SmashUp Wiki
Advertisement

This is the most powerful combo in the world. It’s(sic) can blow your base clean off the table. The question is, did I draw 5 cards, or 6? Well, do you feel lucky …. punk? - AEG

There’s never been vigilante justice like ’70s vigilante justice. Just as mean as the crime they fought fight, these hard-nosed heroes keep the streets safe for the good people of the city. They never back down, even when the odds are stacked way against them, because a good drink can help you shrug off anything. No matter what your opponent may throw at you, the Vigilantes will answer.

- That ’70s Expansion rulebook

The Vigilantes are one of the 4 factions from the That ’70s Expansion set.

Vigilantes are only composed of power-4 minions, each with a very oppressive and reactive effect to other players' cards.

Other factions from the same set: Disco Dancers, Kung Fu Fighters, Truckers.

Cards

Vigilantes Cards.JPG

The Vigilantes have only 7 minions and 13 actions compared to the usual 10 and 10. Every minion is power 4, which makes the total minion base power (not counting any abilities) equal to 28 or an average of 4 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. On top of that, they have several abilities that can boost the power of minions beyond their base value.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 3 play-on-minion actions: Feeling Lucky?, Tough It Out (2x),
  • 3 play-on-base actions: Let’s Finish This, Shrug it Off, Street Justice,
  • 7 standard actions (5 that affect one or more minions, in bold): A Whole Lot Meaner, Knocked into Next Week, Make My Day, Scared Straight, The Revenge, Who Loves Ya, Baby? (2x),
  • 3 actions that directly increase a minion's power: A Whole Lot Meaner, Tough It Out (2x).

Minions

1x Brojak - power 4 - Ongoing: After a minion moves, you may move this minion to the same base and give it +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Death Wisher - power 4 - Ongoing: Once per turn, after another player destroys a minion they don't control, you may destroy one of that player's minions. FAQ

1x Dusty Henry - power 4 - You may shuffle a minion here into its owner’s deck. FAQ

1x Foxy Green - power 4 - Ongoing: After another player plays a card or uses a talent that directly affects one or more minions here, place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

1x Jacky Bill - power 4 - Ongoing: After another player plays an action, you may have this minion gain +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Shift - power 4 - Place up to two minions from your discard pile on top of your deck. FAQ

1x Stoneford - power 4 - Search your deck for an action and place it into your hand. FAQ

Actions

1x A Whole Lot Meaner - One minion gains +3 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Feeling Lucky? - Play on a minion. Ongoing: After this minion’s controller plays an action, destroy the minion if this card is still on it. FAQ

1x Knocked into Next Week - Choose a minion. Shuffle it into its owner’s deck. FAQ

1x Let’s Finish This - Play on a base. Ongoing: If you and another player have a minion here at start of your turn, reduce the printed breakpoint of this base to 0 until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Make My Day - Destroy a minion of power 3 or less on a base where you have a minion. Draw a card. FAQ

1x Scared Straight - Move another player’s minion from a base where you have a minion to another base. Play an extra action. FAQ

1x Shrug it Off - Play on a base. Talent: Cancel the abilities of this base until the start of your next turn. FAQ

1x Street Justice - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here are not affected by other players’ cards. FAQ

1x The Revenge - Special: Play after a base scores where you didn't win. Move one of your minions there to another base instead of the discard pile. FAQ

2x Tough It Out - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +2 power and cannot be destroyed. FAQ

2x Who Loves Ya, Baby? - Draw a card for each minion you control of power 4 or more. FAQ

Vigilante.png

Bases

Clarifications

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the That ’70s Expansion rulebook:

Brojak: You may give it +1 even if it’s already at the same base, or after Brojak itself moves.

Death Wisher: If Death Wisher is itself destroyed by another player, its ability is still triggered.

Examples of play

At Base Y, Anne has a Diva and a Roller, Bob has Foxy Green, Carol has Dragon Warrior.

  • If Anne plays Tough It Out on the Roller:
    • Tough It Out is not a standard action, so Roller does not get a power counter, and the Divas cannot copy it.
    • Bob places a power counter on Foxy Green since Anne played a card affecting minions there.
  • If Anne plays Disco Inferno and places a power counter on Roller, and Bob places one on Foxy Green and Carol places one on Dragon Warrior:
    • The Roller gets a second counter since it had none when Disco Inferno was played.
    • The Diva copies the effect on the Roller and gets a power counter.
    • Four minions were affected, so Anne draws four cards; but Bob still places just one additional power counter on Foxy Green.
  • If Carol plays a Cricket at a different base and transfers a power counter from Foxy Green to itself:
    • Since the Cricket affected one or more minions there, Bob places a power counter on Foxy Green.

At Funky Town, Anne has Dancing King and a Diva with We are Family on it, and Dave has Jacky Bill.

  • If Dave plays A Whole Lot Meaner to add +3 power to Jacky Bill:
    • We Are Family may copy it and add +3 power to the Diva.
    • Dancing King may also copy it and add +3 power to itself (or to the Diva, but not to both). Dancing King can still copy more effects later this turn.
  • If Dave plays Make My Day to destroy the Diva:
    • Dancing King may copy its effect and destroy Jacky Bill, even though Jacky Bill’s power is higher than 3.

Mechanics

The Vigilantes have an unusual cast of minions. They are similar to the Princesses, which have a low number of six minions but all at power 5, except Vigilantes have seven of them and they are all at power 4, so nearly as strong as but not quite as strong as "boss" minions.

While they aren't as powerful as power-5 minions, their abilities make up for it by being quite aggressive, oppressive and powerful, ranging from retrieving the best cards from your deck or discard pile (Stoneford and Shaft), instantly removing minions from play (Dusty Henry, Knocked into Next Week), granting great power boosts (A Whole Lot Meaner, Tough It Out) and more prominently dissuading your opponents from acting (Death Wisher, Jacky Bill, Feeling Lucky?)

External Strategy Guides

FAQ

Questions on Brojak

Q: Which minion gets the +1 power? Brojak or the minion that moved? It just says "it"

A: Brojak. "it" refers to "this minion", i.e. Brojak.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A minion is moved to Brojak's base. We played that since Brojak can't be moved it also can't get +1 power. Is that correct?

A: No. Brojak is triggered and therefore you can use its ability if you want to (since it's a "you may"). If you choose to use it, you have to resolve it entirely. So move it to that minion's base and give Brojak +1 power until the end of the turn. Indeed, Brojak won't move because it's already on the right base, but the rest of its ability still applies because the +1 power is independent from Brojak's movement. In fact, it is even clarified in the rules that Brojak still gets +1 power even when it doesn't need to be moved.

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Rule: Check Brojak's clarification.

Q: A minion is moved to a base different than Brojak's. Brojak is then moved to its base. How much power does Brojak get?

A: In your scenario, Brojak can get up to +2 power! Let's break this down. Brojak triggers from any minion moving, including itself (it just says "a minion" and it's even clarified in the rulebook), and there's no limit of activation per turn. So first, the minion moves, triggering Brojak's ability. Brojak's controller can decide to move Brojak to that's minion's destination base and give Brojak +1 power. If they do it, they move Brojak and give it +1 power, and Brojak will then trigger for itself as well because it moved. So, if they decide to use Brojak's ability again, they must move it (it won't move because it's already on the right base) and give it another +1 power, therefore giving Brojak +2 power!

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Rule: Check Brojak's clarification.

Q: A minion is moved to a base different than Brojak's. Brojak is currently prevented from moving because of Entangled or Little Bo Peep. We played that since Brojak can't be moved it also can't get +1 power. Is that correct?

A: No. Brojak is triggered and therefore you can use its ability if you want to (since it's a "you may"). If you choose to use it, you have to resolve it entirely. So move it to that minion's base and give Brojak +1 power until the end of the turn. Indeed, Brojak won't be able to move because it is prevented from doing so, but the rest of its ability still applies because the +1 power is independent from Brojak's movement.

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule: For cards in play that say "If X/After X/When X/If X would happen/Before X, do Y", if X is done (or is about to be done), then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Q: So if Black Sheep moves, Brojak will chase after it and then Black Sheep will move again, and Brojak will come after it again, etc. endlessly :)

A: Hmmm no, Black Sheep just says "After a minion is played here". Brojak is simply moved to its base, not played there, so Black Sheep won't move again.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: Specific words are not synonymous no matter how similar they seem.


Questions on Death Wisher

Q: That's dumb. To avoid triggering its ability, you just have to destroy this minion first!

A: Well, first of all, since it's a power-4 minion, it won't be that easy to destroy it. Next, if you destroy it, supposing Death Wisher is currently controlled by another player, you will count as "another player [that] destroys a minion they don't control", therefore triggering Death Wisher's ability and that same triggering event is (obviously) what caused it to leave play. So after destroying Death Wisher, its controller will actually be able to destroy one of your minions in retaliation, even though Death Wisher is no longer in play! That's even clarified in the rulebook! On the other hand, you will be better off returning Death Wisher to its owner's hand, shuffling it into its owner's deck or simply scoring its base.

Rule: For an ability to respond to a trigger, it also needs to be in play when the event finishes resolving, unless the trigger itself made the card go out of play.

Rule: Check Death Wisher's clarification.

Q: An opponent has Death Wisher in play. A card tells me to destroy a minion and I choose one that I don't control but can't be destroyed. Does it trigger Death Wisher?

A: No. Death Wisher's ability is an "After X, do Y"-type of ability, meaning that X needs to actually happen for its controller to do Y. In your case, you didn't destroy any minion as your attempt failed, so Death Wisher doesn't trigger.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".


Questions on Dusty Henry

Q: Which minion can I shuffle back with Dusty Henry?

A: You can target any minion that's on Dusty Henry's base, even Dusty Henry itself:
- If it's a minion you own, it's shuffled into your deck.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's shuffled into that player's deck.
- If it's a minion that no one owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule: Cards that refer to a card’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: I shuffle a minion into its owner's deck with Dusty Henry. What happens to actions that were played on the shuffled minion? Are they also shuffled to their owners' deck? into the minion's owner's deck?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard its attachments.


Questions on Foxy Green

Q: Another player plays a card that directly affects several minions on Foxy Green's base, does Foxy Green get a +1 power counter for each affected minion?

A: No, just one. Foxy Green gets one +1 power counter each time an opponent plays a card, or uses a talent, that affects minions, not each time a minion is affected. In your scenario, how many times does the player play a card that does so? Once. So Foxy Green only gets one counter.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If an opponent plays a minion whose on-play ability affects itself (e.g. Howler, Weed Eater), does Foxy Green gets a +1 power counter too?

A: Yes, it does. Your opponent did play a card that affects a minion on Foxy Green's base, even if the card played is the minion itself.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: If Foxy Green's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Foxy Green's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Vigilantes Giant Ants or Vigilantes Mad Scientists)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling (or losing) an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Jacky Bill

Q: If an opponent plays an Argonaut (either as an action or as a minion), does it trigger Jackie Bill?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is it cumulative? If several actions are played on the same turn, does it get +2 power for each action or is it once per turn?

A: Each time another player plays an action, you get the choice to give +2 power to Jackie Bill. It doesn't say "once per turn" so you can indeed give Jacky Bill +2 power several times on the same turn.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.


Questions on Shift

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Stoneford

Q: It's so broken! It doesn't tell me to prove that I picked an action, so I can cheat, put a strong minion in my hand and nobody can check if I did it, right?

A: Actually, when you search your deck for a card, it is now part of the rules that you have to reveal the searched card.

Rule: If you “search” a deck or discard pile for a card you must reveal the card chosen.

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I can just memorize the next cards I'm going to draw to adapt my strategy. Is that correct?

A: No, when you search your deck, it is now part of the rules that you have to shuffle it afterwards, even when the card doesn't remind you to.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: If I search for (and therefore reveal) a card I don't own, what happens?

A: It goes to its owner's hand. That's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.


Questions on A Whole Lot Meaner

Q: Does A Whole Lot Meaner count as being played "on a minion" on the turn it is played such as with Furious George or Clyde 2.0?

A: No, because it doesn't say "Play on a minion."

Rule: Only "play on a minion" actions are played on a minion.

Q: Can I only target one of my minions or can I boost someone else's minion?

A: You can target any minion in play, not just yours.

Rule: "A minion" (or here "one minion") means "any minion in play".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Feeling Lucky?

Q: If I play this card on one of my minions, do I immediately destroy it because I played Feeling Lucky?, which is an action?

A: Good Question. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If the minion's controller plays an action that destroys Feeling Lucky? (e.g. Disenchant), is the minion still destroyed?

A: No. Feeling Lucky? only destroys the minion if it is still on it. Since Feeling Lucky? is now destroyed, the condition of Feeling Lucky? still being on the minion is not fulfilled, therefore the minion won't be destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the minion's controller plays an action that transfers Feeling Lucky? to another player's minion (e.g. Rules Lawyer), is a minion destroyed? If so, which one?

A: No. Feeling Lucky? only destroys the minion if the controller of the minion it is attached to played an action. When you check if Feeling Lucky? is activated, the controller of the minion it is attached to didn't play an action, it's the player who transferred it that played one, so the minion is not destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the minion's controller plays an action that transfers Feeling Lucky? to another minion they control (e.g. Rules Lawyer), is a minion destroyed? If so, which one?

A: No, the way Feeling Lucky? is worded, it triggers when the minion's controller plays an action, but before the action's ability starts resolving. Once triggered, you have to wait until the step where card reactions are resolved. At that point, Feeling Lucky? is resolved as such: You destroy the minion it was on when it was triggered ("the minion" refers to "this minion", which refers to the minion when the card was triggered), but only if Feeling Lucky? is still on the correct minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a player other than the minion's controller plays an action that transfers Feeling Lucky? to a minion they control (e.g. Rules Lawyer), is a minion destroyed? If so, which one?

A: No. In order to for Feeling Lucky? to trigger, it must "witness" the right controller playing an action. At the time of you playing the action and before you carry out its ability, you're not the controller of the minion it was on.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens if Feeling Lucky? is attached to a minion that can't be destroyed?

A: Then each time its controller plays an action, Feeling Lucky? will try to destroy the minion, but the destruction will fail.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: If the minion's controller plays an Argonaut, whether as a minion or an action, does it activate Feeling Lucky??

A: Yes, playing an Argonaut counts as playing a card that's both a minion and an action, so it activates Feeling Lucky?.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the minion with Feeling Lucky? is destroyed while on Field of Honor, who gets the VP?

A: Feeling Lucky? says "(you) destroy the minion", meaning "Feeling Lucky?'s controller destroy the minion", so it's whoever controls Feeling Lucky? (usually it's the player who played it) that does the destruction, therefore they will gain the VP.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: Feeling Lucky is on one of my minions. I play an action, but another player discards it with Wil Wheaton. Does Feeling Lucky? destroy my minion?

A: Yes. It seems unfair, but you did play an action, which both Wil Wheaton and Feeling Lucky? "witnessed". You may not have resolved it, but you did reveal an action and were about to resolve it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Another player plays Feeling Lucky? on one of my minions currently protected by Awesome Guy, Expanded Power or Secret Base. I play an action so Feeling Lucky? is triggered. Because I'm the one who triggered Feeling Lucky?, do Awesome Guy and such still protect my minion? Or because I cause the destruction, they don't protect it?

A: Let's break it up. So by playing an action, you indeed triggered Feeling Lucky?, so Feeling Lucky?'s ability must be resolved, but here's the catch. Its ability must be resolved from its controller's point of view, even though you're the one who triggered it. So "(you) destroy the minion" means "they destroy the minion". So because it's indeed another player who destroys your minion, Awesome Guy, Expanded Power and Secret Base protect your minion rom destruction.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Feeling Lucky? says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Knocked into Next Week

Q: Which minion can I shuffle back with Knocked into Next Week?

A: You can target any minion in play:
- If it's a minion you own, it's shuffled into your deck.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's shuffled into that player's deck.
- If it's a minion that no one owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule: Cards that refer to a card’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: I shuffle a minion into its owner's deck with Knocked into Next Week. What happens to actions that were played on the shuffled minion? Are they also shuffled to their owners' deck? into the minion's owner's deck?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard its attachments.

Q: Can I shuffle a minion card from the discard pile into a deck with Knocked into Next Week?

A: No, it must be a minion in play. Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is shuffled into its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is shuffled into its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is shuffled into its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is shuffled into its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it remains in play because monsters and treasures can't be affected by cards that refer to a card's owner.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule: Cards that refer to a card’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.


Questions on Let’s Finish This

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. My turn is next, so at the start of my turn, if I have a minion there and an opponent as well, the base's breakpoint is reduced to 0, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn", "you" means "they", and "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Rule: "Other players" on a minion, action or titan means everyone except the controller of the card.

Q: I need "to have a minion" there. Is it enough if there is a minion there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "If you have a minion" means "if you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: At the start of my turn, an opponent and I have a minion on a base. If I play Let’s Finish This there, does the base's breakpoint fall to 0 immediately or on my next turn?

A: It depends on when/how you play Let’s Finish This. If you play it during you Start Turn phase, then yes. As a reminder, the Start Turn phase is the phase when Sprout, Water Lily, uncovering, etc. activate/resolve. If you just play Let’s Finish This using your regular action play or an extra action obtained on your turn, then it's actually your Play Cards phase and Let’s Finish This will only activate at the start of your next turn.

Rule: "At the start of your turn" means "during the Start Turn (phase 1) of each of your turns".

Rule: If you do something during your Start Turn phase, it is still the start of your turn.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Let’s Finish This says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Make My Day

Q: It applies to a base "where I have a minion". Is it enough if there is a minion there that I own but don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so I "have" it, right?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw an additional card for the additionally destroyed minion because that part is not dependent on the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw an additional card for the additionally destroyed minion because that part is not dependent on the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw an additional card for the additionally destroyed minion because that part is not dependent on the number of affected minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw an additional card for the additionally destroyed minion because that part is not dependent on the number of affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Scared Straight

Q: I need to move another player's minion from a base "where I have a minion". Is it enough to move it from a base where there are only minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so I "have" them, right?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that you don't get an additional extra action for moving an additional minion because that part is not dependent on the number of moved minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that you don't get an additional extra action for moving an additional minion because that part is not dependent on the number of moved minions. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that you don't get an additional extra action for moving an additional minion because that part is not dependent on the number of moved minions. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect an opponent's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Shrug it Off

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now I can use this talent when it's my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the talent can only be used by them.

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.

Q: Does it also cancel the abilities of actions on the base?

A: No, a base's abilities are the ones printed on the card and those given to it by certain abilities (e.g. Signs in the Stars). The abilities of actions on it are separate from the base's abilities.

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: The base's ability is what's written at the bottom of its card.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Shrug it Off says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Street Justice

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Rule: "Other players" on a minion, action or titan means everyone except the controller of the card.

Q: It protects "my minions". Does it also protect minions I own that I don't control? I don't control them but I "own" them, so they are "my" minions, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Street Justice is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Street Justice says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy an effect onto an opponent's minion with Street Justice protecting it, then the minion isn't affected. Note that Street Justice only protects against other player's cards, so if Street Justice's controller plays a standard action, you can copy it with Dancing King and have it affect one of that player's minion, bypassing Street Justice's protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action and what Dancing King does is copy the effect onto it, which itself doesn't count as affecting the minion.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Street Justice protecting it is directly affected by your standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion isn't affected by your action and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Street Justice protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on The Revenge

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Tough It Out

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Tough It Out says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Who Loves Ya, Baby?

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Who Loves Ya, Baby? doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia

  • The artist is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Their divider (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box) features Dusty Henry.
  • The font used for the Vigilante cards is Psychedelia HM.
  • The Hideout base shares the same name as one of the Trickster cards.
  • The Vigilantes are based on several crime fighters/vigilantes from 70s movies and TV shows:
    • Brojak is a reference to Theo Kojak from the TV show "Kojak".
    • Death Wisher is a reference to the 1974 version of "Death Wish".
    • Dusty Henry is a reference to Dirty Harry from the movie franchise of the same name.
    • Foxy Green is a reference to Foxy Brown from the movie of the same name.
    • Jackie Bill is a reference to Billy Jack from the movie of the same name.
    • Shift is a reference to Shaft from the movie franchise and TV show of the same name.
    • Stoneford is a reference to Jim Rockford from the TV show "The Rockford Files".

In other languages

Language Name
Chinese 民間義警
French Justiciers
German Vigilanten


That ’70s Expansion

Factions: Disco Dancers  •  Kung Fu Fighters  •  Truckers  •  Vigilantes
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Promotional: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References

Advertisement