honor the Ancestors)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: When your minions in stasis go to the discard pile, does Shogun gain +1 power counters?

A: Yes, your minions in stasis are considered in play, so if they go from stasis to the discard pile, they indeed went to the discard pile from play, triggering Shogun.

Rule: Cards in stasis are considered in play, but they are not on any base.


Questions on Bushi[]

Q: Isn't there a problem with its ability? I get the VP once it's in the discard pile, but once in the discard pile, it goes back to become a power 4, so it's never going to be power 5 in the discard pile.

A: Actually, it just needs to be power 5 when it goes to the discard pile from play; that's enough to trigger its ability and you'll get the VP no matter what.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, its card needs to be in play when the triggering event happens.

Q: What does it mean for Bushi to go to the discard pile from play?

A: It means first being on a base, and then going to the discard pile for whatever reason. Possible reasons include:
- being destroyed (if the minion does end in the discard pile as a result, as such, being destroyed on Tar Pits will result in the minion going to bottom of a deck, not to the discard pile and so won't trigger Bushi),
- being discarded after its base scores,
- and being discarded after the base leaves play outside of scoring (this would happen for indestructible minions after a base is destroyed by There Goes Tokyo).

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: If this goes to the discard pile from stasis, does it trigger its ability?

A: No, while in stasis, the only abilities that can do anything are the ones that explicitly state that they do something there.

Rule: Abilities of cards in stasis do not work unless they refer to stasis.


Questions on Ronin[]

Q: If Ronin's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Ronin's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Code of Bushido or Honor the Ancestors)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Samurai-Chan[]

Q: What does it mean for Samurai-Chan to go to the discard pile from play?

A: It means first being on a base, and then going to the discard pile for whatever reason. Possible reasons include:
- being destroyed (if the minion does end in the discard pile as a result, as such, being destroyed on Tar Pits will result in the minion going to bottom of a deck, not to the discard pile and so won't trigger Samurai-Chan),
- being discarded after its base scores,
- and being discarded after the base leaves play outside of scoring (this would happen for indestructible minions after a base is destroyed by There Goes Tokyo).

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: If I already have 10 cards in hand when I draw the card, do I discard down to 10?

A: No. You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. In particular, if this happens on another player's turn, you keep those cards and can start your upcoming turn with more than ten cards!

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: If this goes to the discard pile from stasis, does it trigger its ability?

A: No, while in stasis, the only abilities that can do anything are the ones that explicitly state that they do something there.

Rule: Abilities of cards in stasis do not work unless they refer to stasis.


Questions on Code of Bushido[]

Q: It allows me to place +1 power counters on up to three of "my minions". Can I place one on a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I can place a maximum of three +1 power counters with this card. Can all three +1 power counters be placed on the same minion?

A: No, you choose up to three of your minions and these minions receive only one +1 power counter each.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can you place a +1 power counter on a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Code of Bushido.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Code of Bushido. Note that if several of the minions that were directly affected are on the same base, Dancing King only triggers once, not once per affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Code of Bushido.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Code of Bushido. Note that if several of the minions that were directly affected are on the same base, Funky Town only triggers once, not once per affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Final Haiku[]

Q: It says to play it on "one of my minions". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: What does it mean for a minion to go to the discard pile from play?

A: It means first being on a base, and then going to the discard pile for whatever reason. Possible reasons include:
- being destroyed (if the minion does end in the discard pile as a result, as such, being destroyed on Tar Pits will result in the minion going to bottom of a deck, not to the discard pile and so won't trigger Final Haiku),
- being discarded after its base scores,
- and being discarded after the base leaves play outside of scoring (this would happen for indestructible minions after a base is destroyed by There Goes Tokyo).

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: If I play this on a Bushi and it goes to the discard pile from play, wouldn't Bushi get +2 power (because Final Haiku applies to all "my minions") and therefore grant me 1 VP?

A: No, Final Haiku does trigger when the minion it is attached to goes to the discard pile, but you will only give the +2 power after you're done resolving the played cards and card in the middle of resolution and at that point Bushi will already be in the discard pile and therefore not eligible to receive the +2 power.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can you play it on a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on one of your minions", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Heart of the Battle[]

Q: I can make "one of my minions" duel. Can I make a minion I own but I don't control duel? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minion" is a minion you control, whether or not you own it. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if there's a tie at the end of the duel?

A: Both minions are considered as winning and losing the duel, so you must destroy both of them.

Rule: In case of a tie in a duel, both minions are considered as the winning and the losing minions.

Q: Does destroying a minion before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: Before a base scores, I start a duel there and destroy a minion, reducing the total power below the breakpoint. This ends the scoring, right?

A: You're mistaken here. Once a base has been chosen to score, you keep scoring it even if the total power on it drops below its breakpoint because of before-scoring abilities. (Only a couple of things can really prevent a base from scoring, but this isn't one of them.)

Rule: The chosen base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: Can I play it from stasis before a base scores?

A: No, while in stasis, the only abilities that can do anything are the ones that explicitly state that they do something there.

Rule: Abilities of cards in stasis do not work unless they refer to stasis.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if my minion has less power at the end of the duel? Who destroys my minion, e.g. if we're on Field of Honor?

A: As you guessed it, your minion is destroyed. The person who destroys it is the person who started the duel, namely you, because the cards says "(you) destroy the losing minion."

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions move to other bases during the duel?

A: It depends. After resolving the dueling cards, if both minions are on the same base, then you determine which minion wins and which minion loses and resolve the duel's effects as normal. But if both minions are not on the same base, then the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by Heart of the Battle's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions change controller during the duel without changing bases?

A: You still determine which minion loses the duel and destroy it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if my minion is destroyed by the other player during the duel? If my minion had a higher power at the time of destruction, does that mean the other minion loses the duel and so is destroyed?

A: Nothing happens because after resolving the dueling cards, both minions are not on the same base as each other (since one of them left play!), and so the duel stops without winner or loser and no minion is destroyed by Heart of the Battle's ability.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability starts a duel (e.g. High Noon), or allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play a minion whose ability starts a duel (e.g. Gunfighter). Do I have to wait until the current duel is finished to start a new duel, or is the current duel put on hold while we resolve the new duel?

A: Actually, you simply ignore the new duel, as well as any of its effects because no duel can be initiated while a duel is being resolved.

Rule: Two duels may not happen at the same time, so if any ability that allows a duel is triggered during another duel, that part of the ability is ignored.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play the minion on a base that starts a duel after a minion is played there (e.g. Shogun’s Palace). I suppose that second duel is ignored, right?

A: No, this is not a case of a duel happening during another duel. The second duel here will happen after the current duel (and any other cards in the middle of resolution) is fully resolved. So there's no concurrency.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can I duel a monster?

A: It depends. Heart of the Battle only allows you to duel "another player's minion", i.e. a minion controlled by another player. If you wish to duel an uncontrolled monster, then you can't because no player is controlling it. If another player does control the monster (e.g. because of Make Contact, Muffin, Charm, etc.), then you can duel it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can only copy it if one of the minions of Diva's controller is destroyed), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you can't copy the initiation of a duel because being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Honor the Ancestors[]

Q: It allows me to place +1 power counters on "one of my minions". Can I place one on a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I don't get the second ability. How many minions am I allowed to retrieve?

A: It depends on how many opponents you're playing against. In a two-player game, you can only retrieve one. In a three-player game, you can retrieve two. And in a four-player game, you can retrieve three.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: Check Honor the Ancestors's clarification.

Q: Can you place a +1 power counter on a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter. Note that you don't retrieve minions an extra time for the additional minion because that part only depends on the number of other players, not the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter. Note that you don't retrieve minions an extra time for the additional minion because that part only depends on the number of other players, not the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter. Note that you don't retrieve minions an extra time for the additional minion because that part only depends on the number of other players, not the number of affected minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter. Note that you don't retrieve minions an extra time for the additional minion because that part only depends on the number of other players, not the number of affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Honor the Fallen[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so when one of my minions there goes to the discard pile, I draw a card, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "(you) draw" means "they draw".

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: What does it mean for a minion to go to the discard pile from play?

A: It means first being on a base, and then going to the discard pile for whatever reason. Possible reasons include:
- being destroyed (if the minion does end in the discard pile as a result, as such, being destroyed on Tar Pits will result in the minion going to bottom of a deck, not to the discard pile and so won't trigger Honor the Fallen),
- being discarded after its base scores,
- and being discarded after the base leaves play outside of scoring (this would happen for indestructible minions after a base is destroyed by There Goes Tokyo).

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: If several of my minions go to the discard pile from the base with Honor the Fallen, how many cards do I draw? One or one for each minion?

A: You draw one card for each of your discarded minions.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: After the base with my Honor the Fallen scores, my minions there and Honor the Fallen all go to the discard pile at the same time. Do I still draw cards for my discarded minions? Honor the Fallen would already be discarded when I have to draw the cards and so its ability doesn't apply anymore, or does it?

A: Yes, you draw a card for each of your discarded minions. This situation is very similar to when Clyde 2.0 is discarded with actions on it; the official rule is that its ability applies even though it went to the discard pile at the same time as the actions.[1] So Honor the Fallen should also trigger even when it's discarded at the same time as the minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: It allows me to draw a card after "one of my minions" there is discarded. Does it also work with minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I already have 10 cards in hand when I draw the card(s), do I discard down to 10?

A: No. You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. In particular, if this happens on another player's turn, you keep those cards and can start your upcoming turn with more than ten cards!

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Honorable Combat[]

Q: I start a duel with Honorable Combat. I don't see it anywhere on the card but I suppose the losing minion is destroyed just like all other duel cards, righ?

A: No, Honorable Combat doesn't end in any minion's destruction. When dueling, check the card that started the duel. That card will actually say what happens at the end of the duel. And no, a duel doesn't necessarily mean that the losing minion will be destroyed. If it's the case, the card will actually say it. If it doesn't say it, then it's not the case.

Rule: The benefits of winning, or the harm of losing, are specified by the card that starts the duel.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I can make "one of my minions" duel. Can I make a minion I own but I don't control duel? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minion" is a minion you control, whether or not you own it. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I suppose I have to choose my lowest-power minion and have it face off my opponent's highest-power minion, right?

A: No. Your choice of opponent is indeed limited by how much total power they have compared to your total power, but other than that you can choose any of your minions and have it duel any of their minions. So you could very well choose your highest-power minion and have it duel a lower-power minion controlled by your opponent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if there's a tie at the end of the duel?

A: Both minions are considered as winning and losing the duel, so both their controller gain 1 VP.

Rule: In case of a tie in a duel, both minions are considered as the winning and the losing minions.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions move to other bases during the duel?

A: It depends. After resolving the dueling cards, if both minions are on the same base, then you determine which minion wins and which minion loses and resolve the duel's effects as normal. But if both minions are not on the same base, then the duel stops without winner or loser and neither player will gain the 1 VP.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if one or both minions change controller during the duel without changing bases?

A: You still determine which minion wins the duel and its controller gain 1 VP. If both minions are tied for the most power, then you even gain 2 VPs!

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I start a duel with its ability. What happens if my minion is destroyed by the other player during the duel? If my minion had a higher power at the time of destruction, doesn't my minion win the duel and give me 1 VP?

A: Nothing happens because after resolving the dueling cards, both minions are not on the same base as each other (since one of them left play!), and so the duel stops without winner or loser and neither player will gain the 1 VP.

Rule: After a duel’s actions are resolved, if the two minions of the duel are not together on the same base as each other, the duel stops without resolution.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability starts a duel (e.g. High Noon), or allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play a minion whose ability starts a duel (e.g. Gunfighter). Do I have to wait until the current duel is finished to start a new duel, or is the current duel put on hold while we resolve the new duel?

A: Actually, you simply ignore the new duel, as well as any of its effects because no duel can be initiated while a duel is being resolved.

Rule: Two duels may not happen at the same time, so if any ability that allows a duel is triggered during another duel, that part of the ability is ignored.

Q: As my dueling card, I choose an action whose ability allows me to play an extra minion and I choose to immediately play the minion on a base that starts a duel after a minion is played there (e.g. Shogun’s Palace). I suppose that second duel is ignored, right?

A: No, this is not a case of a duel happening during another duel. The second duel here will happen after the current duel (and any other cards in the middle of resolution) is fully resolved. So there's no concurrency.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can I duel a monster?

A: It depends. Honorable Combat only allows you to duel "another player's minion", i.e. a minion controlled by another player. If you wish to duel an uncontrolled monster, then you can't because no player is controlling it. If another player does control the monster (e.g. because of Make Contact, Muffin, Charm, etc.), then you can duel it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters are not "other players' minions" for any players, but each player is “another player” to uncontrolled monsters.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, being in a duel is not considered as affecting any minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Way of the Warrior[]

Q: I don't get it. So after playing Way of the Warrior, I have to discard Way of the Warrior, so according to its effect "if it goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card.", I will draw a card, correct?

A: No, "it" in the phrase "if it goes to the discard pile from play" refers to the minion you chose to give +3 power, so you will only draw a card if that minion goes to the discard pile by the end of the turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It gives +3 power to "one of my minions". Can I give it to a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: What does it mean for a minion to go to the discard pile from play?

A: It means first being on a base, and then going to the discard pile for whatever reason. Possible reasons include:
- being destroyed (if the minion does end in the discard pile as a result, as such, being destroyed on Tar Pits will result in the minion going to bottom of a deck, not to the discard pile and so won't trigger Way of the Warrior),
- being discarded after its base scores,
- and being discarded after the base leaves play outside of scoring (this would happen for indestructible minions after a base is destroyed by There Goes Tokyo).

Rule: Going to the discard pile from play includes being discarded after scoring, being destroyed and, for an attachment, being discarded when the card it is attached to leaves play.

Q: Can I choose a minion in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be chosen by cards that do not explicitly state cards in stasis can be chosen.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that affecting an additional minion doesn't allow you to draw a card if that additional minion goes to the discard pile. The rest is resolved as written and so "if it goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card" should be understood as "if the minion that was directly affected goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card."
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that affecting an additional minion doesn't allow you to draw a card if that additional minion goes to the discard pile. The rest is resolved as written and so "if it goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card" should be understood as "if the minion that was directly affected goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card." Note that affecting an additional minion doesn't allow you to draw a card if that additional minion goes to the discard pile. The rest is resolved as written and so "if it goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card" should be understood as "if the minion that was directly affected goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card."
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that affecting an additional minion doesn't allow you to draw a card if that additional minion goes to the discard pile. The rest is resolved as written and so "if it goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card" should be understood as "if the minion that was directly affected goes to the discard pile from play, draw a card."

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Yokai Attack![]

Q: Can I play this and choose not to destroy one of my minions? (e.g. because I'm playing with the Mythic Greeks or know that I don't have a better minion and/or action to play)

A: Yes, this action is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. destroying one of your minions, is actually optional.[2]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), do I still get an extra minion and an extra action to play?

A: No. The extra cards are dependent on your minion's destruction. So, if it is not destroyed, you cannot play extra cards.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: Can you destroy one of your minions in stasis?

A: No, cards in stasis cannot be affected by cards that do not explicitly state they work on cards in stasis.

Rule: Cards in stasis may not be affected by, or chosen as the target of, any ability that does not refer to stasis.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play additional extra cards for the destroyed Diva, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play additional extra cards for the destroyed minion, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play additional extra cards for the destroyed minion, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play additional extra cards for the destroyed minion, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia[]

In other languages[]

Language Name
German Samurai


Oops, You Did It Again
Factions: Ancient Egyptians  •  Cowboys  •  Samurai  •  Vikings
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Burying  •  Duels
Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary  •  Excellent Movies, Dudes!  •  Half the Battle
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Booster Packs: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table  •  Smash Up Teens
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References[]

Advertisement