SmashUp Wiki
DemonDogs

Who are you going to ring? Or fax? The Wraithrustlers of course! These pursuers of the paranormal are opportunistic, maneuvering Wraiths to where they bother their opponents, and then rounding them up to help themselves the most. And all without cats and dogs living together!

- Excellent Movies, Dudes! rulebook

The Wraithrustlers are one of the 4 factions from the Excellent Movies, Dudes! set.

They focus on finding and destroying play-on-base actions, especially those sub-typed as "Wraiths", and gaining benefits for doing so.

Other factions from the same set: Action Heroes, Backtimers, Extramorphs.

Cards[]

Wraithrustlers cards

The Wraithrustlers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 1 play-on-minion action: Unlicensed Nuclear Accelerator,
  • 7 play-on-base actions: Ancient Sumerian God, Demon Dogs (2x), Ectoplasm One, Librarian Haunt (2x), Slimy,
  • 2 standard actions (0 that affects one or more minions, in bold): Resurgence, The Tools and the Talent,
  • 1 action that directly increases a minion's power: Unlicensed Nuclear Accelerator.

Minions[]

1x Funkman - power 5 - Ongoing: After you destroy an action, give each of your minions on its base +1 power until the end of the turn OR draw a card. Special: Before a base scores, you may transfer an action on it to another base. FAQ

2x Ellen - power 4 - Talent: Destroy one of your actions on this base to reduce this base’s breakpoint by 3 until the end of the turn. Ongoing: After a Wraith is destroyed here, you may play an extra action. FAQ

3x Roy - power 3 - You may transfer one of your actions from another base to here. Ongoing: If a Wraith has been destroyed here this turn, this minion has +2 power. FAQ

4x Watson - power 2 - You may destroy one of your actions on this base OR reveal cards from the top of your deck until you reveal a Wraith, draw it, and shuffle the rest into your deck. FAQ

Actions[]

1x Ancient Sumerian God - Wraith - Play on a base. Talent: Store an action from your discard pile that can be played on a base under this card. Ongoing: This base's breakpoint is increased by 3. When this card leaves play, for each base you may play one of the actions stored under this card as an extra action there. FAQ

2x Demon Dogs - Wraith - Play on a base. You may store a minion of power 3 or less from your hand or discard pile under this card. Ongoing: This base’s breakpoint is increased by 3. After this card is destroyed, you may play a minion stored under it as an extra minion. FAQ

1x Ectoplasm One - Play on a base. Talent: Transfer this action to another base to move one of your minions from here to there. If you move a minion, you may destroy an action on the new base. FAQ

2x Librarian Haunt - Wraith - Play on a base. Ongoing: This base’s breakpoint is increased by 3. After this card is destroyed, draw three cards. FAQ

1x Resurgence - Choose an action on a base. Destroy it or transfer it to another base. Special: You may play this before a base scores. FAQ

1x Slimy - Wraith - Play on a base. Ongoing: This base’s breakpoint is increased by 3. After this card is destroyed, each of your minions here gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x The Tools and The Talent - Search your deck for a card and place it on top of your deck. FAQ

1x Unlicensed Nuclear Accelerator - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +2 power. Talent: Destroy one of your actions on this base to place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

[FACTION ICON]

Bases[]

Clarifications[]

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Excellent Movies, Dudes! rulebook:

Ellen, Funkman, Slimy: Abilities that have an effect “until Y” only affect cards currently in play, but their effect lasts until Y even if the card that caused it leaves play or moves away, or even if any precondition stops being true.

Demon Dogs: The minion under it can be played on any base; if you don’t play it, discard it.

Ectoplasm One: You must move one of your minions there if you have one. If you don’t have one, you may not destroy an action.

Librarian Haunt, Ancient Sumerian God, Demon Dogs, Slimy: The changes to breakpoints from all Wraiths are added together, even from two with the same name.

Resurgence: If you play it as a Special, you can target an action that’s not on the base being scored.

Ellen, Funkman: For cards with a trigger for their effect – e.g. “After X happens” – the effect is done each time X happens, even if multiple Xs happen at the same time.

Roy, Ellen, Watson: A Wraith is an action with the label “Wraith” on it – Slimy, Librarian Haunt, Demon Dogs, and Ancient Sumerian God.

The Tools and the Talent: Whenever you search for a card, you must reveal it, even if there are no restrictions on the card you search for.

Mechanics[]

FAQ[]

Questions on Funkman[]

Q: It tells me to give +1 power to "each of my minions". Can I give +1 power to a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I suppose it only works if I destroy one of my actions, right?

A: Incorrect. It triggers after you destroy any action, not just yours.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I suppose it only works if I destroy an action that's attached to base, but not if I destroy an action attached toa minion, right?

A: Incorrect. It triggers after you destroy any kind of action, even one that's on a minion.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I suppose it only works if I destroy an action that's on Funkman's base or on a minion there, right?

A: Incorrect. It triggers after you destroy an action anywhere, not just on Funkman's base.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: It says "on its base". Which base does it refer to? Funkman's base?

A: It refers to the destroyed action's base. If the action is a play-on-base action, it's the base the action was attached to. If the action is a play-on-minion action, it's the base the minion is on.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Funkman, the condition is "before a base scores",... TBD.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: Regarding its Special ability, I suppose it only works if Funkman's base is scoring, right?

A: Incorrect. Its Special ability can be activated before any base scores, not just Funkman's own base.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Regarding its Special ability, I suppose I can only transfer one of my actions, right?

A: Incorrect. You can transfer any action, not just yours.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: Regarding its Special ability, I suppose I can also transfer a play-on-minion action, right? But what if there are no minions on the destination base?

A: No, Funkman's Special ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: After drawing a card, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.


Questions on Ellen[]

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my actions". Can I destroy an action I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" action, right?

A: No. "Your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. A action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose I can also destroy one of my play-on-minion actions, right?

A: No, its ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: What is a Wraith?

A: It's an action that has the label "Wraith" on it, on the right of the Action identifier, just above the card ability text.

Rule: Check Roy, Ellen and Watson's clarification.

Q: If I destroy a Wraith with its Talent, since a Wraith increases the base's breakpoint by 3, is the base's breakpoint reduced by 3 or 6?

A: By 6 in total; 3 for Ellen's talent, and another 3 since the Wraith's ability no longer applies.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does Ellen trigger after a Wraith's base scores?

A: No, after a base is scored, the cards on it are discarded. This doesn't count as a destruction.

Rule: After scoring, all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them.


Questions on Roy[]

Q: It tells me to transfer "one of my actions". Can I transfer an action I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" action, right?

A: No. "Your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. A action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose I can also transfer one of my play-on-minion actions from another base, right?

A: No, its ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: What is a Wraith?

A: It's an action that has the label "Wraith" on it, on the right of the Action identifier, just above the card ability text.

Rule: Check Roy, Ellen and Watson's clarification.

Q: On another player's turn, a Wraith is destroyed on Roy's base, I suppose its ability doesn't work because it's not my turn, right?

A: Wrong, it doesn't matter whose turn it is (nor which phase it is), as soon as Roy is on a base where a Wraith is destroyed, it triggers its ability and you must resolve it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a Wraith is destroyed and then I play or move Roy to the same base, does it get +2 power?

A: Yes, Roy checks at all times if it's on a base where a Wraith was destroyed that turn and gets +2 power if that's the case, even if that Wraith is destroyed before Roy is present.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If Roy gets +2 power and is then moved to a base where no Wraith was destroyed, does it keep its +2 power?

A: No, Roy checks at all times if it's on a base where a Wraith was destroyed that turn and gets +2 power if that's the case. If it is no longer on such a base, then it no longer has +2 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If Roy gets +2 power and is then moved to a base where a Wraith was also destroyed, does it get another its +2 power while keeping the previous +2 power?

A: No, Roy checks at all times if it's on a base where a Wraith was destroyed that turn and gets +2 power if that's the case. In that case, it loses the +2 power for leaving the previous base, and then gains a new +2 power for the new base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If several Wraiths are destroyed on Roy's base on the same turn, does it just get +2 power, or +2 power for each destroyed Wraith?

A: +2 power in total. The condition "If a Wraith has been destroyed here this turn" is the same as "If at least one Wraith has been destroyed here this turn", so it doesn't matter how many Wraiths were destroyed as long as at least one was.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Watson[]

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my actions". Can I destroy an action I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" action, right?

A: No. "Your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. A action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose I can also destroy one of my play-on-minion actions, right?

A: No, its ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: What is a Wraith?

A: It's an action that has the label "Wraith" on it, on the right of the Action identifier, just above the card ability text.

Rule: Check Roy, Ellen and Watson's clarification.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a Wraith, it goes to its owner's hand (most likely yours), that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action, it's shuffled into its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.


Questions on Ancient Sumerian God[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now I can use this talent when it's my turn, right? But when this card leaves play, how do we decide which player gets to play which action?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the talent can only be used by them, the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: Do I have to reveal the card I store under Ancient Sumerian God?

A: Yes, for two reasons. First, since you took it from the discard pile, you must reveal it to other players. Second, since there are criteria for the kind of card you can store, i.e. an action that can be played on a base, you must also reveal it so other players can check it matches the restrictions.

Rule: If you take a card out of the discard pile, show it to everyone.

Rule: If the ability has limits on the card being placed, you must reveal it before storing it so others can see it meets the requirements.

Q: I don't get what happens when this card leaves play. What do I do?

A: When Ancient Sumerian God leaves play, you can choose any number of bases in play and for each of them, you can choose to play one of the actions stored under Ancient Sumerian God there. You can play at most one action on each base this way, and you don't have to play an action on each base. You don't even have to play all actions stored under Ancient Sumerian God. If any actions are still left under Ancient Sumerian God, those are discarded.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard its attachments.

Q: Does Ancient Sumerian God trigger after its base scores? If so, can I play one of the actions on the new base?

A: Yes, Ancient Sumerian God also triggers when it is discarded after its base scores. However, the new base doesn't come into play until after the cards on the scored base are discarded, so when you are resolving Ancient Sumerian God, the new base isn't there yet. You can choose to play an action on the scored base, but that wouldn't do any good since the base will leave play anyway, and so the action will be discarded.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule: Check phase 3.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard its attachments.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Demon Dogs[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. Who gets to store a minion under it? I suppose every player since play-on-base actions are every players' actions.

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" and "your hand or discard pile" means "their hand or discard pile".

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. I destroy it. Who gets to play the stored minion? Me or my opponent?

A: Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: Do I have to reveal the card I store under Demon Dogs?

A: Yes. Since there are criteria for the kind of card you can store, i.e. a minion of power 3 or less, you must also reveal it so other players can check it matches the restrictions. Moreover, if you choose a minion from the discard pile, you must reveal it to other players.

Rule: If you take a card out of the discard pile, show it to everyone.

Rule: If the ability has limits on the card being placed, you must reveal it before storing it so others can see it meets the requirements.

Q: Does Demon Dogs trigger after its base scores?

A: No, after a base is scored, the cards on it are discarded. This doesn't count as a destruction.

Rule: After scoring, all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them.

Q: I suppose I must play the minion on Demon Dogs's former base, correct?

A: No, it can be played on any base. It can be Demon Dogs's own base, but not necessarily.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Ectoplasm One[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now I can use this talent when it's my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the talent can only be used by them.

Rule: A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can use.

Rule: A card's talent can only be used by that card's controller.

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: When using its talent, from which base to which base do I move my minion? For example, if I transfer Ectoplasm One from A to B, do I move my minion from A to B, or from B to A? I'm confused because you first transfer Ectoplasm One, and then move a minion from "here" -- so I suppose Ectoplasm One's new base...

A: You move it from A to B. "Here" is the base where you invoked Ectoplasm One's talent, so its departure base. This isn't to be confused with the base where Ectoplasm One is at when you're actually moving your minion since Ectoplasm One would have already been transferred by then; when you invoke the ability, that's when "here"'s meaning is determined. "There" is the specific base just referred to in the ability, so it refers to "another base", i.e. Ectoplasm One's arrival base.

Rule: “Here” refers to the base that the card currently occupies, or to the base itself if a base says “here”.

Rule: "There" means "the location just referred to on the card".

Q: I suppose I can only destroy one of my actions, right?

A: Incorrect. You can destroy any action, not just yours.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I suppose I can also destroy a play-on-minion action, right?

A: No, its ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: I try to move a minion, but that minion can't be moved (e.g. because of Entangled or Little Bo Peep), can I still transfer Ectoplasm One? Can I still destroy on action on the new base?

A: Yes and no. The first part of Ectoplasm One is a "do X to do Y" ability, meaning that you must first do X and once you did X, you must do Y. If you can't do Y, then it doesn't undo X, that part has already been done after all. That's because cards are resolved in order and just because a later part can't be done, it doesn't mean that you must rollback and undo its ability. On the other hand, the second part of Ectoplasm One is dependent on you fully doing the first part's Y (it says "If you move a minion"), so if the minion didn't move, you cannot destroy an action on the new base.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", if you do X, then you must do Y; not being able to do Y doesn't undo X.

Rule: Effects are resolved entirely.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Librarian Haunt[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. I destroy it. Who gets to play the stored minion? Me or my opponent?

A: Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "(you) draw three cards" means "they draw three cards".

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: After this card is destroyed, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: You wait until your Draw 2 Cards phase to discard down to 10; if your hand is bigger than 10 at other times of the game, that’s okay.

Q: Does Librarian Haunt trigger after its base scores?

A: No, after a base is scored, the cards on it are discarded. This doesn't count as a destruction.

Rule: After scoring, all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Resurgence[]

Q: I suppose I can only destroy one of my actions, right?

A: Incorrect. You can destroy any action, not just yours.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: If I transfer another player's action, do I take control of the action?

A: No, you just relocated it, it doesn't give you control of it.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: I play this before a base scores as a Special. I suppose I can only destroy an action on the scoring base, right?

A: Incorrect. You can destroy an action on any base, not just the scoring base.

Rule: If there are no limits, there are no limits.

Q: I suppose I can also choose a play-on-minion action, right?

A: No, its ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Slimy[]

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. I destroy it. Whose minions there get +2 power each?

A: Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions".

Rule: "You" on a minion, action or titan means the controller of the card.

Q: It tells me to give +2 power to "each of my minions". Can I give +2 power to a minion I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" minion, right?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Does Slimy trigger after its base scores? It could be relevant with First Mates.

A: No, after a base is scored, the cards on it are discarded. This doesn't count as a destruction.

Rule: After scoring, all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on The Tools and The Talent[]

Q: It's so broken! It doesn't tell me to prove that I picked a minion, so I can cheat, put a strong action on the top of my deck and nobody can check if I did it, right?

A: Actually, when you search your deck for a card, it is now part of the rules that you have to reveal the searched card.

Rule: If you “search” a deck or discard pile for a card you must reveal the card chosen.

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I can just memorize the next cards I'm going to draw to adapt my strategy. Is that correct?

A: No, when you search your deck, it is now part of the rules that you have to shuffle it afterwards, even when the card doesn't remind you to.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: It goes on the top of its owner's deck. That's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: So what's the order of resolution here? Do I place the chosen minion on the top of my deck and then shuffle it because I searched it? Or do I shuffle my deck and then place the chosen minion on it?

A: When you search your deck, you have to shuffle it afterwards. So you shuffle before you place the chosen minion on the top of your deck. The other way around doesn't make any sense anyway.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Unlicensed Nuclear Accelerator[]

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my actions". Can I destroy an action I own that I don't control? I don't control it but I "own" it, so it's "my" action, right?

A: No. "Your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. A action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose I can also destroy one of my play-on-minion actions, right?

A: No, its ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because it says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Trivia[]

  • The artist is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Their divider features The Tools and the Talent.
  • This faction is based on the Ghostbusters franchise.
    • Funkman's name is a reference to Peter Venkman.
    • Roy's name is a reference to Ray Stantz.
    • Ancient Sumerian God is a reference to Gozer.
    • Demon Dogs is a reference to the Terror Dogs -- Vinz Clortho and Zuul -- and Vigo.
    • Ectoplasm One is a reference to the Ectomobile or Ecto-1.
    • Librarian Haunt is a reference to the Library Ghost.
    • Slimy is a reference to Slimer.
    • The Tools and The Talent is a reference to a quote from Winston Zeddemore
    • Unlicensed Nuclear Accelerator is a reference to Proton Packs and a quote from Peter Venkman.
    • Rooftop Portal is a reference to the gate where Gozer appears in the first movie.
    • Wraithrustlers HQ is a reference to the Firehouse.
  • The Ghost Trap's design is a reference to Extreme Ghostbusters.
  • Roy is a reference to Tracy the Gorilla from "The Ghost Busters" sitcom and Filmation's Ghostbusters.

In other languages[]

Language Name Translation (if different)
French Traqueurs de spectres Spectre Trackers

[SET NAVIBOX]


Sets
Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident  •  World Tour: Culture Shock  •  Smash Up: Marvel  •  Smash Up: Disney Edition  •  10th Anniversary  •  Excellent Movies, Dudes!  •  Half the Battle
Big Boxes: The Big Geeky Box  •  The Bigger Geekier Box
Event Kits: All Stars Event Kit  •  TITANS Event Kit
Booster Packs: Smash Up All Stars  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  Smash Up Penguins  •  Smash Up TITANS  •  Dead Reckoning Promo  •  Smash Up Goblins  •  Smash Up Knights of the Round Table  •  Smash Up Teens
Cancelled: World Tour Event Kit

References[]