SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

Spider-Sense.png

Web-slinging heroes from parallel universes have come together in a common fight to protect their neighborhoods. They specialize in swinging in before and after bases score to sway things in their favor -- as long as they have someone already there. But they can be even stronger when they join forces during their own turn, so they can be busy no matter whose turn it is.

- Smash Up: Marvel rulebook

The Spider-Verse is one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Marvel set.

They focus on cards that can be played either "normally", i.e. by spending a free/regular or extra card play, or as Special cards during the scoring of bases, albeit in a weaker or more restrictive version than the normal play.

Their complexity rating is: Medium.

Other factions from the same set: Avengers, Hydra, Kree, Masters of Evil, S.H.I.E.L.D., Sinister Six, Ultimates.

Cards

Spiderverse.jpg

The Spider-Verse has the usual 10 characters and 10 actions. The total character base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per character.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 2 character modifiers: Spider-Verse Bond, Webbed Up,
  • 0 base modifiers,
  • 8 standard actions (4 that affects one or more characters, in bold): ...Comes Great Responsibility, Spider-Sense, Spider Reflexes, The View From Above (2x), With Great Power... (2x), Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero,
  • 3 actions that directly increase a character's power: Spider-Verse Bond, With Great Power... (2x).

Characters

1x Spider-Man - power 5 - Ongoing: After you play a card that has a Special ability, this character gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Ghost-Spider - power 4 - Look at the top three cards of your deck, draw one, and return the rest to the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. FAQ

3x Miles Morales - power 3 - Special: Before a base scores, if you have a character there, you may play this character there, and give it -1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

4x Spider-Man 2099 - power 2 - Ongoing: This character cannot be destroyed by other players’ cards. FAQ

Actions

1x ...Comes Great Responsibility - Play an extra character. Special: You may play this before a base scores where you have a character. Play the extra character there. It gains -1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Spider-Sense - Draw two cards. Special: You may play this after a base where you have a character scores. FAQ

1x Spider-Verse Bond - Character modifier. Ongoing: This character has +1 power for each of your other characters here. FAQ

1x Spider Reflexes - Look at the top three cards of your deck, draw one, and return the rest to the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. You may play an extra action. FAQ

2x The View From Above - Say either “character” or “action”. Reveal cards from the top of your deck until you reveal a card of that type, and draw it. Shuffle the rest into your deck. FAQ

1x Webbed Up - Character modifier. Ongoing: This character has -2 power and its abilities are cancelled. FAQ

2x With Great Power... - Give a character +3 power until the end of the turn. Special: You may play this before a base scores. Give a character there +2 power until the end of the turn instead of +3. FAQ

1x Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero - Special: After a base scores, place one of your characters there on top of its owner’s deck. FAQ

Spider-Verse icon.png

Bases

Clarifications

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Marvel rulebook:

...Comes Great Responsibility, With Great Power...: If you use its Special ability, you do not use its On-play ability.

Miles Morales: You can play one, two, or all three copies of this card onto the same breaking base, as long as you already have a character there.

Spider-Man: This still gets +1 power if you play a card that has a Special ability without using it, e.g. if you play Miles Morales normally.

Spider-Man: These are resolved every time their trigger happens, not just once per turn.

The View from Above: If your deck is empty before you reveal any cards, shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck. If your deck runs out before you find the appropriate card(s), stop revealing and continue with the rest of the instructions.

Webbed Up: This does not cancel the abilities of any other character modifiers attached to the same character.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero: Several other Smash Up sets have cards that take or give control of characters, which is why these cards say “its owner’s deck” instead of “your deck”, in case you control characters you don’t own.

Mechanics

The Spider-Verse possess various cards that can be played normally by spending a card play (which can be your free/regular card of your turns, or extra cards), but that can also be played during base scoring, although nearly all of them get weaker if you do so, either requiring you to have a character already on the scoring base, or reducing the power output.

To complement that, they also have a great card draw ability and ways to control the cards you'll draw from your deck.

External Strategy Guides

FAQ

Questions on Spider-Man

Q: If I play a card that has a Special ability but without using that Special ability, e.g. a normal Miles Morales or A Portent of Doom, does it still get +1 power?

A: Yes.

Rule: Check Spider-Man's clarification.

Q: I play a card with a Special ability but on another player's turn, I suppose I can't use Spider-Man's ability because it's not my turn, right?

A: Wrong, it doesn't matter whose turn it is (nor which phase it is), as soon as you play a card with a Special ability, it triggers Spider-Man's ability and you must resolve it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I manage to play several cards with a Special ability, does it trigger Spider-Man only once or once for each card?

A: Once per card with a Special ability you played.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: If I play a character or modifier with a Special ability on a different base than Spider-Man's or a non-modifier action that affects a card on a different base than Spider-Man's, does it still trigger Spider-Man?

A: Yes, it doesn't matter what happens where, if you play a card with a Special ability, it will trigger your Spider-Man.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Ghost-Spider

Q: What happens if there's fewer than three cards in my deck?

A: You take what's left of your deck, then shuffle your discard pile to form a new deck and resume taking cards until you have three cards.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck; continue from there.

Q: What happens if there's exactly three cards in my deck?

A: You look at those three cards, draw one, rearrange the other two and set them down. That's your deck. You don't shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck; continue from there.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Miles Morales

Q: When can I play Miles Morales as a Special?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and before its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "before scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: Does playing a character before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: I don't get its ability. Can I only play this character before a base scores?

A: No. Characters with a Special ability can be played as a normal character without invoking their Special ability.

Rule: N/A

Q: I have a Miles Morales on a base. Another base scores, can I use Miles Morales's Special ability to move it to that base?

A: No. You can only play a card from your hand (unless otherwise stated). Miles Morales's Special ability only works if it's in your hand.

Rule: "Play a minion" refers to minions in your hand.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I need to have "a character" there. So it only works if I have "character" cards there, ignoring any "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: Before The Homeworld scores, I play a Miles Morales as a Special there. Do I get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. And because it's outside of your Play Cards phase, you have to play it immediately or not at all.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: So the rulebook says Copycat can copy any type of abilities, including Special. So before a base scores, if another plays a Miles Morales as a Special, I can copy the Miles Morales's ability and play Copycat, right? Same question about Wil Wheaton, Snuggly Bear, Argonaut, Fan, Shinobi, etc.

A: No, Copycat's ability is an on-play ability, which means you only resolve it if you play Copycat first. In your scenario, you invoke Copycat's ability while it's out of play and then use it to play Copycat, which isn't possible because you can only copy an ability by first playing Copycat. A Copycat's ability cannot be used to play the Copycat itself because playing it is required to invoke its copy ability in the first place.

Rule: An on-play ability happens when you play its card.


Questions on Spider-Man 2099

Q:

A:

Rule:

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer), forcing me to destroy one of my minions. Can I choose Spider-Man 2099?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, Spider-Man 2099's own ability protects it from destruction.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on ...Comes Great Responsibility

Q: When can I play ...Comes Great Responsibility as a Special?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and before its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "before scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: Does playing a character before a base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

Q: During base scoring, I play ...Comes Great Responsibility. Can I play a character that gives me an extra card to play? (e.g. Ronan the Accuser, Agent Coulson)

A: Absolutely. And you do gain an extra card to play, but you must play it immediately or not all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Can I play ...Comes Great Responsibility without having any characters in my hand? How do I prove that I don't have a character to play?

A: You can play ...Comes Great Responsibility without playing a character and there's no reason to prove you can't do it. Actually, when you play ...Comes Great Responsibility, it just grants you the possibility to play an extra character. You don't even have to play one if you don't want to.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I played ...Comes Great Responsibility but then decided I don't want to play a character anymore. Do I still have to play one?

A: No. Even though it says "Play an extra character", you don't have to do it. Abilities that grant extra cards to play just increases the number of cards of that type that you can play for the turn, but they never force you to play one. This is an exception to the rule that tells you that you must follow a card's ability.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: Before the scoring of a base I used ...Comes Great Responsibility to play a character that destroys another one there, bringing the total power below the breakpoint. Does the base stop scoring?

A: No. Once a base has been chosen to score, even if the total power there changes during the before-scoring step, the base keeps scoring.

Rule: The chosen base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can play an extra "character" and possibly on a base where I have "a characters". So I can only play a "character" card, not a "minion" card, and only on a base where I have "a character", ignoring my "minions" there, correct?

A: Wrong, you can play a "character" or a "minion" card as the extra character without difference, and when played as a Special you must have either a character or a minion on the base. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: Before a base scores, I play a minion with ...Comes Great Responsibility but the minion also has a mandatory ability that works during the before-scoring step when it's in play (e.g. Pack Alpha). Can I activate its ability or is it too late?

A: Yes, you can and must activate the minion's ability immediately before moving on to the next player.

Rule: If while resolving optional abilities, a card with a mandatory Ongoing or Special ability enters play, it is resolved immediately.

Q: I play a Repeater Perfect with ...Comes Great Responsibility before a base scores. Can I use Repeater Perfect's ability to put ...Comes Great Responsibility on the top of my deck?

A: No. Since ...Comes Great Responsibility is played outside your Play Cards phase, the minion must be played immediately, that is before you discard ...Comes Great Responsibility. So, Repeater Perfect's ability is resolved before ...Comes Great Responsibility is discarded.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside of your Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: ...Comes Great Responsibility only affects a minion when played as a Special and if you do play it as a Special, only the -1 power can be copied, not the extra minion play.
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets -1 power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets -1 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets -1 power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets -1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Spider-Sense

Q: When can I play Spider-Sense as a Special?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and after its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "after scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: After playing this card, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this is played on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: As a Special, I need to have "a character" there. So it only works if I have "character" cards there, ignoring any "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: Its Special applies to a base "where I have a minion". Is it enough if there is a minion there that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Spider-Sense doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Spider-Verse Bond

Q: Does a character with Spider-Verse Bond get +1 power from itself?

A: No. Its ability refers to "your other characters", so excluding the character itself.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Spider-Verse Bond can be played on any character. What happens if I play it on another player's character instead of one of mine?

A: You are still Spider-Verse Bond's controller and so the action only addresses you and the ability must be interpreted from your point of view. So, in a very bizarre twist, that character will actually get +1 power for each of the minions controlled by you!.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: It's a "character" modifier and it only boosts based on the number of "your other characters". So it can only be attached to a "character" card and not at all to a "minion" card and only gives +1 power for each other "character" cards, ignoring any "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it can be played on a "character" or "minion" card and gives +1 power for each other "character" or "minion" card. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: If a card refers to an action "that can be played on a minion" (e.g. Señor Muchoslam vs the Monsters, Tattoo Artist, Baboom), this one doesn't say "play on a minion" so it cannot be targeted, correct?

A: Wrong, "Character modifier" and "Play on a minion" are two synonymous phrases.

Rule: A card that says “Base/Character modifier” is the same as one that says “Play on a base/minion” in the other sets.

Q: The minion gets +1 power for "each of my other minions". Do minions I own that I don't control there also count? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so my minion gets +1 power for each of my other minions on its base, right?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. So, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your other minions" means "their other minions". So, in a very bizarre twist, your minion will actually get +1 power for each of the minions controlled by the player who originally played Spider-Verse Bond!

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Spider-Verse Bond says "Character modifier", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Spider Reflexes

Q: What happens if there's fewer than three cards in my deck?

A: You take what's left of your deck, then shuffle your discard pile to form a new deck and resume taking cards until you have three cards.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck; continue from there.

Q: What happens if there's exactly three cards in my deck?

A: You look at those three cards, draw one, rearrange the other two and set them down. That's your deck. You don't shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck; continue from there.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Spider Reflexes doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The View From Above

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: If I go through all my deck and revealed no card of the called type, what happens? Do I shuffle my discard pile to make a new deck and continue revealing from there?

A: You stop revealing immediately, don't put any card into your hand and shuffle all those revealed cards to reconstitute your deck.

Rule: When revealing cards from a deck until you find a particular kind of card(s), if you run out of cards, you stop revealing.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: So I can only say "character" or "action", but not "minion", so this card is pretty bad when mixed with a faction from another set.

A: Actually, if you say "character", you will actually stop at the next "character" or "minion" card you find, and draw it, so this card does work with minions too!

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a card of the right type, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If not, it's shuffled into its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because The View From Above doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Webbed Up

Q: It doesn't say that the character has a minimum power of 0. So the character's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "character power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.

Q: Are the abilities of character modifiers on it also cancelled?

A: No, a character's abilities are the ones printed on the card and those given to it by certain abilities (e.g. Copycat, Potion of Redundancy Potion, Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers). The abilities of character modifiers on it are separate from the character's abilities. Besides, if that was the case, Webbed Up would also cancel its own abilities, which would make it useless.

Rule: A play-on-minion action doesn't give an ability to the minion it is attached to.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: It's a "character" modifier. So it can only be attached to a "character" card and not at all to a "minion" card, correct?

A: Wrong, it can be played on a "character" or "minion" card. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: If a card refers to an action "that can be played on a minion" (e.g. Señor Muchoslam vs the Monsters, Tattoo Artist, Baboom), this one doesn't say "play on a minion" so it cannot be targeted, correct?

A: Wrong, "Character modifier" and "Play on a minion" are two synonymous phrases.

Rule: A card that says “Base/Character modifier” is the same as one that says “Play on a base/minion” in the other sets.

Q: An opponent has Elder Thing in play. Can I play Webbed Up to remove its immunity?

A: If you try, it will be discarded without effect. That's because their Elder Thing cannot be affected by your cards, and playing an action on it counts as affecting it, so it won't work.

Rule: Definition of "affect". Playing an action on a minion counts as affecting the minion.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Webbed Up says "Character modifier", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on With Great Power...

Q: When can I play With Great Power... as a Special?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and before its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "before scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: Does boosting a character's power before its base scores change anything at all? Don't we only get VPs based on the power we had at the start of scoring?

A: Actually, the amount of VPs each player gets is determined by the power each player currently has when you are handing out VPs, so any before-scoring abilities (including this one) that affect how much power you have on the base will affect the amount of VPs you'll eventually get.

Rule: VPs are awarded according to the current power totals.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: It boosts the power of "a character". So it only works on "character" cards and not at all on "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works on both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I play it through its Special ability for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't remain in play after being played. With Great Power... doesn't remain in play when played, whether it's played normally or as a Special, so it IS a standard action no matter what.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero

Q: When can I play Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and after its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "after scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: Can't I play Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero to place Baron Zemo on top of my deck instead of on the bottom and still gain 1 VP?

A: No. Firstly, Baron Zemo is a mandatory ability so you have to resolve it before you're able to play Your Friendly Neighborhood Hero from your hand. And secondly, in order to gain 1 VP, you have to fully resolve Baron Zemo's ability which includes both the VP and placing Baron Zemo on the bottom of your deck, so unless you find a way to prevent Baron Zemo from placing itself under your deck (which is possible outside the Marvel set), the moment you're able to play a Special from your hand, Baron Zemo is no longer in play to be targeted.

Rule: When resolving card reactions, resolve mandatory cards that were triggered while in play first, then resolve triggered optional cards in play and in hand.

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

With AEG's Smash Up sets

Q: I can only save "one of my characters". So it only works on "character" cards, not on "minion" cards, correct?

A: Wrong, it works with both "character" and "minion" cards. "Character" and "minion" are two synonymous terms.

Rule: The word “character” is an exact synonym for “minion” in the other sets.

Q: It tells me to place "one of my minions" into my deck. Can I place a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule: Cards that refer to a card’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Trivia

  • The font used for the Spider-Verse cards is BlockBE-Regular in small caps.

In other languages

Language Name


Smash Up: Marvel

Factions: Avengers  •  Hydra  •  Kree  •  Masters of Evil  •  S.H.I.E.L.D.  •  Sinister Six  •  Spider-Verse  •  Ultimates

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Promotional: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References

Advertisement